Top Gun Pilot Light Painting

Hallo HIVEs!

Abandoned places have a certain magic. So also one of the many Soviet airfields on the territory of the former GDR. I don't know how many times I've visited rocked airfields this year with Hans Roufflair, @stepko and @lichtkunstfoto. It's always exciting because each of us brings a few ideas that we then implement together. This time too. As always, it took some preparation. In addition to the robust dark clothing and my black work shoes, which have puncture-resistant soles, I also bought an F14 airplane model and Top Gun overalls.

Our star model Hans Roufflair contributed the matching helmet and sunglasses.

Lost Places haben eine gewisse Magie. So auch einer der vielen sowjetischen Flugplätze auf dem Gebiet der ehemaligen DDR. Ich weiß nicht, wie oft ich in diesem Jahr schon mit Hans Roufflair, @stepko und @lichtkunstfoto abgerockte Flugplätze besucht habe. Spannend wird es jedes mal wieder, weil jeder von uns ein paar Ideen mitbringt, die dann gemeinsam umgesetzt werden. So auch diesmal. Wie immer, bedurfte es einige Vorbereitungen. Außer der robusten dunklen Kleidung und meinen schwarzen Arbeitsschuhen, die eine durchtrittsichere Sohle besitzen, führte ich noch ein Flugzeugmodell von einer F14 und ein Top Gun Overall mit. Den passenden Helm und die Sonnenbrille steuerte unser Starmodell Hans Roufflair bei.

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
EF16-35mm ƒ4L IS USM
ISO 100, ƒ8, 264s


Making Off

For the first phase of the Image I set the focal length to 35mm on the lens. I mounted the F14 aircraft model (1:100) on a tripod and positioned it a few centimeters in front of the camera. Then I put the focus on the model airplane. After triggering the camera, I used a Convoy S2+ to illuminate the F14 from above and behind. Then the tripod with the airplane model was moved to the side, the focal length of the zoom lens changed to 16mm and the focus set to infinity. Our star model Hans Roufflair had already taken his position. Sven covered the camera lens. I started fogging Hans. Then the camera was uncovered and I shone an EMISAR D18 on Hans from behind. Then I light up the hall with the same flashlight. The whole thing took almost 5 minutes and I thank everyone involved for their patience. Despite my extensive preparations, it didn't work on the first try. There's always something.😉
Für die erste Phase der Aufnahme stellte ich am Objektiv die Brennweite auf 35mm. Das F14 Flugzeugmodell (1:100) montierte ich auf ein Stativ und positionierte es wenige Zentimeter vor die Kamera. Dann setzte ich den Fokus auf das Modellflugzeug. Nachdem ich die Kamera ausgelöst habe leuchtete ich mit einer Convoy S2+ die F14 von oben und hinten an. Dann wurde das Stativ mit dem Flugzeugmodell zur Seite geräumt, die Brennweite des Zoomobjektiv auf 16mm geändert und der Fokus auf unendlich gestellt. Unser Starmodell Hans Roufflair hatte vorher schon seine Position eingenommen. Sven deckte das Objektiv der Kamera ab. Ich begann damit, Hans einzunebeln. Dann wurde die Kamera aufgedeckt und ich leuchtete Hans von hinten mit einer EMISAR D18 an. Danach leuchtet ich mit der gleichen Taschenlampe die Halle aus. Das ganze hat fast 5 Minuten gedauert und ich danke allen Beteiligten für ihre Geduld. Es hat trotz meiner ausgiebigen Vorbereitungen nicht beim ersten Versuch geklappt. Irgendwas ist ja immer.😉

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
EF16-35mm ƒ4L IS USM
ISO 100, ƒ8, 158s


Preparing

First of all, it wasn't quite as easy as I had imagined. In the picture above you can see the first attempt in the hall. Here the plane is transparent in the front area. In the picture below you can see a picture of my preparation of the scene in my office. There I used a flash with soot. As you can see, there was another problem with the focus.
Vorweg, es war nicht ganz so einfach, wie ich mir das vorgestellt habe. Im Bild oben seht ihr den ersten Versuch in der Halle. Hier ist das Flugzeug im vorderen Bereich transparent. Im Bild unten seht ihr ein Bild von meiner Vorbereitung der Szene in meinem Büro. Dort setzte ich eine Blitz mit Soot ein. Wie ihr seht, gab es noch ein Problem mit dem Fokus.

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
EF16-35mm ƒ4L IS USM
ISO 100, ƒ11, 50s


The Little Big Man

The following picture was taken in the large hangar right next to the repair hall. However, the freedom of movement there was somewhat restricted by mountains of rubble and rubbish. So I left it at one photo. The scene was lit with an Emisar D18 and a Convoy S2+. Model stood: drum roll 🥁 Hans Roufflair. 👏
Im großen Hangar gleich neben der Reparaturhalle entstand folgendes Bild. Die Bewegungsfreiheit dort war allerdings durch Schutt- und Müllberge etwas eingeschränkt. Deshalb belies ich es bei einem Foto. Ausgeleuchtet wurde die Szene mit einer Emisar D18 und einer Convoy S2+. Modell stand: Trommelwirbel 🥁 Hans Roufflair. 👏

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
EF16-35mm ƒ4L IS USM
ISO 100, ƒ8, 55s, 24mm,


The Elevator

After we all finished our light paintings in the large repair hall, we changed the location and moved into smaller outbuildings. There, a crashed elevator inspired me. some bats fluttered out of the perforated floor. Creepy! In the following picture you can see the elevator illuminated by a Convoy S2+ with red and yellow LEDs.
Nachdem wir alle in der großen Reparaturhalle unsere Light-Paintings im Kasten hatten, wechselten wir die Location und zogen in kleinere Nebengebäude um. Dort inspirierte mich ein abgestürzter Fahrstuhl. aus dem durchlöcherten Boden flatterten einige Fledermäuse. Gruselig! Im folgenden Bild seht ihr den Fahrstuhl durch je eine Convoy S2+ mit roter und gelber LED beleuchtet.

