You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: There is always something new to learn!

in Music3 years ago

I always enjoy the fact that you engage!

Yes, I think we had that conversation together before, but what I do, is I have a routine to at least "maintain" a certain level of technique. It's something I came up with using the 7 modes (Ionian Dorian Phrygian Lydian Mixolydian Aeolian Locrian), with every time putting an emphasis on each arpeggio in each key, and then playing the respective pentatonic in within the mode, trying to integrate it 😁 while accelerating the tempo from 120 bpm to 185bpm, using
eighth note,

If it doesn't make sense, I will post a video showing my routine. 😁

Now regarding "learning something new", I have a problem doing that, because I prefer trusting old tricks hahaha. It's amazing how you can just play on sight any score, it takes me a while to decipher one, especially I rarely user scores for that matter, sometimes for jazz standards!

Your playing on this one was really on point, perfect and rhythmically accurate!
I am amazed how your are still very passionate about teaching, I have to admit that after few years of doing it now, as I don't really need to give lessons right now for a living, I've stopped giving lesson after the covid and even stopped visiting my students!
Well done for keeping teaching, maybe I should go back to it, it's always so rewarding, especially when it's someone bright and interested in the lesson ^^

Oh by the way let me send you the chords for the song!

Sort:  

I always enjoy the fact that you engage!

Yes, even in my lessons 😅 😇

Well, maybe it was not me you talked to about this, as I don't remember. I would remember, for sure. So you are using the modes, that is nice. When studying, we always used diatonic scales, chords, arpeggios. Also chromatic scales, but there is not so much thing to practice, just the scales in parallel octaves, thirds and sixths.
But it would be great if you make a post about this topic, Ed Privat's method to maintain the technique!! Looking forward to it :)

Hahaha, so you prefer doing things you are already good at and improve them, that is also great. I was thinking about the title of this post: There is always something to improve :D Next time it will be that way 😅. Yes, scores are my good friend, there are things I learn quickly by heart, but for some pieces, that I don't think I would play many times, I skip learning them. Those compositions that require more practising, I end up knowing them by heart after some time. Other things, reading and playing at the same time :D

Teaching. Mixed feelings. I love it, yes, when I have those that want to learn. Also when I connect with the student easily. With those that really don't want to learn, well, that is then more difficult. Who would think haha, nothing new!

Thanks for the chords 😇

Ed Privat's method to maintain the technique!! Looking forward to it :)

It's a lot of things I stole from other people anyway, it should be called The thief method hahah.

Those compositions that require more practising, I end up knowing them by heart after some time. Other things, reading and playing at the same time :D

Yeah I don't like to either look at scores or lyrics, just to be able to feel the song!

Teaching. Mixed feelings. I love it, yes, when I have those that want to learn. Also when I connect with the student easily. With those that really don't want to learn, well, that is then more difficult. Who would think haha, nothing new!

I am sure you have way more patience that I do that's for sure!

No, not a thief method. A summary, it is better ;)

But seriously, why we would not make it? Methods we used to progress, to learn, the steps that made us reach the point where we are now as musicians? Like a real methodology, made exclusively for hive? And additional goals and where we would like to invest our time for learning. Does it even sound interesting?

About patience, yes, I think I have enough of it, to some extent :D

It sounds very interesting. Maybe there is a need also for some curation team that curates music teaching on hive?

It's Saturday night, half past one and we are making plans about music teaching and methodologies. The best ideas came in these hours, seriously 😊

Cheers 🥂 @edprivat and let us consult the idea with the pillow (I don't know if this phrase exists in English, in Spanish it is often used when we take time to think about something)

Cheers 🥂 @edprivat and let us consult the idea with the pillow (I don't know if this phrase exists in English, in Spanish it is often used when we take time to think about something)

Haha I didn't wait for you for this! I am all fresh now :)

Good for you, well, the sleeping part of the 24h cycle called day was short for me. Gosh, we are already here again 🤣🤦‍♂