You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Choon ahhh Rocki ahhh SCAM AND FRAUD IN DA HOUSE

in Music3 years ago (edited)

Back in time when Choon announced to stop the service, followed with the Emanate thing, I thought: "Yet another service that can't be trusted" Maybe not really fair to think something like this, since we all know more than 80% of startups companies do not survive.

When people started to mention Rocki, I never really looked into it. I vaguely remembered this has something to do with Choon. As a music fan I did had a profile with Choon, and some NOTES, just a handful I believe. Just yet, I checked Rocki App: My profile is there. My old logging didn't work anymore but I could get a new password with the email address I used with Choon. In my wallet, I noticed I have some Rocks. Guess this is a coin drop based on the Choon coins I had? Searching my emails, I noticed I received last September (2020) a notification from Rocki: They explained their process of converting the Choon NOTES into ROCKS. Also, I noticed the playlist I've created in Choon back then, is available in Rocki. 3 out of 4 tracks (all from different users), are playing. I never seem to have received an email on my profile conversion, like you mentioned.

I don't know what to think of all of this. I do agree with you the whole transition from Choon to Rocki seems shady. If not illegal, at least not morally right.

That said, in decentralised crypto land, anything goes. That's why I'm pretty careful in what services I use. In essence, I don't trust anybody in crypto space; Too many scammers of some sort (big ones, small ones).

Fun fact (at least to me): On one hand I hear the true decentralised services believers stating they don't want to deal with centralised rules and institutions. On the other hand, the same people turn to these centralised rules and institutions when they feel these rules are broken. Makes me LOL all the time. Note: I'm not one of those people shitting on centralised rules and institutions. I believe they have a purpose. Maybe we need to change them, but I can't believe in a free world without some forms of centralised rules and with that some forms of centralised institutions :)

Interestingly, when reading these stories, I always wonder if well established centralised services are still better to use, especially when (part of) income is created through these services.

Sort:  

can I screenshot this and tag Rocki on twitter so they know i am not the only one ?

Sure! But please show it to it fullest :)

thank you 😃

your welcome :)

I'll have to add this: HIVE forked from Steem copy/pasted all accounts (well, most of them), profiles and content. Blurt forked as well from Steem and copy/pasted the accounts and profiles. Both airdropped tokens. It seem to me, Rocki did something really similar.

no while hive and blurt should have asked it was a fork not a completely new animal - choon was not a block chain they were a company that went broke and all the assets were actually forfeit to the Crown - Bjorn also promised people when the thing wen belly up that all the data would be deleted - which was a lie obviously- he used all these accounts he stole to pitch for investors for rocki so it is way different . Its not a fork it's making a new company with stolen data

I see the differences indeed. But the net effects are very much similar. I'm not saying this Choon / Rocki thing is less shady then I mentioned in one of my previous comments. That still stands :) One thing we need in crypto space to experience its good face for a long time to come, is the ability to trust others while not under any rules and enforcers. This essentially means, we shall refrain from lying and stealing.

and as i said i and other told this ass hat to delete our stuff and he said he would - i cant find the screenshot where he said he would delete everything but i do have one where he said to someone
54TLbcUcnRm42j8GnpdnhX9mWMkFJ3gQqb83BfQ4XJnqn7EQGxDPPihKoTcqZeTNc61nCxjfCjYAhjYebYHzACnUxjPmtZ25xpgLiYnv97uzcWshH1KubpXTYKcT4Ez19Fto8QJ7Y.png
that he would delete everything

We need a wall of shame. Ok, I'll bring it a little nicer. We need a wall of truth and facts about people in crypto space. I wished we had one for HIVE. We need one for entire crypto space.