Am I a Photographer?

Recently I saw a blog written by a friend and so I discovered a new community "Photography Lovers". As a lover of visual arts and photography, I was glad that there was a meeting place for photographers. I immediately decided that it was a community I would like to be in.

Then, before I started looking for the conditions to integrate in the community, I thought that it could be a closed and exclusive circle for the professionals and so I shyly looked for the conditions for membership.

Well, the first thing I saw when I accessed the community was a question I was afraid of ... Are you a photographer?

I understood that I must first answer this question as honestly as possible (to answer me first) and then click on the subscribe button!

So I thought about how many of the conditions required to be a photographer I meet ...

  • I have a decent camera
  • I have a smartphone with pretty good cameras
  • I have pretty good eyesight
  • I like photographic art and I have seen many works made by famous photographers
  • I like to take photos, a lot of photos ...

... but I have minimal knowledge of photographic technique and I probably make a lot of mistakes that bother professionals.

The answer I gave myself is that, yes I'm a photographer, if that means taking photos! I am a photographer just like hundreds of millions of people on this earth who have at least one smartphone ... but to be more than that I have to learn both technique and photographic art.

Then I continued reading in the community presentation: "A place for photography lovers to share their work and photography tips".

I said ... Whatever it is ... and I clicked on Subscribe!

My hope is that I will be able to learn from the experience of my colleagues, that I will understand and apply. I know many colleagues who are exceptional photographers and I hope to find them all here.Thanks in advance!

IMG_20170917_183630.jpg

IMG_20170917_184853.jpg

IMG_20170917_184542.jpg

Because I really like the sea, especially the sea in Greece, I have a lot of photos. I chose some of them for this first post.

IMG_0486.jpg

IMG_1656.jpg

IMG_2055.jpg

These photos were taken on Thassos Island where we spent our summer vacation for the last three years. Although I really want to go there again this year, I'm afraid it will be quite difficult, especially due to the restrictions related to covid19.

IMG_20170918_111224.1.jpg

This was my first participation in this community of photography lovers. I hope my photos are acceptable.

1.png

Sort:  

Welcome onboard!
I don't think it was meant to be a private club of photography experts so I think you'll fit in just fine :)

Thanks! I'm glad you're the first (and only) to welcome me. This is because I admire you as a photographer, as a person (I mean the choice you made to live in the village, in the heart of nature) and because you live in such a beautiful country.

Thank you :)

My pleasure!

I think you do great work @bluemoon.
What is that written on the side of the enclosure, on the first boat?
I am pretty certain it is Greek
image.png

Thanks, I know you have a good opinion of me. I'm not so sure I deserve it.
Yes, it is written in Greek. I don't know what that means either.

Of course you deserve it my friend.

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 57000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 58000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges

I have your level of skill and interest with a camera, although I have yet to get a real camera. Your photos look beautiful to me. May you have a productive and inspiring journey as a photographer, which you surely are.

Thanks for this opinion, that's why I asked the question because I don't want to be guided by my opinion about myself.

Thanks for this opinion, that's why I asked the question because I don't want to be guided by my opinion about myself.