FROST AND SUNSHINE ON THE ROAD TO MOTOVUN

in Photography Lovers2 years ago (edited)

I sat in my car and drove away early in the morning. Didn't have any particular place in mind, but I was definitely headed northwards. Mostly because you have to swim, sail or fly to go south. There is a big blue stretch of Adriatic sea in between my hometown and the land in the south.

(Enlargeable)

Although I had no destination at the start, now that the little trip is over, it's clear that I was driving towards Motovun ...

img_2532_malo.jpg

... this lovely old town on one of the many hills in the central - northern part of Istra, the peninsula on which I live. I didn't drive into Motovun, only till the restaurant on the nearest hill with a great view of the entire town.

(Enlargeable)

I stopped two times on my way there, and at the point when this photograph was taken, I didn't even know that I'm on the way anywhere in particular. These petrified people, Jesus & co, are situated on the crossroad near the town called Zminj. About 50 kilometers from my hometown.

img_2466_malo.jpg

There is a supermarket nearby, just across the road ...

img_2463_malo.jpg

... and since this is an important crossroad for the development of the area ...

img_2467_malo.jpg

... it is currently being updated. Which means transformed into a roundabout.

img_2462_malo.jpg

The works are progressing quite nicely ...

img_2455_samomalo.jpg

... under the expert supervision of Jesus himself.

(Enlargeable)

This limestone representation of Calvary was made in 1728 ...

(Enlargeable)

... and has seen quite a few changes in the surrounding landscape since then.

img_2472_malo.jpg

Here you can see some brand new building on the outskirts of town, while in the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... you can take a look at the old center.

(Enlargeable)

The excavators looked like sleeping monsters. I had the feeling that the machines would wake up if I don't keep quiet.

(Enlargeable)

At one point this loud old tractor passed me by.

img_2468_malo.jpg

The road-making monsters didn't wake up.

img_2474_samo_malo.jpg

The next stop was a couple of kilometers from the town called Pazin ...

img_2482_samomalo.jpg

... when I noticed a line of frost ...

img_2505_malo.jpg

... in the fields under a small, wooded hill. I was about 70 kilometers from home now.

img_2489_samo_malo.jpg

The frost was intensely white and very photogenic.

(Enlargeable)

It looked almost like snow in some places.

(Enlargeable)

I parked the car nearby and walked to the fields. Most of the cabbages were rotting or rotten ...

img_2491_samo_malo.jpg

... but those which retained their shape and color ...

img_2490_samomalo.jpg

... looked great with these crystal decorations.

img_2517_malo.jpg

The shadows and the light were neatly separated, creating an elegant frosty belt at the edge of the fields.

img_2493_malo.jpg

Some crystals on the edge of that line were still safe in the shadow ...

img_2484_malo.jpg

... while others were slowly melting in the sun.

img_2488_malo.jpg

Here you can see the blue, frost-covered cabbage in the shady foreground, and a glimpse of the sunny landscape in the blurry background.

(Enlargeable)

I spent about an hour here.

img_2476_samomalo.jpg

There was so much to photograph.

img_2494_malo.jpg

I rarely experience frost in my seaside area, and never this kind of dense, snow-like frost.

(Enlargeable)

My focus was constantly shifting, from the wider view ...

img_2501_malo.jpg

... to the amazing small details ...

(Enlargeable)

... and back.

img_2498_samomalo.jpg

At one point ...

img_2503_samomalo.jpg

... I decided that is time to enter the macro world ...

img_2477_malo.jpg

... so I mounted the appropriate lens to see what's going on there.

img_2478_samomalo.jpg

The minuscule crystals looked great ...

img_2512_malo.jpg

... and I saw two types of them.

img_2514_samomalo.jpg

The ones in this photograph were photographed on a molehill.

img_2509_samomalo.jpg

Here you can see how the pattern looked when I removed the macro lens.

img_2499_malo.jpg

I took only a few more shots ...

img_2480_samomalo.jpg

... before leaving this place.

img_2524_malo.jpg

Here you can see the fluffy seeds of the climbing plant Clematis vitalba.

(Enlargeable)

They looked a bit like snow or Christmas decorations from a distance.

img_2519_malo.jpg

Here you can take a last look at this winter wonderland before continuing the journey.

img_2552_malo.jpg

The third and last stop was in the parking of a restaurant ...

(Enlargeable)

... with the great view. From there you can see the picturesque old town called Motovun ...

(Enlargeable)

... some others, more distant towns & villages that I wasn't able to identify because my geography skills aren't that great ...

img_2545_malo.jpg

... and you can also see plenty of hills, valleys, fields, woods, and mountains of that northern inland area.

img_2541_malo.jpg

I was about 90 kilometers from home when these scenic shots were taken.

img_2554_malo.jpg

I didn't enter the restaurant, just photographed these lovely roses ...

img_2553_malo.jpg

... that are climbing the rear facade of the relatively small, cabin-like building ...

(Enlargeable)

... and then continued downhill, to explore the area that I never visited before.

img_2561_malo.jpg

This type of old threshing machine appeared in the early 1900s and was sporadically in use until the late 50s in this area.

img_2562_malo.jpg

Here you can see a rusted detail from one of those threshers.

img_2575_malo.jpg

A bit further down the path ...

img_2573_malo.jpg

... I came across an outdoor WC ...

img_2567_malo.jpg

... and two more recent old machines.

img_2578_malo.jpg

The driver's place of one of those cars was taken by a wild rose. The thorny shrub was spreading its branches through the glassless windshield.

img_2577_malo.jpg

These are the edible, vitamin-rich fruits of the wild rose.

img_2582_malo.jpg

On the outside ...

