My journey into the minimalist world.

in The MINIMALIST8 months ago

Actually, my minimalist lifestyle started from home. Yeah! Although, It was a backward minimalism and I didn't choose to be a minimalist, rather I grew into it and I am loving it.

20231007_213243_0000.png

My journey into minimalism started unintentionally, influenced by my mother's insistence on organization and cleanliness. Growing up, my siblings and I were required to tidy up whenever things were out of place, or else face punishment. At first, it felt like a chore imposed upon us, but little did I know that it would lay the foundation for my minimalist lifestyle.

When my mother asked us to clean our rooms, we would strategically clean only the visible areas, avoiding the need to move or lift anything. We thought we were being clever, but she always managed to catch us and inspect our work. Sometimes, she would take a broom and sweep underneath the chairs, revealing hidden piles of dirt. In those instances, we were instructed to sweep again, frustratingly redoing the chore while mom watched over us. I am sure she didn't know she was a minimalist while acting like one.

The situation of life can bring out the minimalist in you, my mom brought us up with thrift wears. When we murmur she would always tell us that it's stronger than the new once, we never understood what she meant all wanted was a new wear just like our friends. I think it was because she can't afford the new once then. When our nagging gets loud, she would tell at us, "can you all try to be content?" This is what I can offord okay?

Although I had inklings of minimalism within me, I didn't fully realize it until I stayed with a friend in a one-room apartment in Lagos, Nigeria. She embraced simplicity and organization in her living space, and before I arrived, she had already created a designated area for me. I noticed her meticulous attention to detail when it came to arranging her belongings.

She goes like "do like this not like that" and she would give me multiple reasons why I should do it the way she showed me. Arghhh! Are you my mom or what?

There were times when I would lazily toss my clothes onto my bag without bothering to fold them. To my surprise, when I returned, I found that she had neatly folded them for me. It was clear that she thrived in an uncluttered and well-organized environment. At times, I felt she went overboard, but her desire for order seemed ingrained within her.

There was an incident that frustrated me when she discarded some empty water bottles I had collected to give to a vendor. I thought they would be of use to someone else, but she argued that keeping them would hinder ventilation and disrupt the tidy space she carefully maintained. I didn't argue much, as I was merely a squatter in her home and valued her hospitality. Gradually, I began adapting to her way of life and grew accustomed to the simplicity and organization surrounding me. I discovered she can't live with a hoarder or a disorganized being.

But gradually, I adapted. Probably I was doing it to please my friend because I will be staying with her for a long time. I started practicing all that my mom had taught me alongside what my friend's actions had taught me.

IMG_20231007_215001.jpg
A screenshot of clutterbug channel.

Another person that helped me understand the minimalist way of life was Cass, on clutterbug YouTube. One day, I was scrolling through my YouTube and then came across Cass on clutterbug channel. She caught my attention because she was doing same thing my friend always does, she was creating space and organizing a one room apartment. She reasons just like my friend. So, I calmly watched the video Cass about organizing things and creating by decluttering. Hmm… I love an organized home too but I didn't like the fact that she was way too organized I felt it was too much work to be too organized. But as I began to watch many of her videos I got inspired. I started seeing reasons why I should give minimalism full control over my lifestyle. Cass's videos are therapeutic, I see the reason why I get overwhelmed with cleaning and also she gives you ideas on how to clean without being overwhelmed. She has motivated me a lot, her blogs always come with a doable practical and hacks which you can begin to practice without being overwhelmed.

Her video has also helped me learn the act of decongesting my wardrobe, giving out some of my old clothes to internally displaced people ( IDP), NGOs and some volunteers. It felt good meeting a need for some people. Moreover, I do sell some used items to recyclers and earn some cash for myself.

I got all this knowledge from Mom, my friend, Cass, the Minimal Mom, Connie Riet and many other minimalists YouTubers which I have also viewed a lot of their videos and to be truthful it is worth the subscription and time too, I love Cass a lot and will always be on the lookout for her next video.

These experiences shaped my perspective on living with fewer possessions and appreciating the beauty of an uncluttered environment. Minimalism became more than just a trend; it became a way of life that I embraced wholeheartedly.

Image is mine, designed using canva

Thank you for stopping by 🌸

Sort:  

I identify a little with your publication, I grew up with some disorder, as my mother died when I was a child, however, as an adult I have realised how different my days are when I live from the internal and external order and minimalism, as well as for you, it is a path of no return. 😍

Yeah! Thank you for your meaningful contribution.

Mothers are indeed our first school who always teach us the way of living. I also sometimes throw my clothes in bag without even properly folding them and she always gives me lesson to fold them neatly. There are other so many things where I can relate with you.

Yeah! I agree mothers are our first teacher, and you've to learn either by the hard way or soft way, which ever way the ball is your court.

Honestly, this is totally relatable. 😂😂

I hate setting room. My mom is like machine, I wonder how she does it. After scattering our room me and my sister would sleep in the parlour or my brother’s room if he is not around. Hehe. 😅 no one wants to set the room.

I do hope to learn, because… right now 😅 I’m what they call “declutter”

Really? I learnt little by little even though it took me a while to understand why everyone around me is all being organised and clean. Now I am enjoying those knowledges in my own home.

Yeah. I believe little by little. I will. 🙃

Glad you finally made a post 🤗

Your friend must have been pretty annoying for you back then hahaha.
I believe when you declutter a room, it gives room for ventilation, and I can't even work in a disorganized place.
Some days ago, I went to my neighbor's house and it was very messy. I couldn't help but help her arrange the house. I couldn't concentrate on talking to her while seeing spoons, books, and other things on the floor and where they were not supposed to be.

Haha! You know, before now I don't really bother about staying in a little bit of a disorganised apartment but leaving with my friend I adapted and so it became a hobby.

And now it's something you're grateful for.

Yes, So grateful!

I learnt orderliness from my elder sis, my parents were on transfer back then, I felt she was punishing me but I got used to it, I keep things that I need, my room is usually a small space and always looks like I have nothing because I just fill my room with the things that are useful to me, in old age my mom hold on to things which she feels brings memories for her, unknown to her, this is hoarding, stylishly I and my sis burn some things that we think are of no use, funny enough she doesn't remember these things.

Hmm... you wouldn't believe that my mom still have the cup she used to baby—fed me while I was little.🤦

Wow! I guess mothers are like that sometimes

 8 months ago  

Minimalist Cover Gif-5.jpg

Thank you!

Actually, my minimalist lifestyle started from home. Yeah! Although It was a backward minimalism and I didn't choose to be a minimalist, rather I grew into it and I am loving it.

I think most of us started this way, and having a mom to impact this lifestyle is priceless.

Thank you for sharing about the YouTuber who inspired and helped you along the line, I'm more likely going to check her out. !luv

@ginika, @funshee(2/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx