Prince Week at Work!

in Music4 years ago (edited)

Good evening! Today, I received an unexpected surprise at work, but to say the least, it made me feel really good about myself and was a nice little confidence boost. I am a Starbucks barista and I've grown to thoroughly enjoy my job for what it is and my personal experiences with the company thus far. My coworkers voted me as "Partner of the Quarter"! I'm happy in this moment because I have never been the popular girl or the best liked, but I am only ever myself and I guess that makes me pretty cool.

Partner%20of%20the%20Quarter%20HIVE.jpg
I don't know why whoever typed this up didn't proofread before finalizing it, but the sentiment is very sweet.

Flowers.jpg
My boss presented me with these lovely flowers. My baby enjoyed seeing and smelling them. I think she thought they were for her, haha! ❤️

With that happening, my boss announced that I would be creating our "theme days" at work for the next week. I'm not crazy about these events since, in my opinion, they're sort of a "fake fun" trend meant to make work seem "fun" when we all know it's not really our idea of fun... However, that's not always the best way to look at it and since "the power is in my hands" on this one, I thought, "Okay, I'll do it, but it's not going to be the standard (i.e. sports day, 90's day, fancy dress, etc.)." It's all voluntary as well, so if my coworkers choose for themselves, I hope they have fun with this one because I've been on a Prince kick. We'll be having a Prince week at work! 😁 💜


Sunday: Purple rain (wear your purple)

This one is kind of a freebie but I thought would be an easy kickstart to the week. If no one has purple in their wardrobe, oops! It's a classic, but I am already rebelling against my guidelines by inserting a different track from the album. 😅 I'm talking purple though, time to let the sorrows go under the purple rain because...

Monday: Sign o the times (wear a symbol to talk about)

I will not be surprised if I see BLM or LGBTQ+ (or generally popular) symbols, but I won't discriminate. The purpose here is to wear a symbol that means enough to you to be a constructive conversation starter. Why does it mean so much? Tell me about it. I've not seen that before, what does it represent? What is this organization about? What is the sign of the time for you?

Tuesday: Party like it's 1999! ( have fun, life's a party)

Maybe I am chanelling my parents' spirit from their 20s because they liked to party and enjoy life in their 20s. But I am in a really good place right now and want to have fun with my life because, why the hell not! If I can make something fun, then I will. I mean, geez, how long have I got? Time to dress like we're here to have fun and ready to goooooo~

Wednesday: Batdance (special 1989 Batman day)

My boss is a Batman fan, and with him in mind I wanted to throw in the Batman theme with a Prince twist! One of my other coworkers/shifts (who is adorable as all get out!) has green hair, so I think it would be cool/funny if she did a Joker gimmick and he was his usual Batman self. I might have to rewatch this film to decide for myself what/if I will do anything this day. Otherwise, I'll just wear my Batman t-shirt, haha!

Thursday: Play in the sunshine! (Bright/sun/happy colors)

If you read my previous post (Big Sigh after a Big Sad), you already know how this tune is my jam! I can't help myself but jump around into an interpretive dance and just have a ball. I just go back to my fondest childhood memories of playing outside everyday with the neighbor boys. We would play various sports for fun and not for competition and sometimes on the weekend evenings, the grown ups would join in and it would be friendly competition with live jam band music, innocent play, and beautiful weather and energy. I want to bring this energy to my coworkers with a cheerful attitude and COLORS! ❤️ 💛 💚 💙 💜 I'm not afraid to play in the sunshine, so I'm going to play out in the sunshine. ^_^

Friday: Be U day (casual/chill/yourself)

This one is sort of like a freebie/free space on the Bingo board. Be yourself, casual, chill, however you usually are. Essentially that's how all the days are if it fits your wardrobe. Be U day (beauty?💅😉) is another form of a casual Friday! Sharing this song twice because damn was he a PERFORMANCE ARTIST! Talented is an understatement. Also, sing and dance to this--you might feel better cause you're a damn star! ⭐

Saturday: Starfish and coffee (set your mind free--wear some stars)

To conclude the week, a little Starfish and coffee to settle us all down and remind us that we're here at a Starbucks serving coffee... but it's okay to "set your mind free" from the regular programmed routine we are so accustomed to that usually drags us down. Maybe you'd understand how the "weird girl" functions on a daily...Is she really that odd? 🤔


IMG_20200730_003736034.jpg
Here's to a peaceful rest, and rest of the week. Celebrate life while you can and still have it. And remember to be still.

~MysteryK⭐💃💜

Sort:  

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency