I'm living my best life

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago (edited)



cl7ugc0ea00px1tm73u1oe4i4_IMG20171106070725.webp
cl7ugca4100pv0wm7fosbfrf9_IMG20171106070723.webp
cl7ugcp9l00p015m73r9x6s16_IMG20171106070819.webp
cl7ugd38z00of0pm76szs0q6o_IMG20171106070752.webp
cl7ugdfgb00pz1tm79d8k7v8p_IMG20171106070148.webp
cl7ugdr5l00rc1lm7bh7711ey_IMG20171106070721.webp
cl7uge3u800rg21m7b9ndecm8_IMG20171106070801.webp
cl7ugehb000p215m7fdtz2d2k_IMG20171106071159.webp


Ten years ago

If you ask the 18-year-old Pat what she thinks her best life looks like, she'll probably give you a long checklist with the following making it on top:

  • climbing the corporate ladder
  • getting a Master's degree, then a Ph.D. in Economics at the University of the Philippines-Diliman School of Economics. In fact, she called the school's registrar a few times and intently did research on how to nail both degrees and what job she'll land after it
  • land a job in the Central Bank of the Philippines, DBP, ADB, and ultimately, World Bank
  • work in Coca-cola specifically in their Marketing (she has varied interests in life)
  • be married to the most sporty, head-turner 5'11" guy in town who can play the guitar and piano as well as sing like an angel. She'll make sure he'll write songs for her and their wedding will be covered by the great Jason Magbanua
  • travel the world not for leisure but for business trips

I was determined to reach for the stars even if it meant giving up rest, my teenage years, social interactions, and relationships. Since I was six (6) until the age of twenty (20), I managed to stick to the formula of hard work, persistence, discipline, and determination to ensure that every single move is geared towards completing all those I've listed above. But somewhere along the way, I burned out. I started feeling that the life I've lived all these years wasn't the one I desire deep inside, that I wasn't genuinely happy. Sure, every time I give a perfect scoring test paper to my mother, I feel I'm doing what I'm supposed to do but something felt so wrong. That's when I started to sail my ship in the direction I believe will bring me peace, love, happiness, and contentment.

I realized that for two decades, I was living someone else's life; I was making my parents' dreams come through. I was just fulfilling my duties as a daughter. Although I don't regret being too kind and obedient to follow my parents' orders and I love them deeply for doing it, it was time I follow my own calling. It was time to break free.


Fast forward to 2022

Today, if you ask me what my best life looks like, I don't have an entire pad of paper full of a bulleted list of this and that. I don't have a rigid list of things I must accomplish first before I could say "Hey Pat, this is the best life ever! Good job, you finally succeeded!" I still do have ideals and dreams but I couldn't wait for all those dreams, all those checklists to be done before I could live my best life.

When people ask me "What's your ultimate goal, Pat?" I'll confidently answer them "To be at peace and happy!" and now, I'm surrounded with all the serenity and bliss the Earthly world couldn't give. Nothing else matters!

I realized that today, all I have is the here and now. Every single day I believe I am living the one and only life I have and therefore the best life each time. I have the power within me to create a life I wouldn't want to escape from. Each day, I live as intentionally as possible, redirecting my energy to things that matter most, things that bring me just what I wanted: peace and happiness. I could spend an entire day wishing and grinding towards the world's definition of best life and in doing so forget to live in the moment. But that's all in the past now; today's different.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

When people ask me "What's your ultimate goal, Pat?" I'll confidently answer them "To be at peace and happy!" and now, I'm surrounded with all the serenity and bliss the Earthly world couldn't give. Nothing else matters!

This gave me goosebumps all over my body. My exact dream. My exact goal. To be alive these days is expensive and the hustle culture ain't helping either. I feel you Pat. I totally do!

Hello @patsitivity
Gorgeous photos that depict a simple happy life there.
I'm happy that you were driven to find a path towards your own happiness.
Living your best life is realizing that the now is all that you have certainty of, and not waiting for tomorrow or dwelling on the past. Living your life in the present is leads to natural growth and continual improvements along the way.

small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

The problem with the statement 'living my best life' is that it being a superlative means it can't get any better! This can alter the mindset to stop you striving for more improvement.

28 is very young to be on a plateau ;-)

Continuous improvement is always the key, push for more! NO LIMITS!

Just a thought. Have a great weekend superstar :-)

This can alter the mindset to stop you striving for more improvement.

This ain't the case for me, @nathen007! Appreciate the reminder. 🥰 No limits still but recognizing each day's the best makes a huge impact on our wellbeing. The best life ain't too far away, it could be today if we decide to! 😊

You too, have a blast this weekend! 🥂✨

We all have a little too much, the feeling of being unsatisfied! If my 18years old self meet me today, maybe he gonna slap me! Haha! Despite this, I find many of your 18-year-old dreams very sweet! Keep dreaming, it makes our life more bittersweet!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Well said Pat! 🤗
One's best life shouldn't be a picture painted by someone else but the individual's perception of it.

I'm glad you were able to break free and you redefined the terms of what your best life should be like. It takes a lot of courage to break free and take a U-turn on life but you did and I admire you for it.

The one thing that remains constant is the present and if we manage to make the best out of our present situations then we are ultimately living out best lives❣️