How I gave up my apartment and sold 80% of my stuff 🤭

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago (edited)

Hey Hive Friends and The Minimalist Group,

this is my entry in the #KISS topic from this week,
I wrote about Question #1 #3 #4, have Fun :)

What does minimalism mean? I think everyone should define this for themselves... according to the motto "less is more!" Everyone can see for themselves how they want to integrate "minimalism" into their lives. Buy less, do not live above the circumstances, have no car only use public means, etc. There are so many possibilities...

For me, living minimalistic also means not only owning less but also not leading the 0815 life in the hamster wheel.... 40 or more hourly week, "ok" paid job to which you have to get up every day, always own the latest of the latest, car, mobile phone, etc. And then to go into debt for a house until the end of your life! that's just not my idea of life. Living without freedom, always having the feeling of having to work go to, otherwise you can not pay son the rates. Always have this pressure on you. For me just no life! then it is better to exchange fewer possessions for time.
I've learned over the years that all these things that you create headless , that you don't need , only distract you from what's important. They keep you from dealing with what's important... with yourself! The reduction of your possessions leads you to reflect on what is important. If you clean up on the outside, you will also feel in your inner space!

Foto 10.03.22, 17 56 37.jpg

I was rather pushed into my path to minimalism. It all started with the fact that I moved in with my boyfriend at the time in 2018, we decided that I would move into his apartment (stupid idea, different theme;) ) so I moved into his apartment, which of course was already completely furnished. Accordingly, I could not take much with me ... There was simply no space or things were already there. In the end, I started to sell and give away 70-80% of my fully furnished apartment. Many people thought I was completely crazy, especially my grandma (old generation). But I saw it all very loosely and always had in the back of my mind anyway that I wanted to emigrate or go on a trip if all this does not work out with my friend. so it was the ideal time to part with a few things.... or what does it mean of a few things, about everything I owned.

I thought it was great when people came by and gave me money for my stuff and my apartment became emptier and emptier. I felt with someone what I sold freer and freer, more independent! In the end, I only had a box of memorabilia from childhood and youth, a self-made room divider, a few kitchen utensils, my wardrobe, and my clothes! I never missed a single thing. That's crazy, you buy things over the years anyway, but in the end, you don't miss anything when it's gone. Maybe was that but only with me so, maybe I am a bit more extreme. But I think everyone, especially we in the Western world, just have way too much. We buy too much and think we need this and that still ! the consumer society has a greeting. Of course, I took all the things I loved, which I enjoy every day.

Foto 10.03.22, 21 47 18.jpg

But I understand that it can be difficult for some people to start with minimalism or mucking out. I think you have to be thrown in at the deep end like me, or you have to feel grounded by all your stuff... if the full apartment, the filled cellar becomes a burden at some point. If they are restricted in their possibilities, it is easier to get started. To the people who find it difficult to clean it out, I would advise you to ask yourself with each part "can I still identify with this part", "Do I need this? If my heart is part of it, would I miss it if it were gone? how do I want to live? "Who do I want to be in my new life?" I wouldn't pick up anything that I might use again at some point, and what I might put on again at some point! you don't anyway.... you never need it again anyway. Live in the now! I can only report on my experiences and how my life has changed for the better through all this. But it was probably also easier for me because I had "goals" in mind, I was happy to move in with my boyfriend and had as I said in the back of my mind that I want to go on a trip anyway, want to emigrate. Since a full 2-room apartment would have burdened me anyway only! Think about what your goals could be!

My way is of course very drastic, but somehow it was never really difficult for me to part with things as I said I have always cleaned out my wardrobe regularly and separated myself from things. I always had a passion for fashion and clothes, but at some point, I just realized that buying all this new, was pretty stupid and went way too much into the money. I was always the guy who could clean out his clothes relatively quickly because I just didn't wear them anymore. so years ago I started to buy all my clothes second-hand, at the flea market or online. So it didn't hurt my wallet so much, I found special individual pieces, and had not have been bad if I did not wear the things after a few months! I just need the variety.

Foto 18.04.22, 13 11 11.jpg

When I started my education at the age of 18, I naturally thought quite differently... or just didn't think about anything like that... it was quite normal for me to buy my home furnishings new, to go into debt for it. I didn't even think any further. as soon as my money was in the account, I went shopping. bought me new clothes, make-up.. unnecessary stuff. That's why I would advise my younger I with my today's knowledge not to buy you the 5 tshirt new, which you will not do in 2 months anyway, do not throw your money so meaningfully out of the window, you just have nothing of it. Better save a little for your dreams that make your future easier! (I would have known that before) I worked hard for my money at that time and it wasn't much when you need something, always check if there is something to buy somewhere. This saves you a lot of money and everything is already available in abundance in the world anyway, you don't have to produce more trash. And finally, I advise myself not to spend your money on consumption and things, but rather invest your time and money in activities, because in the end, you have so much more experiences than things, who at some point just lie around. Why should we hire owners, that only makes us freer and in the end, we can't take anything with us anyway. a stupid saying but the perfect truth.

Foto 24.12.21, 11 14 49.jpg

I have been traveling for over 8 months now. I broke up with my boyfriend at the time. My last remnants (4 suitcases) with my grandma and left, away from Germany and off to a new life! I can say today that looking back at the dissolution of my former living, the way to minimalism, was also the start of my spiritual journey, I have started more and more to deal with myself. To see what I want to live in life, and what a life I want to lead. Dealing with myself and not letting myself be distracted by everything else.

I am grateful and glad that my life went the same way !

As far as my subscribers are concerned, i wouldn't like to be as minimalist as in my life haha

I would be very happy if you subscribe to me🤗

Thanks for reading, Anna

Sort:  

I love it, i've also sold a lot of my stuff, and many of my investments too, and started to secure it all in bitcoin, so it's easy for me to take my money with me wherever I go. When you start to get rid of things, you feel less tied to things, less tied down, you feel more free

As they say the things you own can end up owning you

thank you for your comment ... you are so right! and bitcoin is better than the banks, but it's not going so well right now! well the future will be better😄👍🏻

Hello @onlyanna88,
Nice post and I see you had fun incorporating many options that suited your story.
I'm so happy for you that you're more on a spiritual path. That I can relate to very well.
Not that I think you would, but don't ever question or doubt what you did by letting go of all your possessions. I'm happy that you're traveling, exploring the world, and discovering yourself. There will be setbacks, but always remember that life needs its highs and lows. Pay attention to your low times and embrace them, because that's when you're growing without even realizing it.
Re your followers; Don't stress! Your tribe will find you and stick to you. I could say that for this community I would prefer to have quality posts over quantity posts and subscribers. However, I aim to foster the community so that persons who might not be dedicated minimalists, can get more exposure to the subject, learn ideas, and have new sights and perspectives on this way of life.

Wishing you a lovely week ahead:)

Thanks for your comment ! Of course you always have things you regret from the past, but I've learned that you can't change them. that there's no point in always thinking "oh, if only I had..." or could I do it differently again...!you can't, so don't think about it so much and don't make life harder for yourself! thanks i like this group :)

I'm happy you feel at home here. See you around :)

small KISS Gif.gif

Thanks for your #KISS, I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed
speaking lips

Congratulations @onlyanna88! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

!LUV reading this, very positive.


Don't worry about your followers count. The PeakD front-end has a list option (which is the most useful tool I use on HIVE) that lists your favorite content creators under the assigned titles you create. People are following you, you just don't see it :-)

Oh good to know, thank you 😊