Winter like we haven't had in a long time. A short visit by the Snow Queen to Kraków.

Unfortunately, the temperature has been slightly positive for the past two days, and this beautiful winter is slowly flowing into the Vistula. Christmas will be grey and wet 😔 However, for ten days, it was downright fabulous. Knowing that warming was coming, I went for a long walk on Monday to enjoy the pure snow one last time. I don't know if there will be another opportunity to do so this season.

I went for a walk to the Bagry reservoir. In the summer, it serves as the city's bathing area. Usually, I avoid such places because of the crowds, but now it's almost deserted.

It was very cold and the snow was creaking under my shoes - I love the sound :) Last week I bought disposable hand warmers and had a chance to try them out for the first time. They passed the test! I was taking pictures with thin gloves and was able to warm my hands quickly after that. The warmers are small sachets you can keep in your pockets or put in the second pair of gloves. I activated them just before leaving the house, and they emitted warmth throughout the walk, which lasted about 5 hours. I don't know why I only came up with this idea now since freezing hands were always my nuisance. I saw that there are also reusable warmers that look like small power banks. Perhaps I will buy one next season.

Let's take a walk in the land of the Winter Queen, in a quiet corner of Krakow at this time of year.

_1671468809847.jpg

_1671468809837.jpg

_1671468809822.jpg

I had trouble orienting myself because gps in any application didn't work - maybe because of the freeze. Although it wasn't that terrible, about -8°C. I was in this place for the first time, and the paths were covered with snow, so it took me a few minutes to get to my destination. Finally, I found water, or rather a vast sheet of snow-covered ice :)

Incredibly peaceful place. Right next to it runs a railroad line, so all you can hear are passing trains from time to time and a single bird's voices here and there.

_1671468809765.jpg

_1671468809745.jpg

_1671468809703.jpg

...And the creak of snow under your boots :)

_1671468809638.jpg

_1671468809570.jpg

_1671468809426.jpg

The sun glistened in the specs of snow; everything else remained still. Unique moment.

_1671468809036.jpg

_1671468808843.jpg

_1671468808441.jpg

_1671468807141.jpg

_1671468806373.jpg

_1671468805431.jpg

All the birds living at the reservoir gathered in the small ice' hole at the bank. They swam lazily, unconcerned about the cold.

_1671468805051.jpg

_1671468804178.jpg

_1671468803568.jpg

It is the kind of winter I love! For now, she's moving out of the city, but maybe she will still come back this season :) I refer to winter as "she" because that's it in Polish. As many as three seasons in my language are feminine gender - winter, spring, and autumn. Only summer is neutral. Nature is also "she"... it's no coincidence 😉

ornament.png

--- Thanks for stopping by! --- @astinmin
I'm the only author of the text and photos

ornament.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, the place is very cold and beautiful, I wish I could go just like that place.

Wish you this :)

Really nice pictures!

That place is very beautiful, thank you for sharing this with us.

Keep warn and taking more pictures!

🅶𝗼𝗼𝗱 🅹𝗼𝗯 🤜🤛

Thank you 🌞

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1737.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Ho Ho Ho! @astinmin, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Prizes from our sponsors
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

Winter Wonderland :) Amazing shots. I remember visiting Bagry with my girlfriend on St. Valentine Day, it was freezing like crazy, super cold... But yeah, in summer, the place is so crowded...

Btw in Czech, we have: "it" spring (jaro), "it" summer (léto), "he" autumn (podzim) and "she" winter (zima)

;)