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
LAOWA 12mm
ISO100, ƒ11, 61s


Mikado

Was it because of my tiredness or whatever: I had covered 600 km by car that day when I had this vision with these flying Mikado sticks that were threateningly coming towards me. So I implemented this image that I had in mind by illuminating the hall with the help of an Emisar D18 with a blue filter and an attached backlight scanner. After that, I walked through the hall with a pixel stick, which I let glow white when I pressed a button, and drew the Mikado sticks that were flying around the room.
Lag es an meiner Müdigkeit oder was auch immer: Ich hatte an diese Tag 600km mit dem Auto zurückgelegt, da kam mir diese Vision mit diesen fliegenden Mikado Stäbchen, die bedrohlich auf mich zukamen. Also setzte ich dieses Bild, welches ich im Kopf hatte um, indem ich die Halle mit Hilfe einer Emisar D18 mit blauem Filter und einem aufgestecktem Back-Light-Scanner ausleuchtete. Danach lief ich mit einem Pixelstick ,den ich auf Tastendruck weiß leuchten ließ, durch die Halle und malte die Mikadostäbchen, die durch den Raum flogen.

Canon EOS 6D Mark II
LAOWA 12mm
ISO100, ƒ11, 167s


That evening I was so tired I couldn't do anything. I just wanted to go to bed. But I still had to drive 100 km. So I packed my things in the car and drove in direction to the bed. The next light painting was planned for the following night. I needed some sleep for that.

I hope you have enjoyed this blog and that you will come back next Sunday. Stay tuned!

In dieser Nacht war ich so müde, dass ich zu nichts mehr fähig war. Ich wollte nur noch ins Bett. Dafür musste ich aber noch 100 km fahren. Also packte ich meine Sachen ins Auto und fuhr in Richtung Bett. In der nachfolgenden Nacht stand das nächste Light-Painting an. Dafür brauchte ich etwas Schlaf.

Ich hoffe dieser Blog hat euch gefallen und ihr seid nächsten Sonntag wieder dabei. Stay tuned!


portrait_ralf.jpeg

CandelART

more about me and my art:

divider_lp_1.png

WE ARE LIGHT PAINTERS

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture. @lightpainters

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
Delegate 1000HivePower, [1000HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters communit

Sort:  

Schöner Bericht über unseren Ausflug zum Flugplatz. Es war wieder wunderbar mit Dir und dem Rest der Bande 😁.

Die Flugzeug Idee war etwas knifflig, aber am Ende ist ja alles gut gegangen 😊. Schöne Bilder die du da nebenbei noch gemacht hast. Liebe Grüße und einen schönen Sonntag euch 🤗

Danke Stefan! Das war wirklich etwas knifflig. Danke für eure Tipps. Lichtmalerei mit euch ist immer eine tolle Erfahrung und ich hoffe auf ein baldiges Wiedersehen. Dir wünsche ich auch noch einen schönen Sonntag!

Gemeinsam mit euch bringt es mir auch immer sehr viel Spaß und da hat man dann auch mal Zeit für knifflige Bildideen. 😎

Coole Bilder .. freut mich wenn die Truppe Spass hat 🤩

Danke! Spass haben wir immer! Das nächste mal mit dir, hoffe ich 😉

Love the idea and the end result !! And appreciate how you shared the whole process! ;-)

I'm happy if you like it😊

Ja, das war wirklich ein sehr cooler Ausflug mit sehr coolen Ergebnissen.

Ja, das kann ich bestätigen. Danke für deine Tipps, Sven.

You all seem to know each other and get to go out and work together in the most wonderful way. I can imagine how exhausting to set up, shoot and even more so with travelling.

Really like that giant shadow of Hans and the background. First photo is a little unearthly, as if he's manifested from thin air in relation to the plane (what a neat idea that works so well). Totally love the elevator shot, I think it's my favourite because I like things that are in a state of decay and change.

Thank you for the kind words. You really looked at and analyzed the post very carefully. That is not a matter of course. I would like to say a special thank you for that. I'm happy if you like the blog. Feedback like this motivates me to write a new post every Sunday.

You're welcome! I love seeing what all of you create and especially since I don't have the option to work with others here, lightpainting not being something I heard of until on Hive. I'm fascinated. I also feel inspired to figure out what I can do with what I have available.

One thing I find appealing about lightpainting, is that consideration of light is crucial to photography and painting with it takes that to a whole other level.

I look forward to Sundays now. 😁

Incredible lighting work, wow!

Thanks! 😊

The photos are really nice and thanks for sharing.

Thank you and you're welcome😊

That model jet is awesome! Great job

Thank you! 😊

the fact that you have built the scene so well worked in your favor because the result ended very good

Thank you very much, I am very happy if you like the results.😊

You are such a genius.

No, far from being a genius. Such images are created in the group. It is the discussions with colleagues that allow an idea to grow.

Great work! I love the idea!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @stepko.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks a lot @stepko!


~~~ embed:1591742740202938368 twitter metadata:MTM4OTk4Njc5NjI2NDY4OTY2OHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMzg5OTg2Nzk2MjY0Njg5NjY4L3N0YXR1cy8xNTkxNzQyNzQwMjAyOTM4MzY4fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @emeka4 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.