I'm Going To See Judas Priest, and Don't Know Them

in Music2 months ago

This week I thought I'd share some Judas Priest because I don't actually listen to them and am going to see them playing here in Ireland this Friday.

I figured this would be a good chance to go through some of their music in preparation for the gig.



Source


Breaking The Law - Judas Priest

Here is the only song of theirs I actually know, it has a pretty decent riff and the song itself is okay.

I don't know why I never got into them, I guess they're just one of those bands that have been around forever, who everyone knows, but I never personally listened to.

To be honest, listening to this, I think the reason I never got into them is that they're not heavy enough. I've always liked metal, punk, and that sort of stuff, but I tend to gravitate more towards heavier and faster stuff than this.

Good song though.


Painkiller - Judas Priest

This is more like it. Haha, just after saying that they aren't that heavy I put this one on and can see that they do heavier stuff than breaking the law.

The drums are sick, and the guitar is pretty cool too. I'm not mad about these kinds of vocals, but it does work with the song. It kind of reminds me of Guns and Roses, another band that everyone knows who I never liked or got into, although, Welcome To The Jungle is decent, but I think I only like that song because of San Andreas.

"Why are you going to see them if you don't know any of their music?" I hear you ask. Well, a friend of mine, his brother, and his brother's girlfriend were going to it, and picked up tickets a while back, however, as it turns out she can't make it. So in her stead, my mate asked if I'd be interested in going, to which I said yeah.


Turbo Lover - Judas Priest

I typed their name into YouTube and just clicked on the three songs with the largest amount of views.

Painkiller is better, this one is a bit weaker compared to it.

What will I say to people if I get talking to them?

"Yo, Priest are great!"

"Oh, yeah. What's your favourite album?"

"Err, Breaking The Law, and Painkiller are my favourite songs."

They're going to see through me. They'll know I'm a fake. I'll be caught and kicked out of the gig or something. How embarrassing.

Imagine if I found my way to the front of the stage - which I most likely will - and Judas handed me the microphone to recite some lyrics to a song I don't know. I'm going to make an ass of myself, although, I could just make them up. Music isn't about content, it's all attitude, man.

I'll just act like I know what I'm doing.

Sort:  

Congratulations @killerwot! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I think it's still possible to enjoy a gig even if you don't know many of the songs. I only know a few from them too. Probably best to avoid showing your ignorance of the lyrics though. Have fun!

!BEER

Hahaha, I'll certainly be avoiding any singing at all costs. I'll just nod my head, and act like I know what's going on.

Nah, you're right man, I'm looking forward to the gig regardless of not knowing much of their stuff. It'll be nice to hang out with the lads and have some fun for the night. I like the atmosphere of gigs, regardless of who's playing, so it's all good.


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Wow, I used to listen to Judas Priest back in the day. The singing (and screeching) was pretty intense, perfect for an angry teenager with raging hormones. :D

That's pretty cool, I'm looking forward to seeing what they're like. I'm sure it'll be a cool gig.

Judas Priest was one of those bands I liked and would happily listen to, but didn't actively collect - just pick up albums of they were on offer in the cheap section of the local record shop (yeah, yeah.... I'd know I'm showing my age now...). I think I've got two or three of their LP's in the loft - certainly Screaming For Vengeance and Sin After Sin.

Their cover of "Diamonds and Rust" is still my favourite version of that song. The whole "Screaming For Vengeance" album is awesome, as well as being a definite contender for best album name ever. It's one of the heaviest, edgiest albums they did, so I reckon you'd probably like it 😁

Thanks very much, I'm going to check out Screaming For Vengeance, I like putting albums on and listening to them through rather than bouncing from song to song, and by the sounds of it, it'll be right up my street.