SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO STOP AND EXPERIENCE THE DISCRETE BEAUTY OF A DULL, CLOUDY DAY

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

On my way back from the city, I drove by Pomer, a village just across the bay from my hometown. Despite the dull, sleepy weather and intense lack of inspiration on my part ...

img_7537_malo.jpg

... I stopped and took a walk along the deserted beach ...

img_7521_malo.jpg

... with the view of Medulin ...

img_7529_malo.jpg

... my hometown across the water.

img_7525_malo.jpg

The bay of Medulin is very shallow and indented.

img_7533_malo.jpg

There are many smaller bays and inlets at the edges of the main bay.

img_7528_malo.jpg

One of them ...

img_7523_malo.jpg

... looks a bit like a large, lethargic river. From a certain angle.

img_7546_malo.jpg

Now, especially on a day like this, the place is eerily quiet, but there was plenty of action during the summer.

img_7524_malo.jpg

This ramp is probably used for some watersport activities. I mean, it looks like something sport-related, but I'm not sure. Never visited the place in the last few summers, since this thing is here.

img_7532_malo.jpg

This cool thing, up in the air, ideal for minimalist compositions, it's a detail ...

img_7520_malo.jpg

... of the bigger construction, probably used for sport & recreation as well.

img_7539_malo.jpg

While I was sniffing around in search of something to shoot for this post, the seagulls were tending their feathers ...

img_7540_malo.jpg

... so I shot them for this post, of course.

img_7536_malo.jpg

This is the Limbarda crithmoides, an aromatic edible plant that grows very close to the water, in salt marshes and similar places.

img_7541_malo.jpg

This is a detail of a summer stand. Nothing special, but it has a bit of elegance and visual impact, I think. I like the pattern.

img_7542_malo.jpg

Here is another composition made of the same material.

img_7545_malo.jpg

Near another stand, I found a pile of plastic deck chairs. They looked pretty cool & artsy in this formation ...

img_7544_malo.jpg

... a bit like a sculpture, or some strange SF vehicle.

That's all. It was a quick stop. The light was dull, the place uneventful, but I did have some fun while casually shooting around. As always in these posts on HIVE, the photographs are my work - THE END.

Sort:  

Those plastic loungers look so useless now that the bathing season is over, but they can bring quite a bit of money to their owners during the season, when they are being rented to tourists. Nice post as always, @borjan.

A day like this is one of my favorite for photography... more subtle colors come out, and green pops, on a day that is just bright enough...

It's really amazing, vacationing with family to a place like that is the dream of many people.

The seagull looks so perfect, you shot it at the right time 🥂🥂

Beautiful nature and a very clear river, this should be grateful

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment