DOWN IN THE BAY, ON A VERY COLD MORNING

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

I woke up early. Washed my teeth. Drank a bit of coffee. Got myself ready for the supermarket on the edge of town. I had to buy fresh bread and some other edibles. But it was too early. The stores were still closed ...

img_3167_malo.jpg

... so I drove to the beach, where I encountered a bunch of birds and this weird, beautiful phenomenon. I was standing on the shore, looking at the narrow pebble ridge that, when framed in a certain way, looks like a line that divides the entire bay. The colors and textures of the sea in those two halves were so different, and I don't remember seeing this combination before.

(Enlargeable)

I didn't plan to take any photographs when I arrived. Just to walk a bit around while waiting for the stores to open. It was pretty cold and my hands were very happy inside the pockets of my jacket. I wasn't in the mood to get them exposed to the cold unless there was something really amazing to shoot. Well, this was amazing enough.

img_3187_malo.jpg

Once triggered by the beauty and relative uniqueness of the scenery, I forgot the cold and continued exploring the details along the horizon.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see the distant beacon that signals the presence of dangerous shallows in the deep water at the edge of the bay. The layers of various temperatures above the surface of the sea create an optical illusion that, along with the minimalist composition, gives a pretty artsy look to the photograph.

img_3179_samomalo.jpg

This is Finera. The biggest of the small islets in the bay of Medulin. It looks pretty cool and kind of surreal with a bit of Fata Morgana on the sea.

(Enlargeable)

When I zoomed in and took a better look at the birds ...

img_3178_malo.jpg

... I saw a bunch of cormorants, a couple of seagulls, and just one grey heron.

img_3168_malo.jpg

The boys weren't so far from me ...

img_3169_malo.jpg

... and they were also pretty photogenic.

img_3170_samomalo.jpg

There was another pebble ridge in the shallow water not far from the shore, but this one was still submerged. It was visible through the waves that the retreating tide was forming in that place.

img_3188_malo.jpg

I photographed some stuff on the land too. The empty summer terraces ...

img_3191_malo.jpg

... and this cluster of apartment buildings a kilometer further along the shore.

img_3184_malo.jpg

Here you can see the same pebble ridge that opened this post.

img_3192_malo.jpg

After half an hour or so, it was clear that the tide was getting low.

(Enlargeable)

The patterns on the surface of the calm sea were rich and varied. And they were constantly changing. I had fun collecting them.

(Enlargeable)

After taking this wide shot that encompasses the birds and the entire distant islet, I realized that it was time to do the shopping.

img_3186_malo.jpg

I took a last look at the beach and the cloudy sky above it ...

img_3195_malo.jpg

... and walked to the car that wasn't far from there. There was a shallow pool of water on the cracked asphalt at the edge of the road ...

img_3194_malo.jpg

... and that water has turned into ice. Yes, the morning was pretty cold.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE POSTS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

Sort:  

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 30000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 31000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 25

Surprised to see the water turned into ice! Interesting and fun to read early morning story!

Winter's side of calm, majestic glory with so many details... love it!

Nice looks like a good way to start the day!

Nice to be near these calming scenery. I love the buildings near the bay and the beaches make you feel relaxed whenever you see the blue sky😍

I am very impressed with your post, it looks so amazing every picture you show, thank you very much for giving me the opportunity to see this amazing post

Have a !PIZZA

beauty beats the cold you feel and willing to take your hand out of your pocket to take some photos you like

Nice morning captures, @borjan. The birds were early, too and ready for posing in front of your photo camera!

!PIZZA
!LOLZ

Beautiful landscapes and sunsets

Beautiful capture from u... Hope u get some great things to buy from the supper market

The sea is a little calm, with birds playing on the beach, is it because it is cloudy that the sunrise is not visible?

the view on the beach is amazing

friend here my visit greetings and thanks for giving me your vote

I know you really had fun going out to take this pictures as well

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@steem82868(10/10) tipped @borjan (x1)
brianhuang tipped borjan (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!