Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - Ed Privat (cover)

in Musiclast year

So I've learned from my mistake, the song at the top, so everyone can just click on it...To the the poooint!

Hi everyone.

I hope that you are having a good week, here the storm "Gerard" is currently above France, or at least was since yesterday. What a strange name for a storm, Gerard.

Anyway, a lot of rain, lot's of wind, so I had to change my plan of wanting to shoot the video for Goodbye Yellow Brick Road outside, I had a very cool concept, but in the end I will probably use it for a different song, maybe one of mine.

I've recorded the song this week, a little bit every night, between midnight and 2am. That was the only time that I had, as my wife went to South Africa for a week and was alone with 3 kids.

No complain, it is what it is, but I am just giving you a little bit of context. Done...

Now let's talk about the song. This is a brilliant one by Elton John called Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, the one that really put it on the map at the time, as one of the best songwriter and singer out there.
It's also the name of the album, and one of the track that carries that brilliant sound of the time.

The road is a reference to L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz film and book series..

The lyrics are from Bernie Taupin, the long time co writer of Elton's songs, and they apparently just wrote it and recorded very quick, while all the musicians were living together is the same house.

In the morning, all the musos would have breakfast, and Elton would figure out some chords on Bernie's lyrics, this is how the song came out. Really brilliant.

IMG_20230117_135713.jpg

Lately, there is a movie called Antman & The Wasp that is using this track for their trailer, and I thought it was the right time to surf on the algorithm, and worked on my own version of the song, with lot's of backing vocals and an intimate guitar.

I am ok with the result, like everything that I do I am in love with it the night I record it, can't stop listening to it, then the next day I hate it, then I fix what's wrong and try to be at peace with the result.

I changed the key a semi tone lower to be able to play that open E string, this is the highest I can with my falsetto anyway, working on that "AAAAAh" note was probably the most challenging part of the song.

The key changes on the chorus, after chatting with people on Youtube, I've been told that it's using chromatic mediant, which makes sense, if you are not famililar with the term, it means :

What is a chromatic mediant modulation?
2.1 Chromatic Mediants. 🔗 In a common-tone modulation, the two chords connecting the two keys are typically in a chromatic mediant relationship. Chromatic mediants are chords with roots a third apart that share only one common tone and have the same quality (both are major or both are minor).

src

IMG_20230115_170250.jpg

I am currently shooting everyday a music video for one of my original song, that will be finished in a month or two, here is a few pics, and the AI art I am working on for the cover art, using a real picture as a source.

IMG_20230117_101551.jpg

Ed_Privat_glowing_energy_around_the_universe_with_energy_coming_0eb24377-fe68-4911-ad04-a1e7ab79058c.png

Ed_Privat_Incredible_explosive_energy_similar_to_the_ki_with_th_5cef26f8-93b9-46c8-a3b7-bd39fcdaffcf.png

Ed_Privat_glowing_energy_around_the_universe_with_energy_coming_17ac2d4c-395a-4082-b54d-f1c0fc4f39f7.png

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

When are you gonna come down?
When are you going to land?
I should have stayed on the farm
I should have listened to my old man
You know you can't hold me forever
I didn't sign up with you
I'm not a present for your friends to open
This boy's too young to be singing
The blues, ah, ah
So goodbye yellow brick road
Where the dogs of society howl
You can't plant me in your penthouse
I'm going back to my plough
Back to the howling old owl in the woods
Hunting the horny back toad
Oh, I've finally decided my future lies
Beyond the yellow brick road
Ah, ah
What do you think you'll do then?
I bet they'll shoot down the plane
It'll take you a couple of vodka and tonics
To set you on your feet again
Maybe you'll get a replacement
There's plenty like me to be found
Mongrels who ain't got a penny
Sniffing for tidbits like you
On the ground, ah, ah
So goodbye yellow brick road
Where the dogs of society howl
You can't plant me in your penthouse
I'm going back to my plough
Back to the howling old owl in the woods
Hunting the horny back toad
Oh, I've finally decided my future lies
Beyond the yellow brick road
Ah, ah

Ed_Privat_Ed_Privat_Logo_for_music_and_AI_5e334d9c-738a-4934-b032-65ef1820b130.png

Sort:  

Here I am having read all of this (lots in here too!) and I have to scroll UP to listen to the song. Then I have to scroll back down to read the lyrics while you sing them.

