Sweet Child O Mine Guitar Solo Cover | Bit Sloppy πŸ˜‰

in Music β€’ 4 years ago

Hey guys, it's been a while since I last posted here on HIVE due to unfortunate circumstances. I had to take care of "Life" and so I had to take a break from lots of things including HIVE. I could go one explaining how shit my past few weeks have been but Nah, I rather play some guitar, record it and post it on HIVE. :)

I've been meaning to do a guitar solo of the song Sweet Child O Mine by Guns N Roses. I love playing leads and solo, although I'm decent at best. Please don't criticize me too harshly. πŸ˜„

The song has always been one of my favourite and as a child, I used to picture myself rocking the guitar solo on a stage. Now, I'm able to play a sloppy version of it.

I was kind of hesitant to post this at first since it has quite a few errors, but then I thought I could track my progress if I post something like this regularly on HIVE. I plan to perfect this piece and post it again in maybe a few weeks/months from now depending upon how fast I perfect it.

Things I used

  • I played over a backing track that is available on YouTube. Source
  • Used Tonebridge iOS app for Guitar Effects
  • Used Garageband for recording and mixing the song
  • Recorded the video on my Smartphone

Also, if you guys know a better way to post videos here on HIVE along with a short description like this one, then let me know. For now, I'm uploading it to YouTube and using the link here.

Sort: Β 

Crazy good man! This was epic. Can't wait for the even better version.

Thanks a lot. I'll practice it more to get it as perfect as possible.

You say sloppy, but I say, this is 100-times better than what I can manage on a guitar! This is bringing me fond memories of my college days, when my seniors and fellow juniors loved to play Sweet Child O' Mine during events and the like. It sort of became the unofficial theme song of our college, and we're probably more fond of it than the national anthem πŸ˜†

Thanks a lot, man. It did take a couple of tries and this was the best among them. I share similar fond memories during school where cool kids could play the intro of this song and all I could do was play some basic chords. πŸ˜„

I hope to do more cover like this on HIVE. My contents are all over the place, nothing really specific. πŸ˜„

Cheers, I really hope to see more of your guitar covers on the Hive, as well! Plus, if my writing is any concern, doing these videos might even help to improve your strumming exponentially... Or in my case, okay-ish πŸ˜†

Nothing sloppy about this mate, reminds me a bit of the epic guitar riffs I used to hear on a racing game called Screamer. In fact, I've been meaning to get to work on a track that is inspired from it and think that your guitar skills might be a very cool addition... Specifically this one, thinking of doing a DNB inspired version:

Sorry to hear that you've been in the wars the last few weeks, I'm going to be taking some time off in September for a couple of weeks as things have gotten pretty tough.

Great work on the guitar skills!

You may want to use 3Speak if you wanted to upload videos directly to Hive instead of sharing YouTube links (although I think they offer that to - I've not used 3Speak really).

Thank you so much for the compliment, means a lot especially from a musician like yourself. That is a pretty cool riff. I might learn it when I find some time.

Yeah, we all need breaks from time to time. So you're going to Wake Up When September Ends? ;)

Yeah, I thought I would try 3Speak but then I realized, the videos wouldn't appear on the Blog Section of the Peakd interface.

Yeah I might open up the music studio and work on that in October once you've woken me up on the 30th 😁

Ah, I don't know too much about 3Speak - think I logged in once back when it first started and got confused, never went back again haha! Should probably look at that!

Congratulations @the100! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the Hive Meetup Vienna