The Fisherman's Rehearsal

in Musiclast year (edited)

We had our second rehearsal with a full band on Sunday. It was great to have everyone in the same space, all plugged in, and in a fairly soundproof space without any neighbours to worry about.

We had Paul B on bass, @steevc on drums, @anna-newkey on guitar/vocals, Ray Moulay on guitar/vocals, @purplesinger on piano/vocals, me on recorder and clarinet, and Bob S on flute

I've uploaded a couple of sneak peeks of the sort of thing we might end up playing at local festivals, busking or other events in our area over the summer.

The recordings are completely raw and informal, don't necessarily include the whole song, and do include us shouting to each other (well, me shouting to everyone else) about how fast we actually want to take this in the middle of a tune!

So here is Furwell Polk (working title only), very much plugged in but still very much rehearsing. I had great fun and can't wait for the next one.

I picked a couple of songs with a nautical theme. (Arrr!).

Here is a Fisherman's Blues (Waterboys cover):

and the Sailor's Hornpipe (Traditional):

Thar she blows!

Sort:  

Nice jam friend. I would have loved to watch how you guys made these. Good work

It's amazing how quickly we can get a tune together, but then we've all got some experience now. I'm still finding my way with the drums. I'll try to remember to bring all the bits next time and I have made a checklist.

!LUV

Hi @daniellemurray,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am