Three Tune Tuesday : Amnesiac

in Musiclast year


Image Source

For this week's #threetunetuesday, as inspired by @ablaze, I wanted to go old-school Radiohead. Why Radiohead? As I've been doing me cleanse the past few weeks, I've been thinking about what kind of albums I'd like to have in my collection for my daughter. You know...the kind of albums she'd have when she goes to college or buys her own home...long when I'm dead and gone. Something she can have to hang on to forever.

Sentimental, yeah? Not really. Yet, a quick inventory in my head made me think that "Hattie Collection" definitely needs a few Radiohead albums. More than one, for sure. So to get in the mood, I've been listening to their work of late, and recently pulled their Amnesiac CD out of the shadows of our home.

All of that said, here we go...a sampling of Radiohead coming off of their Kid A high (or low?)

Radiohead : I Might Be Wrong


Source

This one was definitely one of my favorites from years ago. Greenwood's guitar picking on this one is amazing, especially when synced with that electronica in the background. Here you can what Radiohead meant to us kids back in the day when were just getting out of college in 2001. A perfect precursor for what was about to happen that September of that year. Crazy days (and memories, for sure).

It's funny to think this album is over 20 years old...

Radiohead : Morning Bell


Source

Airy and echoes...lots of minor, dark chords and plenty minor, dark lyrics. Radiohead is in its prime with those chord progressions...harking way back to OK Computer. This one is like a minor symphony to my ears (hopefully to yours , too)

Radiohead : Knives Out


Source

And for the final pick, it has to go with Knives Out. Another one that people would say after hearing it is, "Radiohead makes you want to stab yourself." Well, I never got that impression from their work, but whatever...not all of us listened to Dave Matthews back in the 90's.

Another classic Greenwood guitar line running all over this one. Again, I dare say this one doesn't sound dated whatsoever. I'm curious what the Hattie monster will think in another 20 years' time...

That's it for this week's share. Thanks for checking it out, and let me know if you too are a Radiohead fan too.

Sort:  
 last year  

Radiohead have just so many good songs, it must have been pretty damn tough to pick these three out. At least two Radiohead albums for the Hattie Collection for me

I do have Hail to the Thief and Kid A so far...most certainly OK Computer and Rainbows down the road for me!