The Day Before Driving Fun

November 25th, 2020

Okay not so fun

Today was pick up the lasagna for dinner tomorrow. The year is being pretty similar to last year, a small snow, then rain, then freezing weather.
gate control area
That is what the gate control area looked like, where we were picking up the lasagna. A skating rink. Our favorite cook Todd was cooking for Thanksgiving Dinner. It is a gated lodge and this is what the gate area looked like. I don't think they get many people driving in.

That stuff is a lot of fun to drive on...not. The parking area we were going to pick the lasagna up at was not that much better looking. I am just glad that Todd was able to get it to us with out falling.

The food arrived and it soon made it to home. This is how our driveway looks right now, well a couple of hours ago.
driveway
That was about 4:30 PM. Right now it is 6:30 and it is dark outside, full on night. No snow left on the trees, we had a pretty good wind event as the rains came in this morning.

Fortunately where we park the passenger side of the vehicle is pretty much snow and ice free, that won't last for long. We managed to get the few groceries and the lasagna inside with out to much difficulty, but it was touch and go for me getting out of the car and getting my stuff from the back seat. Lots of ice on the drivers side. It is time for the shoe spikes to go on.

I hope everyone has a nice Thanksgiving dinner and get together tomorrow. Photos were taken with my smart phone.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

The first picture looked like a frozen lake... I think you should bring out your skate

I never enjoyed ice skating, I could roller skate, but ice skating for me just was not much fun. There were a few kids out on a frozen lake yesterday skating when we drove by one.

I feel very drawn to snow... maybe because I haven't seen it upfront yet... winter is a joke here... warm weather, humidity, and all that

Holy Mike! I've played Hockey on worse surfaces :)

Shoe spikes. I can't imagine, I've never lived in a situation where shoe spikes were part of the equation. It was plenty cold for that look, just the moisture wasn't very common. The city used to use a fire truck to water down the tennis courts for winter time action...

I hope you enjoyed the lasagna.

It was good. I use to not worry so much about the shoe spikes, but as I age and bones get more fragile I need to be more careful.

That looks more like an ice rink. The ice on the roads is one negative side of the winter.

My son has had luck yesterday when the car drove straight instead of making a turn and no other car care from the opposite direction.

One of my cats ran on the balcony this morning and fell because the balcony was completely iced - you should have seen his face 🤣

At least you have got your lasagna and didn't fall 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

True, and it was good, and enough for 4 days. It was a big lasagna. Friends may stop by in the next couple days.

4 days? Well, that lasagna must have been really big - or better said, must still be very big 😉


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Living in Vancouver we get so little cold weather. But I grew up on the prairies. Brings back memories:)

Ice season is no fun, I forget about it every year, and it seems to happen every year around the same time, Thanksgiving for us. If it all holds to the past we should get about 5 inches of snow a day or two after thanksgiving.

That used to be Halloween for me as a kid.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

hello dear friend @bashadow good morning
The images that you show us are incredible, you could perceive the cold weather when you saw them
I hope you enjoyed Thanksgiving dinner.
I appreciate that you have shown us these beautiful photographs
Have a great day. stay warm

Thank you, and yes dinner was very good.

Crap that ice looks scary! I thought it was a photo of a homemade rink until I read the post. I hope that lasagna was good at least! Bring your mountain cleats for your next lasagna!

I bought some of those show attachments with spikes a few years ago. Comes in handy when snow blowing the driveway. Here in the Northeast, we get the heavy wet snows (most of the time) followed by a brutal backfill of frigid air that freezes things up. So it can go from the mid 30's to the teens pretty quickly. Obviously does not compare to Alaska weather, but for us it sucks.. lol.

Be careful! How was the Lasagna?

The Lasagna was great, it was a big one and deep. The mid winter warm ups can be a bitch when it melts some snow and then refreezes as a layer of ice, a big problem for avalanches, fortunately we do not have to drive the road to Anchorage very often at all