Running wild … running long 🏃‍♂️ Stay hard 🤛

in Actifit2 years ago (edited)

Shoutout to the greatest David Goggins for the inspiration!

I’ve never been a big fan of running. I can still remember those days back in school when we were to do athletics and cover long and short distances of running. It was terrible! I was always back there second to last, feeling like I was about to meet my maker. It’s not that I wasn’t active, I was. However, I was more of a weights lifting / 3 points hooping / heavy bag punching guy.
And I was such until very recently.

As I’ve been consistently doing weights training for the past 10 years and felt like I have stagnated for a while I was looking for ways to change things up a bit. As a big JRE fan I tend to follow the podcast quite a bit, trying to catch up on interesting people, subjects and stories, and it was about a year ago when I first watched the episodes with former Navy seal, ultra marathon runner and a book of Guinness record holder David Goggins. The guy blew my mind, he told his life story, which was full of tragedy and struggles, of missed chances and downfalls, but most of all of his willpower to push through the tough times with a stoic face.
Apparently, he had also published a book called “You can’t hurt me”. It was a few days after when I managed to get my hands on the audiobook version of it, and my oh my, did I get hyped up about it or what. Storytelling was amazing. His struggles were unbelievable, conditions were beyond terrible, his body was broken so many times, but his will remained strong, immovable.

It was his story that got me started running in the end of last year. Regardless of weather conditions or bodily pains, I kept on pushing through. At first my efforts were enormous, yet my results so slim. My pace was terrible, I was constantly getting gassed out, but I kept on running, slowly and consistently. As David Goggins has said, running long is not with your feed, it’s with your mind. It’s the sheer willpower that makes us move past our limits.

These are the shoes that have been my running partner since mid January this year (Nike invincible run).

FDF07BAA-0CBF-4909-9BE0-D3ACDC1F5057.jpeg

They have kept my feet away from injuries and fatigue. And in return, I’ve done around 500km in them ever since. They still feel comfy, quite responsive and I can’t wait to see how far they will take me.

Regarding my running, I’ve improved a lot. When I started I was averaging 7:15 mins per kilometre, now I’m down to 5:00/5:15. It’s worth saying that I don’t pursue no trophies in the discipline, but I do it for physical and mental health reasons as one of my new favourite things is listening to a good story while on the run. This is how my run just went:

1FF67DDB-EAA5-4445-A6D7-CBD510673256.jpeg

By the way this is the Strava app, an amazing app that helps me keep a track of my activities and further pushes me with monthly challenges. Feel free to add me on 🤙

So yeah, to sum it up, big thanks to Joe Rogan 🥊 big thanks to David Goggins 🏃 and good job to everyone who puts his/her limits to the test every now and then.

5ED395B0-00E8-4214-A327-FD954F3B40E9.jpeg

Stay hard! 🔥

Oh.. and I saw a hedgehog on the streets tonight 🦔

39071E66-737C-4018-8DD2-076E3E5DA969.jpeg


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


05/06/2022
22354
Daily Activity,Walking,Running,Moving Around Office
Height
177 cm
Weight
75 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have been rewarded 59.2725 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 22354 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received a 0.94% upvote via @actifit account.


AFIT rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count, recent rewarded activity and owned AFITX.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT and AFITX tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is a Hive Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations @valltibg! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!