TTT: Three songs in French

in Musiclast year (edited)

I spent a year at a French primary school and my mother was a French teacher, so singing in French has always been a thing for me. So, for today's #ThreeTuneTuesday (HT @ablaze) I have chosen three songs in French that I love to sing along with.

If you know Soolking's other stuff, you'll know this isn't exactly his usual style. This supercool hip-hop artist has brought his incredible talent together with a heartfelt political cause, which I assume to refer to his native Algeria. But this song must surely resonate with any colonised or marginalised or oppressed people. Beautiful. The choir of men's voices singing in unison reminds me a bit of the revolutionary tunes of Palestinian singer Ahmad Kaabour. But he doesn't sing in French, so ...

My mum used to teach French kids who came over on exchanges to where we lived in Torquay and towns all across the U.K. They all carried bags like the one in the bottom right of this photo:

21272541_837721209728572_7381491614380166951_n.jpg

They would usually hate where they were staying because they get served things like baked beans on toast haricots en sauce de tomate - c'est quoi ca?. They would mess about quite a bit in class, be too shy to speak English (the girls were better but even more shy), then gather together and speak French to each other every chance they got. When we went on trips by bus (I used to tag along as the daughter of one of their teachers) there was always a couple or two snogging the entire time on the back seat. Best bit was the end-of-course disco when they would totally freak out and pogo around on the dance floor to this number (ooo-OOO-ooo-ooo!):

My last was always going to be by Khaled. It was a toss-up between Aicha and this one, which is another club anthem with a rousing French chorus to get a whole dance floor going, just for a different generation. But, like Khaled, I've still got it, honest! Especially when nobody's looking 😀

On va s'aimer, on va dancer
C'est la vie, la la la la

Sort:  
 last year  

Quality!! We used to have the auld French and Spanish students too and those bags you mention were all the rage! When I was around 14, we did a French exchange, where I spent 3 weeks in France and a student came to Ireland and spent 3 weeks here. It was a brilliant experience and we had some craic in France, a great age to get away from home for a while. I came home with an earring and was quickly told to get rid of it before my Dad got home! 🤣🤣

That second song is fucking deadly and always wants me to dance and go Pogo stick crazy like the French!

Isn't it though! Glad it brought back some memories for you 😃

Nice selections friend. Wao! I can imagine how interesting it would feel to sing in French. I only know of Englisy and my native language-Igbo

Ça plane pour moi haha
I remember it well, got me going for sure!
Haven't heard this in ages, so nice to revisit it with bit more French knowledge.
Thanks!

Glad to have awoken some memories!

You know, I like music that protests and brings social injustices to light. I think that's a lot of what music should be. Nice choices.

Me too! Thanks for your kind comment.

Thank you, never actually listened to French music, so this was a first to me, and discovering is something good, always.

Good to hear!

Hi @daniellemurray,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @daniellemurray! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - February 15, 2023
Valentine's Day Challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!