I did the opposite of minimalism and now I'm paying for it.

in The MINIMALIST5 months ago

Most of the time we talk about minimalism in the context of buying less stuff. But anyone who has pondered the practice of minimalism knows it extends much further than just the things we consume.

Over the last three weeks, Brad and I did a four country, two parkrun, 17 day trip.

It was wonderful.

And it was too much.

I sit here on the couch having done the bare minimum number of steps between the bed, the bathroom, the kitchen and the couch in order to help my body recover from the worst flu I have had in, probably, more than a decade.

I take this experience as my body saying:

I told you it was too much doing. I told you that you'd need to rest and integrate and work through the stuff that came up as it came up. And now you have to do it all in one big intense physical experience because you didn't listen to me.

To be clear, I don't feel like my body is punishing me; I would have felt this way in the past. Instead I believe it was trying to cope with everything I just put it through.

Very little of it was "bad", though there were small occasions that were pretty awful (like the taxi that had no air con in Malaysia and I was genuinely concerned that I might pass out because it was so hot).

Mostly it was just a lot of new experiences. A lot. A lot. A lot.

Probably too many, if I'm honest and now my body and mind are trying desperately to integrate and process everything they learned.

So now, as I attempt to be gentle with my body I'm back to actively practicing minimalism again.

I'm slouching on the couch for hours and not feeling bad about it.

I'm staring at the trees and not trying to think of do anything with this sensory input.

I'm taking extra daytime naps in bed without even looking at the clock.

Minimalism: I'm not sure we ever get it perfect or right or nailed. I think it's a practice. And when I forget for an hour or a day or a week about how important this philosophy is to my well-being, I come back to it and start the practice again. Like the human being that I am.

Photo by new.things, aka Brad, my partner in 'occasionally trying to do all the things'. Photo of me on the beach in Bali, doing one of my more nurturing activities on that trip.

Sort:  

Over the years, I've come to realize that minimalism is about much more than just "stuff;" it extends as far as what you have going on in your heart and soul, as well. And thoughts. "Emotional clutter" is definitely a thing!

You are so smart! You've said this all so well 😍👏

"Emotional clutter" is definitely a thing!

It definitely is. And I'm glad you said it this way as I think this is exactly what I am trying and need to work through.

!LUV

Your post is refreshing. It's great to identify and accept that you did too much, and yes, I'm happy that you're taking the time to relax, slow down and just do the things that make you 'feel' good.

That's a gorgeous photo of you on the beach with your feet reflecting:)

I've tagged this one as #SlowLivingSunday 😍


#SlowLivingSunday

Photo belongs to millycf1976. Manipulated in Canva.

Thanks, darling one. !HUG

Can I do SlowLivingMonday-andTuesday-andWednesday too? !LOL

Hehe! I know the feeling. I have a bit too much going on in my life ATM and I really could do with a 7-day Slow Living too 🤗

Why should you never brush your teeth with your left hand?
A toothbrush works much better.

Credit: reddit
@millycf1976, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of consciouscat

(2/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Haha! I can't help but laugh when I read a #LOL corny joke 😆😂

I laughed too! I felt good 😁

Dear @millycf1976, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @consciouscat.
(1/3)

What if you get it right or perfect after having to practice for so many years?

I guess anything is possible. 😄

Congratulations @consciouscat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Awww, I could relate with the feeling of recovering from too much flu. You know, I wish I only have another illness than having this since my body could recover for like two weeks and even three weeks if I just stay at home and take some meds. By the way, I so love the refreshing beach scenery and you as a gorgeous model dear. Best regards!