The Poppies

Of all the wildflowers I love the poppies the most. It is not always like this. I started noticing the blooming red poppies on the way to the sea. It's impossible not to see them, whether they're little bushes or whole fields. Red spots in the wheat fields.

As time passed, I connected the annual seaside holiday and the poppies I saw while driving to my destination.

The recent trip to the sea, which happened last week, was full of poppies! I took hundreds of pictures but not of the road because I couldn't take pictures while driving the car. I was lucky enough to stay in a hotel in the middle of a golf course.

The playing fields are carefully landscaped with well-watered and regularly mowed grass. No flowers have a place there but from the edge of the fields are meadows full of plants and wild flowers. Wild flora. For my delight and pleasure, there are poppies, from single plants to multi-flowered bushes. It was my joy to photograph them.

IMG_0208.jpg

I don't know how to approach these shy and fragile flowers, I don't know how to photograph them. I'm not a fan of close-up photos, I'm not a fan of macro photography. I can't handle red either...

BeFunky-collage.jpg

I'm trying to step back and get more general shots.

BeFunky-collage (1).jpg

From here on I feel better.

IMG_0157.jpg

This one I like even more, with the poppies "floating" in a sea of green and the blue sea and sky in the background.

IMG_0158.jpg

I've tried another approach that I think worked better for me but I'm still far from the real photos of the poppies, as seen in this post, Poppy Flower Photography, by our colleague @missdeli. Coincidentally, we are from the same country. We live in different cities, we love the sea far away from us, and we love the islands of Greece. Reading the above-mentioned post, I understood with joy that she loves the poppies too! The reason may not be the same, but that doesn't matter.

IMG_0199.jpg

The photos below are my favorites, they are photos taken in a hurry to help me with the story I intended to tell about where I spent my most recent short holiday.

IMG_0201.jpg

I don't know what to say about these wonderful meadows. Perhaps I should describe each flower in part and tell how the fragrance of the vegetation mingles with the smell of the salty seawater.

IMG_0214.jpg

IMG_0228.jpg

IMG_0229.jpg

IMG_0231.jpg

I am neither a writer nor a photographer but because I try to be both, I think I am more of a photographer than a writer and that is why I use so many photos in my posts. As they say that a photo is worth a thousand words I try to replace the words I miss.

As I said I shoot what I see around me at speed without having a plan or preparing anything, often I don't even have time to frame it properly (this can be considered an excuse). I'm trying to say that even I have a few elaborate shots where I know what I want to achieve.

I make this confession because I want to point out that this photo, the first one in the post, is different.

IMG_0208.jpg

I specifically looked for the red flower to have a yellow background. So far I have managed to take such photos only by chance. This time I knew what I wanted to do and I wanted to brag about it because I liked what it turned out. I mention this because you are likely to think it was not my choice and I would have been disappointed by it…

BeFunky-design (13).jpg

Orange Gray Artistic Torn Overlay Musician Facebook Page Covers (10).jpg

BeFunky-design (13).jpg

Sort:  

Popping colour of the poppies in the fields, descriptive with words and photography taking on into the meadows you walked enjoying what you could see.

Yes, beautiful creation of nature!

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Thanks!

@bluemoon, you are most welcome!

Very beautiful a symbolically flowers 💐 😍

Definitely!

It would be great if there were more poppies like in a poppy field ;)

I saw fields of poppies but couldn't get close enough.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you!

What a beautiful flower, I love poppies, they are so beautiful, they often look weak but they stand out for their colour in that big field of flowers. A marvel!😍

For me, it represents summer, warmth, and summer color!

It's coming! For me it represents a lot of art, throughout my life, I have painted them many times!

Hey there! Sorry I'm late with my comment but I've been buzy and also there are some changes now in my life so my time on here was basically zero. Didnt have the energy, the mood or the time to blog or interact with others.
But I am well, very very well! 💟
How about you!? Are you and your family good?

All photos are lovely but I really love the ones with poppies and sea. Such a magnificient view!
Btw....i dont know about your story but I dont have a specific reason to love poppies...it's just that they bring nostalgia thinking of the simple things like rural fields where poppies are growing....rural life, simple life. I may not be that old as you but my childhood was spent on country side and I feel so blessed to live it. I still got something from those precious rural moments times and simplicity that nowadays its pretty gone.
So maybe thats why I love poppies. Because they are wild flowers I grew up with. They are delicate and the red color is just beautiful!

Ohh and so I understand that you got to go to Lighthouse?...I'm glad for you!