Past Pastures past - new original music from gribbles

in Musiclast year

Past Pastures Past cover 3k.png

Intro

My new 4-track EP is out and slowly propagating around various streaming services, so I though I'd take a bit of time out to introduce it to my fellow Hivians.

In many ways, it's a spiritual successor to Pastoral Pyramids, my 2021 release of chilled, bucolic tunes inspired by the countryside I grew up in,

PPP, ploughs a similar furrow. It's just as chilled, with organic instruments at it's heart (though sampled - Spitfire Audio's free BBC Symphony Orchestra plugin is all over it!) offset with subtle electronic/synthesised elements.

I'm really pleased with it - it's not often I set out with a theme or destination in mind and my muse does what it's told and provides me with something I was aiming for!

And it's been well received. Here's what folk have said about it...

"This is beautiful stuff"
"Absolutely Stunning...Warms the soul"
"Wonderful timeless melodies"

Anyway - before I start to waffle too much, here's the tunes. You can make your own mind up 😉

Mistrise

Mistrise.jpg

That moment, early in the morning when the mist clings to the fields. Just enough for you to see it, but often barely reaching over the hedge-tops. So transient, It just takes the sun to climb a *little8 higher, and it melts away.

There are a couple of influences that, to me, come through really strong in this tune. One is a little bit of one of the melodies, literally 4 notes, and the other is the way the chord change works in the bridge/chorus part. Can you spot them?

https://soundcloud.com/gribbles/mistrise?in=gribbles/sets/pastpasturespast&si=660022f0bedc425c9dae1c6396d57d8e&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

Seasons

Seasons.jpg

Outside in the fields, night begins to fall. Tomorrow, work on the land must go on aquick. For nature has its seasons, and the seasons wait for no man.

The seasons wait for no man.

https://soundcloud.com/gribbles/seasons?in=gribbles/sets/pastpasturespast&si=950587eadcc341cdbbc42780add21033&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

After The Rain

After the Rain.jpg

I tried to invoke the calm after a heavy rainstorm on this one. With heavy clouds still in the sky, the quiet as the countryside gathers itself following the downpour. and then the sun breaks through...

https://soundcloud.com/gribbles/after-the-rain?in=gribbles/sets/pastpasturespast&si=bbdf1fa925e14e528184709334ea35ae&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

Day's End

Day's End.jpg

This started out as a bit of an experiment - I acquired a handful of old recordings of Tennyson's poetry written and performed in the old dialect of my home county, Lincolnshire. There's so much fantastic stuff in there - from the actual language to the sound and tone. This was my first use of it. And it turned out so well, I made it into a finished track.

It was also the inspiration for my entry in one of the Zapfic competitions here on hive - and it won!

https://soundcloud.com/gribbles/days-end?in=gribbles/sets/pastpasturespast&si=e21c52cb59024889aec1962eb6fcdc53&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

Outro

So there you are - 4 new gribblytunes. Let me know what you think in the comments - or ask me anything about the tunes or the writing/recording process. I love a natter.


One of the best ways you can help indie musicians like me - should you want to - is to share our music. Posting on Twitter and in Facebook groups is great, liking and sharing anywhere is super, and liking tunes & following artists on Spotify, YouTube and other streaming services all help to feed the algorithm and raises the chance of our stuff being noticed and seen by others. Thanks!

Find gribbles in other places --> https://flow.page/gribbles

Sort:  

Your music is very beautiful. Sometimes contemplative, sometimes grand, sometimes mysterious, sometimes surprisingly odd. Thanks for posting them here.

I especially like After The Rain. It tells an epic story to me, of the earth's inhabitants newly nourished by an elixer of pure clean water. I love the way it ends, leaving me right there, nourished by music.

I remember Day's End from your zapfic post. It's strange, experimental you said. I wish I could understand the words better, but it's very intriguing, even without my knowing what is said.

In short, WOW!

Oh my - thank you so much. I really pleased you like it.

And I love that After The Rain speaks to you in such a way. That's amazing.

Day's end was experimental in that I was using some of the old recordings of Lincolnshire dialect poetry I found in my music for the first time. There will definitely be more.

And don't worry - I come from Lincolnshire, and I struggle to catch the meaning of a lot of those old words!

Thanks again - and thanks for taking the time to leave this comment.

.g

Congratulations @gribbles! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 400 comments.
Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive Austrian Community in Graz
Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @gribbles,
Our previous proposal expired end of December and the Hivebuzz project is not funded anymore. May we ask you to review and support our new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248)?
Thank you for your help!