Music Monday | 50 bucks for Kiasmos...is that worth it?

in Music2 months ago

While Bitcoin is crashing due to the Mt Gox announcement that it will start paying the late holders from the 2014 (!!!!) hack (or maybe this was needed fo the charts to make a jump at it again) the sun is out and shining and I decided to call it a day and enjoy the weather while it is properly there.

The garden needs some proper attention and what better way to do that with some music on the background. The nice part of working irregular hours is that you are free when others are not (yeah, this is also the other way around indeed) and then you can use that time for something that normally in the weekends is last on the list.

So summer tunes and the hands in the soil with the sun burning on the back of the head. That sounds decent to me!



Pixabay


One of the summer tunes that was dropping by was from Kiasmos. Now the nice thing from Spotify is that it currently notifies you when you are listening to something, is when that artist will be touring in your area. And I saw that after the summer Kiasmos will be playing Europe and maybe I am considering paying a visit.

When I was checking the tickets I was kind of shocked though to see that the ticket were about $50 bucks a pop, and that feels a bit crazy for a DJ duo playing a set on a weekday and not even a full night.

Now call me old fashioned but this feels kind of getting out of hand on what they currently are asking in price for these kinds of shows. Yeah... I would love to see them, because these tunes have been dropping by me in all kinds of settings.

But on the other hand...where does it end on what you are willing to pay for live music? And yeah I know...it is not because the artist is asking too much, it is everything all together from the venues and the bookers and everything.

Decide for yourself if you would want to be going





Liveset from KEXP in 2014




This liveset is one of the classics you can always put on on the background somewhere and it is iterally never out of place. Half an hour of watching electronic music being live made, looped and used at the same moment.

For me this is an example of why you would want to see this live. Sure, a lot of people can remix records to one and another, but actually making the tunes live and filling in the synths and it still sounds just as good as on record...those are some skills!

47 mins from 2017




Here you have another example of the live version and how chill this is. Imagine this while being in the sun and just laying your head to rest in the grass while the mind drifts off. I feel like there are so many use cases for listening these kinds of liveset and they all involve good times. Or does my mind make it a good time? :D






Anyway, now you have an idea on why I am battling with the idea of going because the music is so decent. But on the other hand why I am in limbo because there are so many good things to see.

What do you think? Make it a go? Just write more on Hive?

Sort:  

I think it depends how much you like them, at the end of the day. I have an artist I like here in Romania - they used to do decent sets, but the more popular they got, the shorter (and more pricey) the concerts got. I still love 'em, but at this point, there's no reason to be paying the $30 something for 45 minutes of showtime.

All that being said, I'm liking these Kiasmos people. Not enough for a concert outing, but love them as something to listen to while working. Cheers!

Good one as background music right!!

yeah, the thing is....I like a lot of music so you can make it as crazy as you want and that means making choices

Sending Love and Ecency Vote!

@happyphoenix, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @karinxxl gets !HUG from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

Dear @karinxxl, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @hiq.smartbot.
(1/2)