Exploring Barcelona | Initial Impressions And Street Photography

20240416-DSCF8669.jpg


It's good to finally talk to you again, photography lovers! I've been on a 5-day trip to Barcelona and have finally rested and able to write again. :) It was a wonderful journey and I'm looking forward to show you all the photos I've come up with.

It was five of us in the company so I couldn't perfectly plan every part of the itinerary but it turned out great and we visited all the spots that we wanted. When you travel with friends you have to keep in mind their needs and not force things, for example some of them are not early risers so I didn't go out to catch the morning sun and avoid the crowd, but I made the most out of the situation anyways.

I was just talking to a friend - having photography plans is important part of the travel, especially for those whose life revolves around it. For me, few yearly trips make up the majority of my portfolio at the end of the year, it's that much more impactful when you are in a different place and seeing things with new eyes. But even though us photographers tend to be into the photography mode while travelling, it's good to also take it slow and enjoy the process of exploring a new place.

I will talk about the city in detail in future posts and show all the amazing spots we visited. We absolutely loved Barcelona! Primarily it's the vibe of the city and people which is very casual, relaxed and friendly, reminding us about our hometown Belgrade. People are warm and welcoming to tourists and treat you as one of their own.

Of course, the city is beautiful and has so much too offer, from beautiful parks, to quarters with old buildings, narrow streets and breathtaking cathedrals, from high viewpoints above the city to vast beaches down low. The weather was almost perfect, not too warm, not too cold, great for long walks. Although the wind sometimes goes wild especially close to the sea.

For starters, here are some shots I took in the gothic quarter, subway station and the few houses designed by Gaudi, whose influence is visible all around the city. Stay tuned for more. Photos taken Fuji X-Pro2 and 35mm F/2 lens.


20240416-DSCF8726.jpg

20240416-DSCF8799.jpg

20240416-DSCF8715.jpg

20240416-DSCF8692.jpg

20240416-DSCF8811.jpg

20240416-DSCF8686.jpg

20240416-DSCF8792.jpg

20240416-DSCF8676.jpg

20240416-DSCF8688.jpg

20240416-DSCF8797.jpg

20240416-DSCF8770.jpg

20240416-DSCF8761.jpg

20240416-DSCF8795.jpg

20240416-DSCF8785.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, your Barcelona adventure sounds incredible! It's amazing how you balanced exploring with your friends preferences and still captured such stunning photos. I can't wait to see more of your photography from this trip as it sounds like Barcelona really left a lasting impression on you. Looking forward to your detailed posts.<3

Haha I am lucky that my friends are also into photography or posing for nice photos :D so they understand the creative drive to explore such a nice place. Glad you liked the initial post, stay tuned for more. :)

It's great when you have friends who share your passion for photography. My friends are camera shy and sometimes it's disappointing that when we go to nice places, they won't pose for a picture and when I pose for one, they ruin it with their terrible photography skills, so we all end up with nothing. Lol.

Barcelona is a really beautiful place !! i love how it have some interesting architectures but also is full of people that are used to be photographed, it is the perfect combination for street photography.

the first shoot is absolutely good!

You noticed it nicely, the people there are so chill and used to the photographers, it was a breeze to walk around and capture interesting moments :) I would love to go back there for an extended period and take full advantage of it.

One thing I managed to learn about that city is that it really helps to have a wider focal length. Such narrow streets! Only option much of the time is to shoot portrait as a result

I was thinking about it and in most of the cases I found 35mm on a crop censor to work perfectly, especially in the narrow streets. Where it lacks is when you want to capture cathedrals like Sagrada Familia or Santa Maria del Mar from up close, I had to use my phone in those instances.

Yeah a 35 is fine. I remember really struggling with my film camera with the 50mm, a lot of the streets felt far too narrow to really be able to capture them, everything felt so tight. But when I used a zoom lens on the digital, I noticed I'd open things up a bit more, the only downside there was the fixed aperture due to the zoom. I'd want to go back one day, definitely with a bit more kit to really capture it all.

Even here in Armenia I'm noticing I'm loving the 85mm, but also really wanting something like a 24mm for that wider, more cinematic perspective. Admittedly also looking into a few cine lenses... Oh no :^)

Just like myself, photography is a must for me if i travel to a place and you have taken very nice pictures, clean and dope, i hope your stay there was much fun

Thank you, indeed it was very enjoyable!

This are beautiful pictures and I like that you have memories from your trip

Glad you enjoyed the photos!

I really love the first one. :)

It's always fun experimenting in the subway :)

Me encanta tu publicación, está súper original

Muchas gracias :)

!discovery 30

Those structures are really fascinating, I really amazed the pictures you have and shared here Sir. Barcilona is truly a beautiful place and if walso talked about wine, this place is popular.