(Enlargeable)

... the bodywork was covered with lichens.

img_2579_malo.jpg

I don't remember ever seeing a lichen on the car. The cars were old, but this was something new to me.

(Enlargeable)

The production of The Zastava 750 cars started long ago, in 1955, and they were produced until 1985 with some changes and improvements along the timeline. This model was a product of Yugoslavia and was very popular in my childhood and during my teenage years. As a very young kid, I remember watching the big, wide world from the back seat of this car. Then, as an older kid, I remember driving it without a driving license, across the fields and forests to the sea. It was like a little tractor for me. I had only about a hundred meters of asphalt road where I could get in trouble with the police which was called Militia back then, after that was all wild, unpaved territory where nobody cared about me having a license or not.
Some years later, I drove it with the proper license in my wallet, mostly at night, directed to the discotheques in and around the city of Pula. Or to the sea again, to smoke me a joint in peace and quiet.
These cars looked very cute and cartoonish. A dude couldn't easily be taken seriously while coming out of this small car. Which is good. There was less showing off with cars and other stuff that money can buy. Humor, musicality, dancing ability, and intellect were definitively more prominent than now. In this area, at least.

(Enlargeable)

Another fifty or so meters further, I reached this photogenic abandoned house and some newer houses behind it. This must be some small village, but I can't tell you how is called.

(Enlargeable)

On the edge of the village, not far from the house that you saw in the previous photograph, there was a makeshift shed with another Zastava 750 in it. This one was in considerably better shape. After taking this shot ...

(Enlargeable)

... I walked back to the car.

img_2546_malo.jpg

Before entering and driving away ...

(Enlargeable)

... I spent some more time in front of the roadside restaurant.

img_2533_malo.jpg

I was observing the town on the hill ...

(Enlargeable)

... through the zoom of my camera.

img_2539_malo.jpg

And that's it.

img_2551_malo.jpg

As always in these posts on HIVE ...

img_2543_malo.jpg

... the photographs are my work ...

img_2549_malo.jpg

... THE END.

Sort:  

@tipu curate 🍰

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you 🙂

The frosty macros are awesome, very nice details of the crystals :) Does it freeze a lot in your part of Croatia in winter?

In the area around my hometown, it freezes every winter, but only for a week or so, often less. In the central part of Istra, my larger region, the inland area 50 - 70 kilometers from where I live, it freezes a lot.

I see, thanks for the explanation :) Greetings from (currently) freezing and heavy snowing Krakow!

❄️🙂❄️

Great collection of photographs, the little cars remind me of the 4 classic minis I had. No comfort what so ever, but they get you where you want to go. 😉 the landscapes are beautiful… rural living.
And driving the little car underage… such a different world we lived in back then.

When I see the streets and buildings in my area that recent past doesn't look very different. But in less visible, technological details and in people's ways, myths, and habits 😀it's another planet.

The same as in rural Spain then. When exploring inland I see exactly that. Like time stood still. A different life indeed. 😊

Great!

Nice view, nice photos :)

Greetings

Thank you 🙂 Greetings.

I prefer the older houses to the new ones. The new ones are too stark, no character. The frost photos were really cool, especially the macro ones.

Yes, the icy crystals are very interesting and decorative when seen through a macro lens.

The frost pictures are nice.🙂

😀 Yes, those icy things can look good. But are too cold, I like them in small doses and not very often.

The old town of Motovun has such a wonderful location on the hill. Great photo blog, @borjan.

These are all great photography. Quite a day you must have had. Seems like the country life, must be an interesting one. Thanks for sharing

Love all the photographs looking beautiful especially the shadow and lighting shows interesting. Thanks for sharing

Today's photos are amazing, especially some light and shadows and the world under macro.

Your photo essay pleased me with a combination of contrasts and at the same time their historical and natural naturalness and succession.
Ancient medieval castle on a hill; a monument of the 17th century, reproducing Golgova near Jerusalem; an abandoned house flowing smoothly into a brand new townhouse and a lively restaurant by the road. The obsolete and rotten cabbage on the field is picturesquely decorated with crystal frost.
Your wonderful photos reminded me that time does not stand still, that everything flows and changes ... Thank you.

Interesting post, and the pictures are very nice.
Cheers!

Thanks. 🙂Cheers

Your pictures tell a detailed story itself the village must have been a booming one some times ago.

I love these landscapes and try to capture them in the eye of the camera while traveling. Great photography

I am very very love your picture

the view of the old city, it looks very beautiful from afar, if I see it from your zoom camera, the house looks like it is neatly arranged, thank you for sharing, greetings healthy always..

Maybe I should just say your love for art is definitely the best and sincerely I admire all the pictures,

Nice work

Thank you 🙂 Glad you like the post.

All the pictures you share are really very beautiful, nice to see such an amazing post.

Hello sir @borjan, what a great trip and fantastic photos. very brilliant sir i really like to see it.

Great job think you for share

I always love the way you take time to capture this pictures it's lovely.

The pictures of dessert roses are awesome.