That really is a great song. This is the first time I listened to it closely. You sing it beautifully. Love the ending. Did you pre-record the other voices?

Did you pre-record the other voices?

Yes, good catch!

Here I am having read all of this (lots in here too!) and I have to scroll UP to listen to the song. Then I have to scroll back down to read the lyrics while you sing them.

Hahaha ok, next time I'll have a link at the top and one at the bottom 😁 and some fill-ups in the middle...

That really is a great song. This is the first time I listened to it closely

Indeed, there is one particular lyric that makes me choke every time, it's "I should have stayed on the farm, should have listened to my old man".
I don't know why, but it makes me think of what soldiers must have felt on a battlefield, I know the song isn't even about that at all, but this was my initial thought.

I've never heard this song before, but it's a beautiful!

Thank you so much!!!

My pleasure!

I love this Ed, I think it's my favorite so far of the ones I have heard! I'm not really able to analyze music in a more technical way (even though a played a few different instruments, guitar included, growing up) so I don't have more specific feedback 🙂 I just really liked it. Also, the way you edited the video. I imagine that must be quite a lot of work.

Lately, there is a movie called Antman & The Wasp that is using this track for their trailer, and I thought it was the right time to surf on the algorithm

That's really smart!

I'm curious to see how your AI cover will turn out.

Hello! Wow I am glad you liked it!

I didn't know you played the guitar, or maybe you told me and it slipped my mind! That's pretty cool!!!

I imagine that must be quite a lot of work.

The video was surprisingly easy to shoot, but the audio was where most of the work went.

I'm curious to see how your AI cover will turn out.

I am curious to see what you could do if I give you an image source. I'am still trying a few thing right now...

Thanks for the awesome comment!

Haha, I'm pretty sure I haven't told you about me playing the guitar. Actually, I was more into the cello, I really liked playing that instrument. And I had some talent. But as a teenager, it was more important for me to be cool (or at least trying to be, haha), and playing the cello wasn't cool. So I gave it up...

I am curious to see what you could do if I give you an image source. I'am still trying a few thing right now...

Wow. I feel honored to hear that. I'm sure yours will turn out amazing!

I don't know what you mean, Cello can be so super cool 😁

Wow. I feel honored to hear that. I'm sure yours will turn out amazing!

I'll catch you on Discord? What's your name over there?

Sure, mamrita#6865

Good to see you here, I hope everything is going well and that you are healthy and happy, thank you for bringing your music to this home and also for telling a story in addition to providing us with your melodies.

Have a nice day!

Hello @eugelys thanks so much!! I hope that everything is going well on your side, also I wish you a happy new year!!!

Take care!!!

 last year  
Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received an upvote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

🎶 Join us on our Discord Server! 🎵

Thank you!!!

Great rendition!👏👏🤩 Just love Elton John😎 Please think about doing my fave, "Someone Saved My Life Tonight"🙏 Same time period and a really fab song!

Thank you!!! OOOh I also love this one, great choice. From the same album actually, so a very similar sound! Great musicians on the album too!

Cheeeers I hope you're doing well, I am sure you got some decent warm weather!

It's been cold here😬 It actually got down to 20° in the day and 10° at night😨🤫🤭🤭🤭😜

OOOh wow 10 degrees is indeed cold for an equatorial climate...

Hahaha!We're quite a ways above the Equator and up in the mountains😍
IMG_20220619_182858_064.jpg

What a lovely surprise to hear you doing a cover of this old favourite beautiful sad song! Nicely done @edprivat!
Your AI art is stunning.
I'm sure your wife must have said something about the loadshedding here in SA, Joburg being hit the worst! We were there for about a week and were shocked at the long power outages, but we still enjoyed the vibe of Jozi which will be hard to kill!
Thank you for sharing this with us Ed💖

Hello @lizelle! Good to hear from you!!! THanks for your kind words, yeah especially she went to visit a part of her family living in ekasi, and it was load shedding 8 times a day, sometimes it doesn't come back, I've heard all about it.

At the same time, she told me how much she missed to witness the resilience of people, and their free spirit as here in Europe it's harder to find characters that enjoy the simple things in life, like sitting outside of the porch on a hot day (like you guys are having right now) and just enjoying watching the vibrant streets coming to life.

but we still enjoyed the vibe of Jozi which will be hard to kill!

I second that!! Take care my friend :)