#TTT: Purple Swing at the Angel's Share

in Musiclast year (edited)

During the early days of the pandemic, when there were various restrictions on indoor public gatherings, our local group of musicians started holding our open mics at a whisky/whiskey bar in the centre of Hitchin. The proprietor is a whisky connoisseur who also happens to love a bit of music, and often showcases emerging young musicians from the area. As well as us!

The venue consists of a very small room, and a covered seating area outside in a Victorian shopping arcade that was converted from extensive stables from the days of horsedrawn carriages. Our loyal band of friends (who include myself, @purplesinger, @todayslight, @steevc, @steve-o2023 and @anna-newkey) stuck with these open mics through the freezing cold winters and long hot summers of 2020 and 2021, before eventually deserting the venue last winter for a nice little pub with an open fire. Who can blame them?

Undeterred, I and @todayslight are now running them in the warmer months again, starting last Easter Sunday with the Arlesey Jammers open mic.

Last year, @purplesinger and I started a jazz duo called Purple Swing, and we played a few tunes together at that event. I thought I would share three of them for #ThreeTuneTuesday (@ablaze)

The first is "I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to be Free," which sounds like a spiritual but is more of a civil rights anthem from the 1960s, released in 1963 by Billy Taylor, but much more famously covered by Nina Simone.

The second is a slow swing version of "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" of Wizard of Oz fame, penned by Harold Arlen.

The third is "Baby Won't You Please Come Home" a blues song written by Charles Warfield and Clarence Williams in 1919, or just by Charles Warfield, depending on who you believe. It was memorably covered by the late great Bessie Smith in 1923, and made the top 10 in its day.

I hope you enjoy this very informal performance, and many thanks to @purplesinger who ably accompanied and knowingly abetted me despite having two unrehearsed numbers thrown at her at the last minute!

Sort:  

I thought that came out very well.

I thought so too -- great sight-reading and soloing from you!

The people you mentioned here are great artistes I have encountered in hive and I love them for what they do . This performance is a top notch with much quality.
I congratulate you for this. Kudos

Thank you for your very kind comment!

This was awesome! I'm glad you were able to get the recorded to share. This is what live local music is really meant to be.

Thank you - so glad you liked it!

 last year  

During the early days of the pandemic, when there were various restrictions on indoor public gatherings, our local group of musicians started holding our open mics at a whisky/whiskey bar in the centre of Hitchin. The proprietor is a whisky connoisseur who also happens to love a bit of music, and often showcases emerging young musicians from the area.

Sounds like a great way to enjoy yourselves during those awful restrictions.

Undeterred, I and @todayslight are now running them in the warmer months again, starting last Easter Sunday with the Arlesey Jammers open mic.

Good on ye, this was really enjoyable, I must say, thanks for sharing. Music is such a gift.

My wife loves the song "Somewhere Over the Rainbow", so we both really enjoyed listening to that one.

That's lovely to hear -- thanks for your kind comment!

 last year  

No problem, all the thanks go to you guys for the lovely music

I'm so sorry I missed it, but we were driving home from our weekend away. I thought I recognised the first tune and Wikipedia confirmed it was the theme to the Barry Norman Film show.

!LUV

It was indeed - well spotted! You were missed, but hopefully Swing 47 can play a comeback set at the next one 😀

Hi @daniellemurray,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am