Embalm - Bad Loop Feat. Claire Mobey (Original 2000)

in Music2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Recorded in Janurary 2000. Instrumentals arranged by Bad Loop, Vocals and lyrics by Claire Mobey.

Bad Loop and I recorded and mixed this track overnight, in one sitting, in a dingy apartment in Claremont.

I was 14 going on 15 at the time and with the help of an entire carton of YES cigarrettes and and unmeasurable amount of coffee, we finished this song in approximatey 13 hours, working until dawn.

What I didn't realise at the time, was the significance of this song in my life story. That it was both the precurser to the darkest years of my life, but also somehow the place I could always come back to for comfort and hope.

With it's killer base line and melodic and melancholic piano hook, I hope you'll pump up the volume as loud and your windows can handle.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hey Claire

Holy Crap this is a killer song! I'm quite speechless. I enjoyed it so much. You should put up the lyrics as well.

It's interesting how something that you did then was a milestone moment like you say, we sometimes don't know them when they happen but they put a defining pin in time - there's before that moment and after that moment. I've recently had a few of them in close succession and this time the significance of each hasn't been lost on me, I know I will look back on this time as a monumental shift.

Thanks for sharing this beautiful haunting tune with us, you have a fellow Saffer fan :)

Loading...

I am so happy that you have started putting your music up on Hive my love!

This is your work, both in a proprietary sense as well as it being something that you have very close to your heart.

I hope this leads to many more music posts! Even if it's just your practice on the guitar or singing around the fire on the weekend!

❤️❤️❤️

I love you so much!

!PIZZA

Thank you for your love and support my babe. I love you very much. I don't know where I'd be without you 😍

This is really cool Claire. Would you consider adding this song to any of our playlists?
Visit https://www.stickupmusic.com/curated-playlists to check out our playlists.
Don't forget to listen before submitting!😁

untitled.gif

I am on it! I've been meaning to release on Spotify for AGES. It's just one of those tasks I've been procrastinating. I should be ready to submit ASAP. I think I'd fit in well with your "Driving in the Car" Playlist <3

Beautiful singing, awesome instrumental, great lyrics! Love it!
Greetings from Bulgaria

Gosh thank you so much! And thank you for the reblogg! It means a lot from an artist of your standard. I absolutely loved your latest track "Close to Me."

Nice! I’ve been thinking about bringing some of my older recordings onto the chain as well - I think your work is far more justified though, this is really good! The vocals are my favorite part :)

I can't take credit for the production, but thank you so much. I did write the lyrics and I definitely sang it 😉, even if it was forever ago. I've been working on an acoustic version for live performance with a muzo and guitar wizz buddy of mine. I have more recent tracks to post but I'm trying to not bombard everyone at 1st 🤣😍

Smart strategy! I usually tend to go through really productive periods followed by periods where I just stay off my phone. Now I use the scheduling feature so I can spread the work from my productive window to cover at least some of my break period. At first I really didn’t like the idea of delaying the release of created content, but more and more now I really like it!

I'll keep an eye out for your tracks too!

Lol! Thanks! …fair warning, I have a lot less production skill and also less vocal talent - so don’t expect to be impressed hahaha!

I have a bunch of link tables to organize all my posts - this is all my (non-flute) music here :)

This is definitely not what all my music sounds like. The production talent here was all Bad Loop. I've been making home music videos since the hard covid lock down here in SA with no real equipment. What a nightmare 🤣 being the performer, the backing band, the videographer the cameraman, the sound and lighting engineer (basically using my phone, lots of cellotape, meters of string, a washing line, clothes pegs and bedroom lamps). I am starting to collaborate with other musicians though, now that we can and restrictions have been lifted.

I will check out your other music 😉

This sounds SO MUCH MORE IMPRESSIVE than a ready-made studio!!!

 2 years ago  

You and Bad Loop made this at 14 and 15 years of age?? Holy shit, that's amazing - the lyrics, production, everything is spot on! Is it on Spotify? Hats off to you both..

He was 21/22, I was 14 going on 15. Yeah it's crazy to think we were so young, and I was already so Emo🙈 but yes, we put a lot of effort in before hand, weeks of rewrites, but smashed the recording and final mixing in one night, which is nuts. But I don't think it could have been done any other way. We knew we were onto something that night and we just kept going till it was perfect.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@zakludick(1/5) tipped @clairemobey (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @clairemobey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Darn: This is something completely different! Different to most of the peeps posting their works at HIVE, I mean! The track sounds so professional! Very enjoyable to listen! I hear influences from Robert Miles, but also a little from Madonna. Wondering if these ever crossed your mind when creating this track. Did you release this officially?

I have actually JUST released it and it will be available on across all platforms from tomorrow. It's only taken me 21 years.

21 years! maybe you got yourself a "Guinness Book of Records" entry with that 😂
Congrats with the release 🙇 Its about time 😂

Absolutely. You nailed it. I was listening to Madonna's "Ray of Light" album on repeat at that phase if my life and Robert Miles was huge. We also took a lot of inspiration from Massive Attack and Portishead. Well spotted though. What a flipping compliment that you picked up those influences. Thank you so much!

The 21 years ago you mentioned, makes sense with Robert Miles being all over in the mid and 2nd half of the 90's.
Ah yea, Massive Attack. Should've gotten that one as well 😜

Hey look, I'm flattered you picked Madonna and Robert Myles. Another there friend of mine said it sounded like 90s Swedish Synthpop 🤣 (ILOVE ROXETTE: but that's definitely not what I was going for).

Roxette, another name from the past... Tell your friend the memories are acting up since no Roxette in your recording, at least not to me 🙃

I didn't think so either, and I'm a massive Marie Fredriksson fan, so it would have been a compliment to me 😉

Disclaimer: Badloop is also a Finnish DJ 😉

Making some bad loops? 😂😂😂

Ha ha ha ha 😉 exactly!