You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Drum & Bass - Fatboy Slim - Sunset (Bird of Prey) - Nicky Havey remix

in Music2 years ago

2004 rings bells. We were on a trip down to the south of France. A good friend of ours and his family have French connections and often borrowed a Villa in Provence right on the Mediterranean coast. Tina and I joined them a few times on this trip but this was the first time Tina had come along, we’d only met two years before (now married 15 years!). Music featured heavily as my mate Marc is a DJ and another friend of ours joined us on this trip. Lawrence. He introduced me to LTJ Bukem and the world of jazzy DNB.I can remember the three of us in one of the convoy of cars heading south enjoying Lawrence’s CD collection. He practically DJed as Marc and I shared the driving overnight.

This was more a post than a comment sorry!!

Sort:  

Haha, that's a great memory and awesome roadtrip! Sounds like Marc & Lawrence know their stuff when it comes to introducing people to DnB!

My first CD comp/mix was from Hospital Records and loved the vibe of the liquid funk/jazz fused dnb that came on that mix. So uplifting, think I rinsed that CD many times!

Hospital Records, I remember them. I have such strong happy memories of those holidays in Le Brusc that there are certain tracks which trigger them off all over again. Can’t beat this holiday albums. Not so easy now as we don’t listen to albums as such.