Fairy Tails

in Photography Lovers17 days ago (edited)

This is always a winning combination: the weekend, good weather, and a favorite place to walk.

Beautiful and even sublime Sundays have returned to my path. My street... word comes, I mean a street that is much more than that and belongs to all the inhabitants of the city where I live too, Bucharest.

Every time I wrote about Bucharest, I also wrote about the country this city is in. In the many years that I have been writing here, I have written about this city hundreds of times and, for me, it would be a great achievement if I helped a little to promote it. Surely my friends who read me know the country, of course, most of them know it from their school and general culture, not only from my information. So I decided not to mention the name of the country when I talk about my city, I am afraid that some of you might feel offended that I think they don't know which country in Europe has its capital in Bucharest.

This Sunday was very nice weather, summer weather. A walk around the most attractive place in town, i.e. Victory Avenue, is the best choice, which I did!

Something special happens with this boulevard on weekends. It turns from the most crowded boulevards of car traffic into one that belongs only to people. A boulevard for strolling! I've chosen, I hope, the best photos and here's what I saw.


Freedom

When the walkers have taken over the roadway, the people still cross at marked crosswalks even though they can walk anywhere. The power of habit...

IMG_20240427_180500.jpg

I saw many tourists eager to taste traditional Romanian food.

IMG_20240427_180515.jpg

The image is strange to me and people walking are bewildered because they can walk anywhere without restrictions or worry about getting injured.

IMG_20240427_180523.jpg

Most people out for a walk in the city center, on this car-free boulevard, are families with children. I saw a lot of children curious and happy about the freedom they had gained.

IMG_20240428_101848.jpg


Black and White

Victory Avenue is one of the city's oldest boulevards, with over 300 years of traffic. It is the avenue where most traces of the past remain. Many buildings are more than a hundred years old.

That's why I love walking here and always feel like there are hundreds of years behind. I think black and white photos are more appropriate in this case.

Here begins the Revolution Square, the former Palace Square, the palace of the former royal family of Romania. This is where the past begins, the Romania of the early twentieth century!

IMG_20240428_102343-2.jpg

Before the palace, which is opposite, is a building, one of the most beautiful in the city, the Athenaeum. A building that was built by public subscription.
IMG_20240428_102505-2.jpg

The Palace Square is dominated by the statue of the first king of Romania, a German noble, Carol I.

IMG_20240428_102640-2.jpg

In front of the "horse" is the Royal Palace...

IMG_20240428_102727-3.jpg

... At the horse's tail is the University Library building, built at the King's wish.

IMG_20240428_102815-2.jpg

View from the opposite side.

IMG_20240428_102837-2.jpg

In the same square, there is also the monument of the Heroes of the Revolution, the Palace Square became the Revolution Square!

IMG_20240428_102855-2.jpg

Barriers that prevent cars from circulating on weekends on this boulevard.


Fairy Tails

The color reappeared most pleasantly and beautifully, unexpectedly and generously.

One small event can change the whole day. We (my wife and me) passed a wall made of flowers...

IMG_20240428_102316.jpg

It was also a princess or a fairy, so I thought when she presented my wife with a bouquet.

IMG_20240428_102319.jpg

I understand it was a marketing stunt for a Netflix series. The upcoming launch of a new series of Bridgerton. My wife was more than impressed by this event and the beauty of the gesture.

IMG_20240428_102321.jpg

It was a successful advertising campaign if I followed our reaction. I don't have time to watch the series but my wife has seen about five episodes so far, and it's 11.30 p.m., who knows when she'll go to bed...

IMG_20240428_102336.jpg

I dare, finally, to ask you a question, of course, and to see how many of the eventual readers have lasted to the end:

What do you think my wife's age is?

BeFunky-design (3)1.jpg

BeFunky-design (2).jpg

Orange Gray Artistic Torn Overlay Musician Facebook Page Covers (10).jpg


Sort:  

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 81000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 82000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Thank you!

Awesome job @bluemoon! Keep pushing yourself and you'll reach your Hive goals before you know it.

These photographs speak, they even tell of people's thoughts, walks and actions. Wonderful black and white photographs!😃

It's good to have a car - free day but I thought it would be better if they can have some parts where they will have events or activities that people can participate in.

Your city looks beautiful in all your posts and I would love to visit Bucharest one day.

What a clever marketing campaign for the Bridgerton series. I haven't watched the new season yet but I have watched the previous two. In fact, I have read the books on which the series was based, so I will watch this new one soon for sure.

As for your wife's age? A lady would never speculate about another lady's age 😆 but I can say that she looks like a very pretty mature woman ;)

I hope you are well, Dan 🤗

but my wife has seen about five episodes so far, and it's 11.30 p.m., who knows when she'll go to bed...

Hehehhe successful advertisement indeed!😂

I also can’t wait for the launch of the new series too

Yes, it was a successful advertisement and I saw the avenue full of ladies and young ladies with the same kind of bouquet in their arms.