2 Song Set @ Kettle Bowling Club (First Live Open Mic Set)

in Music2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hi Hive Music Family

Well today I finally did it....I had the chance to get up in front of a live audience and play a couple of songs.

The open mic event was held at a local bowling club in a little village here in Fife called Kings Kettle.

I shot some footage while walking towards the club to show you guys some of the area.I edited this intro to some stock music I found on Filmora.

The set turned out pretty good especially for a first attempt.Everyone else who played was really good and very supportive.

The songs I played were "When The Ship Comes In" by Bob Dylan and "If I Had A Boat" by Lyel Lovett

As with most open mic videos there is alot of lively background chatter from the auidence , I think the audio here is still pretty good tho so I figured I would share it for its historic first live set value.

As always any feedback is much appreciated.

Snapshot_8.png

Oh the time will come up
When the winds will stop
And the breeze will cease to be breathin'
Like the stillness in the wind
'Fore the hurricane begins
The hours when the ship comes in.

And the seas will split
And the ship will hit
And the sands on the shoreline will be shaking
Then the tide will sound
And the wave will pound
And the morning will be breaking.

Oh the fishes will laugh
As they swim out of the path
And the seagulls they'll be smiling
And the rocks on the sand
Will proudly stand
The hour that the ship comes in.

And the words that are used
For to get the ship confused
Will not be understood as they're spoken
For the chains of the sea
Will have broken in the night
And buried at the bottom of the ocean.

A song will lift
As the mainsail shifts
And the boat drifts on to the shoreline
And the sun will respect
Every face on the deck
The hour that the ship comes in.

Then the sands will roll
Out a carpet of gold
For your weary toes to be a-touchin'
And the ship's wise men
Will remind you once again
That the whole wide world is watchin'.

Oh the foes will rise
With the sleep in their eyes
And they'll jerk from their beds and think they're dreamin'
But they'll pinch themselves and squeal
And know that it's for real
The hour that the ship comes in.

Then they'll raise their hands
Sayin' we'll meet all your demands
But we'll shout from the bow your days are numbered
And like Pharaoh's tribe
They'll be drownded in the tide
And like Goliath, they'll be conquered.

Oh the time will come up
When the winds will stop
And the breeze will cease to be breathin'
Like the stillness in the wind
'Fore the hurricane begins
The hours when the ship comes in.

Snapshot_9.png

If I had a boat
I'd go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I'd ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Id sit me upon my pony on my boat

If I were Roy Rogers
I'd sure enough be single
I couldn't bring myself to marrying an old Dale
Well, it'd just be me and Trigger
We'd go riding through them movies
Then we'd buy a boat and on the sea we'd sail

If I had a boat
I'd go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I'd ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Id sit me upon my pony on my boat

The mystery masked man was smart
He got himself a Tonto
'Cause Tonto did the dirty work for free
But Tonto he was smarter
And one day said kemo sabe
Well, kiss my ass, I bought a boat
I'm going out to sea

If I had a boat
I'd go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I'd ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Id sit me upon my pony on my boat

And if I were like lightning
I wouldn't need no sneakers
I'd come and go wherever I would please
And I'd scare 'em by the shade tree
And I'd scare 'em by the light pole
But I would not scare my pony on my boat out on the sea

If I had a boat
I'd go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I'd ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Id sit me upon my pony on my boat

It'd just be me and Trigger
We'd go riding through them movies
Then we'd buy a boat and on the sea we'd sail

If I had a boat
I'd go out on the ocean
And if I had a pony
I'd ride him on my boat
And we could all together
Go out on the ocean
Id sit me upon my pony on my boat

sit me upon my pony on my boat


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

UK is such a beautiful place. I would love to visit it one day, drive in the opposite direction and complain about the weather lol.

Keep it up my friend! Keep doing your thing, I'm glad you had the chance to play for others.

It would be amazing if you could make it to the UK. We could collaborate on many videos and I could find you many gigs. Do you know about the Edinburgh street festival that happens every August? It is the worlds biggest gathering of street performers. You dont need a license to busk during that time and there are tens of thousands of vistors to the city from all over the world.

I got some footage at the weekend which I will edit and upload in the next few days.

If you were ever to come to Scotland that would be the time to do it , the weather is good and you can make a small fortune busking here.

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Hello! Good job getting to play in front of an audience! The first time is the hardest and hopefully easier from here on out!

Have you ever read the story of why Bob Dylan wrote "When the Ship Comes in"? I always assumed it was a traditional sailor song, but no, he wrote it himself in a foul mood because some hotel clerk didn't let him have a room for the night because of his shabby appearance (before he was famous)!

That's a really interesting story about the origins of "When The Ship Comes In" I did not know that ,thanks for sharing that.

Yeah I am looking forward to more live performances in the future. That little bowling club Sunday session is the perfect place to get a feel for playing to an audience. The audience is around 20 people and the sort of folky /country songs I play are likely to go down pretty well there.

No problem - I remembered the story from a Bob Dylan documentary and then just double-checked it was true online!