You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A human writing books for humans?

in Music4 months ago

Thank you! I got so caught up in the "what next", I seem to have skipped the bit about taking a moment to integrate what I've done. Yet another time where my yoga practice's got something to teach, eh?

Don't hold it against me, but I really hope you're wrong. Or at least that it's many decades away. It's not even the question of "what would I do", 'cause you'd probably make a living some way, but knowing your life's purpose has become pointless? I don't wanna live there...

Sort:  

There's a certain pressure too to keep producing for fear of losing your fanbase but if they like you they'll be patient until the next book. I think there's even something to be said about taking extended breaks to build anticipation, as long as you engage with your readers in other ways.

I, for sure, could be wrong. Back lashes happen as well where the public rebel against sweeping change. I don't think a niche market for human-written books would necessarily have to be a bad thing. I would just mean a more concentrated and passionate group of readers. What it would mean though is it would be tougher for new authors to break through. Where there's a will, there's always a way though. Creatives have proven that again and again down through the millennia.

Perhaps. Then again, I can think of several writers taking loong breaks. As the reader, it does put me off a bit when it's been 5 years or something and still no new release... Seeing it from both sides, though, I can see how it can become challenging for the artist.

Where there's a will, there's always a way though. Creatives have proven that again and again down through the millennia.

<3

Yes, that's definitely me. Life (the film series I was working on from 2016-18) derailed the follow up to the first novel and I've never gotten back on track. It might be "one and done" for me. I had the second book 80% done but now the real world has caught up to the "futuristic" storyline. I haven't come across another story that feels important enough for me to dedicate that kind of time/energy to yet, but perhaps some day.