β€οΈπŸŽΆπŸŽ§πŸŽ΅πŸŽΌπŸŽ™οΈπŸŽšοΈπŸŽ›οΈπŸŽ‡πŸŽ†New Years Karaoke - Old Friends, New Friends change, and looking back! β€οΈπŸŽΆπŸŽ§πŸŽ΅πŸŽΌπŸŽ™οΈπŸŽšοΈπŸŽ›οΈπŸŽ‡πŸŽ†

in Music β€’ 5 months ago (edited)

I can see all my "original music-only" friends rolling their eyes at me right now, but it's confession time! I LOVE KARAOKE! Before Lockdown and teaming up with both my husband person @zakludick and my musical partner @jasperdick (who makes me wear hats of shame when I do covers -and yes, Jasper, I very nearly wore a hat to New Year, just for you! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) Karaoke was one of my favorite pastimes. It was the only opportunity I had to sing live and it made me feel connected to my dad, since it's something we also used to do together, like a lot!

It's been four years since my last appearance on any karaoke stage and so much has happened. My voice has changed, my confidence has grown and I've started to discover what music really means to me and why I want to do it. Despite all this, I still had a rocking joll (colloquial for "party") at a really well-organized and classy Karaoke with a host that I just absolutely adore.

Our host Mel, is infamous in the area, for her professionalism, sound quality, and dedication as a host and because of the venues she chooses to be resident at. Mel was also a great friend to my dad, Garth Mobey and it was such a pleasure to come and spend an evening with her for the 1st time in four years!

I'd really forgotten how different the Karaoke/ nightclub experience is to playing live original music with Jasper at our carefully selected "listening audience venues." We've been really spoilt with dedicated listening audiences and having evenings that are, well, mostly about us, or are at least shared equally with our incredible peers.

Karaoke is a whole different ball game. Yes, many people just show up and make a glorious noise for the fun of it, but there are also many people who take it very seriously! It's entertaining to get the crowd going and at one point in the evening, it even seemed like a scene from the Movie Burlesque, especially when one of the performers did an absolutely breathtaking and flawless version of the song Burlesque from the movie!

It does feel a wee bit competitive sometimes (although that's probably a me problem), and I've got to be careful not to strain my voice over the loudspeakers and the loud noise of the club in order to best the singer before me. It's also a bit of a competition to make sure you race to get your name on the list otherwise you don't get a chance to sing! It's not something I can do all the time, certainly not every weekend, but I definitely enjoyed myself ridiculously. It was GREAT fun. It's a wonderful way to make new friends and it was super cool to see some old familiar faces both among the singers, the patron, and the staff that i haven't seen for eons. You know? Zak and I have had so much going on over the last few years that I just haven't found time to go. I intend to rectify that.

Hopefully next time I will be able to ply Zak with enough alcohol to get him on stage!

We were celebrating our anniversary on New Year's Eve, so there were just so many reasons to celebrate and celebrate, we did! I even got to get all dressed up!

Thank you @zakludick, my love, for filming everything! You are such a star and I love you so much.

Here are some of the videos from the night. Including a duet, I was asked to do with a fellow patron who was shy and couldn't find her regular partner. I've never even sung "Summer Nights" before, so that was a first!

Otherwise, I stuck to my good old faithful's, but I think I'll be trying some new tricks the next time I go back. Since teaming up with Jasper, we've done a heck of a lot of new covers and I shouldn't be shy to show them off. The only problem is that most of them are duets, so I am a bit limited.

Anyway, without further ado:

Here they are:

I hope you enjoy! Happy New Year from all of us here at the MobeyLudick Household <3

Sort: Β 

Such and awesome evening my love!

!LUV
!LOL
!PIZZA

Love you babe!

clairemobey, zakludick sent you LUV. πŸ™‚ (3/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Ah close enough
Mediocrates

Credit: reddit
@clairemobey, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of zakludick

(4/6)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Happy new year and anniversary

ooooh! Thank you very much indeed!!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@zakludick(2/5) tipped @clairemobey