Warming up the muscles.

in The MINIMALISTlast month

"Sit down. Rest."

Seems to be the first go-to advice we give people who are for whatever reason struggling, tired or hurting. Put your feet up. Relax. Watch your favorite show.

Except... is that really sound advice?

While I think rest and taking some me-time can be tremendously important for trauma or surgery recovery, or for people struggling with mental health issues, I don't really trust it when it comes to physical ailments.

Your back hurts? Lie down.
Your leg hurts? Sit.

And so on, and so forth, physical respite seems to serve as a cure-all golden ticket that (unsurprisingly) asks very little of you in return. And for a moment, it can seem really helpful. If you've been on your feet all day, maybe rest could provide the healing you need. For a minute.

I don't think the antidote to back aches or muscle cramps is sitting down. Quite the contrary. I think you need to move and get the blood flowing into sore muscles or whatever aches you're working with.

For three weeks now, I've been trying to "rest up" to heal a recurrent ankle injury. I've watched myself grow immensely irritable and depressive. For someone who doesn't really trust the medical world, the past weeks saw me very pliant. Sure, give me pain meds, give me whatever, just to end this.

Being very out of character, it shook me, and I sat back and tried to figure out how I'd come to that train of thought. Because the pain wasn't that great. Which pinned the blame to the other issue -- the constant state of imposed paralysis. This perceived impingement on my freedom of movement was what I wanted to end by any means necessary.

This morning, I woke up. Been lying in bed a lot, which is nice for my reading, but hell on my body. I hate it. Something I used to enjoy and revel in, I've come to hate for the prolonged periods I've been doing it lately. So this morning, I couldn't for the life of me find any position I was comfortable in. My back hurt all over, my hip area, my ankles, of course. My muscles were just out for blood, you know?

So much as it's tempting when you feel this sort of physical pain to "take it easy", I knew very clearly that wasn't what my body was needing. So I got out of bed, unrolled the mat, and got to it. And there's nothing like that fresh surge of blood hitting long-dormant areas. Nothing like a good yoga session after prolonged inactivity.

WhatsApp Image 2024-03-18 at 15.23.57.jpeg

I've been maintaining my yoga practice fairly well until the injury, and before, I used to be like okay, 20-30 minutes, I wanna get off the mat. Because I was really active, I walked a lot, I worked out more intensely, I danced, and so yoga, while it provided me with much needed stretching, it wasn't the only chance to get the blood flowing, So it didn't feel as vital.

This morning, however, I couldn't get myself off the mat. I just kept wanting more and more. It felt good, which leads me to believe it's what the body needs to strengthen. I think we don't listen to that, 'cause we've somehow started thinking that our minds know better. See, my mind knows I should be sitting down. Resting. My body is screaming to get up.

So I've been listening to mind (mostly) for a while, and it doesn't seem to work. I'm gonna listen to body now, see how I do.
My opinion of the injury has shifted, too, so that might account for it. Before, I thought very much that I needed to give my ankle time to heal. Which in turn weakens the muscles and actually makes you more predisposed to re-injuring the foot. So now, I've been doing physical therapy exercises targeting that kind of injury specifically and it seems to be going well so far.
The thing about ankle injuries is that they're physical, but also very much in your head. Because when you injure your ligaments, your balance and your stability on that ankle starts getting shifty. You don't think you can trust your own ankle anymore. And I think that plays a huge role in recovery. Because I can sit down for three hours, and maybe my ankle's feeling good, but I regard it as injured. I'm scared what will happen when I do move. Which keeps me stagnant even more, loosening the ankle (and my faith in it).

For now, I'm reorienting towards more conscious movement, and less towards immobility. Maybe it's not about foregoing the step, but minding how you go. As in so much else :)

bannn.jpeg

Sort:  

Our body needs rest and it is not supposed to be only when we have worked so hard physically. Bodily rest also has a way of affecting us positively in the mental state
You’re right about all of these

No, we shouldn't work ourselves to exhaustion, certainly. Though I think mindful practices like yoga don't really count as work. For me, at least, it feels like a treat more than a chore :D so always welcome.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Except... is that really sound advice?

Your back hurts? Lie down.
Your leg hurts? Sit.

No, these are terrible advice that I hear all the time.
As a former chiropractic assistant, I know that to be the opposite of improvement.

You need to move and get the blood flowing into sore muscles or whatever aches you're working with.

Correct✅

As we speak, my body is aching and it's due to the inactivity of no yoga. That's the biggest challenge that I have on the narrowboat, and it's raining right now so I can't be outside.

I agree to not over-exert pressure on your ankle because that will set you back. However, you have the right concept overall.👏

That's the biggest challenge that I have on the narrowboat, and it's raining right now so I can't be outside.

I feel that. I hope the weather clears soon (or you find some other way to practice).

As a former chiropractic assistant, I know that to be the opposite of improvement.

I'm glad to hear ! Obviously, I can speak from my own experience with it, but it's great to have someone with a background in the area confirm it! <3

(or you find some other way to practice).

It's not idyllic, but I did it on the pontoon leading to the boat. I felt so good for it:)

Just like how it is in life, I believe that’s what happens with the body. It’s a like a reflection. Staying still doesn’t necessarily mean you’re healing. Especially physical as you pointed out. I feel it can also be attributed to mental and psychological traumas.

If we are still (resting), I just think we are avoiding the process that comes with the healing. We let our traumas rule our lives and in return, demolish our ability to be better.

But moving (despite how scary and how dangerous it seems) creates the reprieve we look for. We are no longer under the control of our minds (pasts). It is satisfying, really.