TTT - 3 Sunshine Hits

in Music26 days ago

Hello Hive Music Gang!

Welcome to another #threetunetuesday created originally by @ablaze.

This week is the 3 year anniversary of #threetunetuesday and a big shout out to @ablaze for keeping the tunes going for 3 years!

This week we have had some glimmerings of summer again and it got me in the summer mood, and brought back some memories of 90s sun hits! It is a decade with lots of crap, but many hidden gems too. Although not from the 90s, I hope you like the Faithless tune too, I love it.

The first is from Texas which were quite popular at the time and have that distinct 90s sound which is so familar.

Texas - Summer Son


The next tune is a favorite from the 90s by the canadian band Len. I was watching a livestream today from Canada and he mentioned that they had their first bit of sun there this year which was good to hear.

It does feel this year we have not really had a proper spring and summer hasn't truly started, perhaps someone has stolen our sunshine?

This tune is probably something I heard most on some of those student nights out on a monday or tuesday when it was just a quid for a beer and going out was within a poor students budget.

Len - Steal My Sunshine


The final tune is a dance tune and a totally different vibe to the other tunes. However, no matter what I am listening to, I can always squeeze a Faithless tune in.

I have been to many dance festivals in the past and Faithless have been headlining and I was always too out of my face to see them properly! haha

This is a real shame when I look back now though as a great missed opportunity, although at the time they were too mainstream for my tastes!

Faithless - Sun To Me


That wraps up my #ttt for this week. What tunes are you listening to this week?


For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday.... to quote @ablaze :

The jist is as follows
Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize.


Be sure to head over and give @ablaze some support as without his great work, we wouldn't have a #ttt.


Credits:
The linked videos are not owned by me, I am sharing just the link to the copyright owner's video. No copyright infringement is intended.
Used under fair-use section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976.

Title image created in canva using image source and clipart used under canva license.

Sort:  

Texas are awesome Steve and Steal my Sunshine by Len is an absolute classic and I will be singing that all night long!

They were pretty cool back in the day Texas, I love that Len tune also. I hope you will be getting some more sun soon Ed, I heard you have had grey skies the last 2 weeks!

We have been on and off with the sun in Kirkcaldy Steve, the last two weekends have been glorious and yesterday was a cracker, then today grey and rain and supposed to be like that for the rest of the week.

Good to hear Ed, must have just been the west coast of Scotland then from the person I spoke today.

Scotland is full of micro climates, I know that hoosie in Edinburgh can have totally different weather to us and we are just across the water.
I am guessing then that you are having great weather?

We have been having similar weather to yourself. A few days of great weather, then a few days of bad weather. I just (wrongly) assumed you had some bad weather after I listened to the Scottish friend who told me it had been phishing it down the last 2 weeks and grey skies. I didnt think about the micro-climates.

ps.
I really afraid to invite you to my #ttt post this week - cause, uh, you definitely seem to be on a different vibe - positive and sunny! Not like me, with Radiohead drama and darkness xD

I can see you are deep in thought. When you look behind the curtain it looks pretty bad, but then you discover the emperor has no clothes so it is reason to not take it so seriously imo.

I had a problem when I was younger adult in that,.no matter how bad a.day I had, I would wake up super positive the next day... I could make myself sad when waking up... It could have been a personal defect, even if the day ahead was bleak...

So - lets put off the dress from all the modern emperors! (or their governing substitutes), lol.
'I would wake up super positive the next day.' <- that looks like a good feature, not a bug at all 😜
!BEER

It's a crazy world we live in and how bizarre people behave when they put a uniform on and think they have some authority over others.


Hey @mypathtofire, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Awesome picks! Steal My Sunshine was a classic that just sticks in your head! I wasn't familiar with Texas or Faithless, but I liked them both. I enjoyed those, great job!

It is one that sticks there! Glad you liked the tunes, trying to get that sunshine vibe going!

That Texas song is my favourite of them, 90s was my teenage decade!! The others were unknown to me.

It was the same for me, I always remember this band and song! Our teenage years seemed to last so long and I really miss those care-free days!

This is a huge hit of international-wide scale. Here in Russia it is well known too! But I havent heard any other single song of the band, heh.

I can't believe you haven't heard their first success. It is also very good:

I will check, thank you ☘️ (was looking into other directions in the 90-es, hehe)

And that directions are… ? Now I have to know more about this!! 😁

Well, like many of us, in that epoch I was chasing rather quantity than quality, collecting MP3s of new releases, examining lists of year best albums - especially “independent” ones, post-rock, lo-fi. I can certainly list 3-4 dozen names, hehe. But what for? In general, my evolution (in the sense of “the most important band for me”) looked like this: Depeche Mode > Jethro Tull > Doors > Radiohead... and then I expanded the size of the pedestal to a football field, and now a lot of good bands fit there. Brit-pop (Texas is something that belongs to this field, right?..) never took sufficient part in my heart, tho I enjoyed pretty much some Blur and Suede LP-s.

Let me send Hive !PIZZA your way, and have a nice day! ☘️

I started my music collection recording the radio songs with my double plate magneto phone. 🤣 MP3 was almost a magical thing!

My musical taste is varied, but if I have to choose what has been part of your path I stay with Depeche Mode. 😃

They are good tunes but that last one is crazy!
Love it

I agree, its pretty awesome! 😀

Omg 3 year anniversary, that’s great for an initiative! Mmm I feel a bit ignorant, never heard any of the songs before! Lucky always I love finding out different music!

Thanks! It is great to still be going strong after 3 years! Glad to present some new tunes! 😃

There are interesting sounds.

Thanks, I am glad you found them interesting.

It's Faithless for me. Cool tune plus he addresses some interesting topics in his lyrics.

I do love a few of the tracks from Faithless. Such a great musical talent that has now left us.

I feel like I just saw the other day that LEN was playing a festival somewhere. I could be wrong though. It's been sunny and hot here too. It's like we jumped right from winter to summer.

We have had a real turnaround in the weather, from rainy to lovely and sunny. It has been nice on those summer days. Looking forward to seeing more of your camping adventures Bozz!

This is certainly the best tune to start my morning...thanks for sharing Steve

Thanks, I am glad you liked them!

at the time they were too mainstream for my tastes!

so, now your tastes moved more or less closer to the mainstream?..

Speaking of the sun music, I would definitely prefer 'Bubamara' (sunflower) from Goran Bregovich... or the vibes like 'Setting the Sun' by The Chemical Brothers ... or even alternative indie rock from Placebo - 'Battle for the Sun'.

Texas song is incredibly good, but I get used to it so much. (Oh, and as they joke, when you know you have such a huge hit in your pocket, you really can release any shitty video you like - it doesnt matter!)

What's about the last one, by Faithless. Watching the video, I had a solid impression it is a nowadays AI video production, added to an old song with minimum efforts and budget. Am I correct?

!PIZZA

ps.
the cover image gave me 100% associations with Pizzicarella dance... which is a cool thing, I am a big fan!

I would say my tastes got more mainstream, but back then it was hard to listen to mainstream stuff that was on everywhere, so I mostly tried to avoid it.

Those are some good suggestions, I know Chemical Brothers were pretty big back in the day. I did plan to have 3 from the 90s, Bob Marley with Funkstar was my other selection

I think you are right with the Faithless tune, it looks like something AI generated, but seems quite good.

ps. I really like that dance, my original cover ideas were more dark and not exact what I was searching!! LOL

This one is very nice and catchy!

That was my original thought to use that one.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@qwerrie(3/5) tipped @palomap3
qwerrie tipped mypathtofire

Loading...
Loading...