Slowing down the days

I just discovered this community, thanks to @tezmel. It looks like a place I am going to enjoy.


young-woman-1745173_640.webp
Pixabay


I have never rushed through life. I find it tiring, to always be in motion, meeting deadlines, pursuing time as it skips through my fingers. It encouraged a lot of bad habits in me.

While I still had a nine to five, a horrendous job that I detested, waking up in the mornings and getting ready for work was a chore, rushing to my work place and sometimes there would be mad traffic on the way, which my boss didn't always understand, was just hell. After several months of juggling my mental health, my physical health and my empty social life, I decided that it was enough and stepped away from all of it. Since then, my life has been on slow motion.

How I slowed everything down was quite simple; I stopped checking the time. I am not working for anyone. I spend most of my day writing, reading, doing crypto related stuff, submitting poetry to journals and sleeping. Sometimes I go out to mix with the society so as not to be out of loop but I actually enjoy my own company very much. Because I am not working, I don't worry about waking up late or too early. Some days I wake up by four in the morning. Some days I wake up by nine in the morning. Some nights I sleep very late and some nights, quite early.

Also, because I enjoy reading poetry and prose, I often spend hours reading on my bed, even forgetting to get breakfast or lunch. Sometimes, when I am writing or editing a piece, I would raise my head to see that it is dark outside and I would just chuckle and go back to work. There's no one depending on me for food, shelter, clothes, school fees or anything. I eat when I feel like it and there's no one to say otherwise.

There are times when I feel like I am lazy and just avoiding work and that maybe true as I have never liked the traditional working environment. The discovery of Blockchain was heaven sent for me and if I can, I would make it my sole source of income for the rest of my days.

Another way by which I have slowed my life down is worrying less about tomorrow. This is not to say I don't get bothered by certain things but I don't dwell on it too much. I take each day as it comes and enjoy while I still can. It is my philosophy that nothing lasts forever and life is short. I don't want to live my days wondering about a tomorrow I might never get to see. I eat what I want, listen to all kinds of music from chamber music to jazz, afrobeats, rap, pop, blues and so on. I love doing this while taking long walks around my area in the evening. I am in my own world, the big blanket of evening sky spread over me. In seeing how tiny I am before the grandness of the universe, I'm reminded as to how unimportant my worries are in the grand scheme of things.

These might not seem like suitable ways by which a person can slow things down but I would rather be a still pond, basking in the sun than an avalanche tumbling down a ravine with no idea of what is at the bottom.


I am nominating @zyzymena to join in on this prompt. Thank you for this kind opportunity.

Sort:  

Hello @warpedpoetic

1.jpg


We are delighted that you have discovered the community, and we look forward to seeing you around:)
I trust that you have seen our Introduction, Content Ideas & Posting Guidelines, which could be a great tool for inspiration of content.
You've already discovered our weekly publication called #KISS (an acronym for our community motto, Keep It Simple & Smart), which presents you with blog ideas for the week,to boost the community activities.
A #KISS publication is always pinned on the community's feed, where you can find the active week, however you are free to present any minimalist focused post at any time, as long as it is original-content.
Please be sure to cite all sources for information presented.
See you around:)

Thank you for the welcome. I will definitely be dropping post here from time to time.

It is a joy to introduce you to the minimalist club :)

What an interestingly free mode of life as much as it needs a spark to light up the softest parts of you. I feel like you deserve it and I am sure you know what I mean!

Gratitude is contagious and I am glad some things are now making sense. Yes to your playlist minus the jazz and living one day at a time. I wish I had that luxury... Parenting has infected my mind with the fear of the unknown.

I understand at least as a son to parents who had to put everything on hold just to make sure that I and my siblings got the best they could afford.

Thank you Tez 🖤💯