Anakronos - another of my compositions

in Classical Music2 years ago (edited)

Using most of my time on the Kickstarter I am planning with @nevies, I still often goes to the piano to rest my head and then stir up my thoughts with the latest compositional problem - I have called this piece - Anakronos - and used endless hours trying to understand how it is put together from a musical analysis angle. Not the best way to rest your head.

The melody moves upwards in whole and half steps revolving around F minor, that is until it surprisingly ends in C major. In the end I have decided that it has its tonic in C minor, but to be honest I am not sure at all. Lots of modulations confusing me so maybe it is some sort of chromatic chord progression.

I have posted it here in the classical music community as it does resemble that tradition.

You can hear me playing it here in a not too perfect version: https://eurobeast.dk/misc/Melodi_5.mp4

And here's the pdf if anyone wants to give it a try: https://eurobeast.dk/misc/Anakronos.pdf

Anakronos-0.jpg



Anakronos-1.jpg

Sort:  

It reminds me of the tension between simultaneity and sequence in Shevek of Anarres' temporal theory; the part where he hasn't written it yet (The Dispossessed by Ursula LeGuin). I guess an arpeggio (particularly one where the notes are sustained) is a play/tension on the simultaneity of chords vs. the sequential melody of sounding the notes one by one. Harmonically, more than one key is there at the same time, it seems.

I am flattered that you think of something as complex and rich as Ursula LeGuin :) There's definitely more than one key in the tune, and it is probably because I at one point realised that the melody moved towards touching every note in an octave and then made it my project to let it do exactly that, from C to C.

I miss playing the keyboard. A few weeks ago I discovered a nice piano in an abandoned pub and was dismayed when I couldn't remember one single tune. After pounding out a few chords, I gave up before the neighbours called the cops.

Well, a pub crowd can be a bit hard I guess. Maybe if they put up an old Yamaha keyboard instead of all those ancient pianos it would be a bit easier. Then people could do the one finger synth pop themes from the eighties and get more direct access to the hazy brains.

I was sitting at the piano (as I do a lot these days when the need for useless activity comes over me) and started playing this fine theme from a British TV show from the eighties. Can't say I remember much about the actual show, but the simple song stuck...

I really like it. Music theory only tells you what is going on. It does not necessarily tell you if a piece sounds good. You can throw in some 'wrong' notes to get the effects you want.

No, that is true. There's no right or wrong in music theory - so I start by making it up and then when I write down the piece I have to find a key and then I have to analyse my own thoughts which is the best way I can come up with to learn about the mechanics behind it all. This one puzzles me, but it probably wont puzzle more knowledgable people :)

I once met a composer who told me 'I just take my pencil for a walk across the page'!

:) yes. I just sit at the piano and tries all sort of things, and then I write it down afterwards as best I can.

Great work man, I loved its epic mood, feels great, and it has a mysterious feeling in its notes.

I love this melody, a lot of feeling in there!

True. It feels calming listening to thi piece.

Thanks :)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @katharsisdrill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 110000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 6th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!