Sam VanFossen sings "You've Got a Friend"

in Music4 years ago

Sam VanFossen sings
“You’ve Got a Friend”
.


Screen Shot 20200429 at 4.16.47 AM 2.jpeg


I was raised by musician parents. My mother, a singer. My father, a guitarist. They lovingly surrounded me with some of the best American music ever performed or recorded. The artist whose music traversed our walls and held the greatest influence was James Taylor.

Taylor’s songs were a family affair. My middle name is James and many nights mom and dad would serenade me with his music as they laid me down to sleep.

At the age of 12, I realized out of all the songs I had heard my dad sing and play throughout the years, my favorites were all James Taylor songs. I mentioned to my father that I might be a fan. He smiled. “Don’t you remember our lullaby, ‘Sweet Baby James?’ You’ve been a fan your whole life, Son.” However, I was finally discovering his music on my own. Up to then, I hadn’t had the slightest desire to play guitar, but the beauty of James’ 1993 live recording lit a fire in my heart for the guitar.

I put away my high school cap and gown and moved to Music City, USA, (Nashville, TN) where I attended Belmont University. In addition to the demands of the University’s music program, I was one of four members of a promising, up-and-coming recording act. My father worked hard to help pave the way for me by financing my first year of school. He was always so proud to hear my stories from the road and from the new city I was exploring, but he especially loved hearing about what the band and I were working on. I knew my father was ill, but our conversations never ventured there.

In 2012, My dad played his last lick. I was twenty years old: too young to be forced to navigate life without the steady hand of my father’s compass.

I managed to survive my 20‘s without him, but there will always be a certain sadness hanging in the background of my heart. I’m really looking forward to the next decade and I know my dad would’ve loved to hear about what I’m working on now. My most recent project: I, a guitarist. She, a singer and a wonderful, independent mother to her eleven-year-old son, Tony.

I miss my dad every day, and as I practiced this song around the house and heard her son humming along made me nostalgic. One of the many joys in becoming the man in their lives has been to have the opportunity to see through what my father unwillingly left unfinished. It’s important to me that her son knows he will always have a friend in me, and that his mother and I will always love him no matter what.

We are all missing our loved ones right now. I’m grateful in this time of isolation to be with a few of mine. It was very fulfilling to film this video. To see our story play out on screen to one of my absolute favorite releases from James Taylor brings it all full circle for me. I hope you enjoy my rendition of “You’ve Got a Friend.”

All the best,
Sam




Credits—
_____________
Guitar/Vocal Performance — Sam VanFossen
“You’ve Got a Friend” composer — Carole King
Video/Concept/Director/Editor — Crystal Bowersox
Audio Engineering — Will Padgett

Sort:  

Loved it, and the editing you have done to accommodate it. I would give you a @curie but someone beat me to it!

Thanks very much @slobberchops! My girlfriend Crystal actually produced, filmed, and edited the video for me. I'm so lucky to have her!

I watched this together with my sons. They felt a common bond.

That's so great to hear! What exactly was the commonality? Loneliness?

It was your boy's lego figures. When my boys are bored they talk to their lego guys and stuffed animals. They made whole worlds and diaologs. Our boys have been doing online school for the past month. I'd like to say they learned to get along, but that didn't happen. They did learn to be bored and the outlet boredom brings. I know you are an ocean away but music connects people.

You picked a great song to cover. I saw this in concert in the eighties. Then a couple years back I was invited to a musical about Carole King called "Beautiful". I had jetlag at the time but pretty much got over it by the time the musical was over.

This warms my heart to hear about your boys. Thanks for watching!

yes! enjoyed it very much @samvan ! sounds fabulous.. Your voice, playing (and hair) are pristine. Also, your guitar is lovely.
On the video editing: The backlight, dissolves, lighting, focus transitions and concept are really. Looks like Crystal has got you covered :)
looking forward to hearing some more of your stuff.
There's a weekly Hive Open Mic going on, in case you want to join in at any point

take care!

Thank you very much for watching! I'm glad you enjoyed:)

Congratulations @samvan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for the help @violetmed!

This song is so awesome and I have so many great memories to all that magic moments where we listen to it.

Thanks for bringing this back to this evening