Minimalist giving, simple living.

in The MINIMALISTlast year

As someone who holds minimalism in high esteem, the festive season is a particularly challenging time for me as I try to fit in giving gifts, having fun and sticking to a budget. However, writing out a list of minimalist gift ideas has really helped me catch up on giving without anxiety or stress.

gift-6861852__480.jpg

Gift giving to me isn't a mandatory thing but something that should come out of the abundance of the heart. There should be no pressure attached.

I love giving gifts to people but I hate it when it seems like pressure is mounting on me to do so and my gift giving must be on an affordable budget. I can never do more than my financial status can carry.


It's the festive period yeah and people are purchasing lots of gifts to dish out to friends and family members. I do admire them a lot and I feel they have enough finances/resources to do so on their own budget and that's really nice. It's only in a situation where someone feels pressured and anxious over giving gifts that I don't fancy at all. No one should be pressured for anything in this world as we are humans and have our different choices to make over the kind of lives we want to live.

Giving gifts doesn't prove love in my opinion because I've seen people give gifts yet have bitter hatred and bad intentions in their hearts toward the same individual given the gift.

I do things according to my budget and any impromptu gift giving is always left unattended. I was once invited to a wedding of a family member and my mom sounded as if she wanted to force me into buying a gift for the couple of which I never budgeted for as my invite came pretty late. Honestly, I stayed away from the wedding to avoid anything that would come as an embarrassment or that would cause me to overthink when I have lots more other things to care about.

I hate anything that seems like pressure or anxiety and I try everything possible to check it off my list. If I plan on getting a gift for anyone, I need to have made plans for it weeks or prolly months before the actual date for whatever occasion it is that required the gift plus most times I don't rack my brain on what to buy, I just calculate what I have to spend, go to Google and search for anything nice that fits the budget or I give out personalized gifts that I took time to create. That's it! No pressure or anxiety at all cause I got no room to harbor such.

Merry Christmas in advance beautiful people 💝.

img

Sort:  

Giving gifts doesn't prove love in my opinion because I've seen people give gifts yet have bitter hatred and bad intentions in their hearts toward the same individual given the gift.

Calling a spade a spade there! I agree with you 💯% You hit the nail on the head there.

I was once invited to a wedding of a family member and my mom sounded as if she wanted to force me into buying a gift for the couple which I never budgeted for as my invite came pretty late.

You have to ask yourself: 1) why was the invite late? 2) were you an afterthought? 3) did it even occur in the bridal party's mind that maybe you would feel a little pressured 4) did you get that last-minute invite just with the bridal's party hope that they would get an extra gift? 5) Exactly, why should you be forced to add an additional "expense" for a non-priority matter?

You made the right decision, good on ya!

small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

I agree with you 💯% You hit the nail on the head there.

Thank you😌.

You made the right decision, good on ya

I did ask myself those questions and it's the more reason why I stayed back without even being bothered afterall if they deemed my presence important, they'd have invited me earlier like they did others.

Thanks for always finding time to read through. I really appreciate.

You're very welcome:)