Season of Change

in Photography Lovers6 months ago

~ Prince of Pumpkins ~


So, it's Fall or Autumn and definitely a season of change for me. As i mentioned in my last post, My Son of Thunder, that i just had a son and i finished the post showing a pumpkin and where i left off there we pick up here. Since my boy is born in October, my favorite time of year, i thought it would be cool to carve a pumpkin for him, my little Prince of Pumpkins.

1.jpg

I haven't carved a pumpkin in many, many years! But i have been thinking about it for the last few. You can scroll back to my limited posting history and see that last October i was pretty active making art. The main artwork i recall is Garfield riding Odie with a carved pumpkin on his head. I did it in ink with my dipping pen called the 'Blue Pumpkin.'

2.jpg

Now, i got all my tools ready and a bowl to collect the pumpkin seeds. I was ready to get this party started!


Beetlejuice


I carved off the top and took a photo of what the guts looked like coming off for the first time.

3.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised that there were fewer guts than in my previous experiences and the seeds were already almost separated by themselves!

So, i cleaned the lid, gutted the pumpkin, separated the seeds, and skinned the inside meat out.

4.jpg

This made the pumpkin fully ready to carve. Carving the faces is always my favorite part. There are so many variations on how anyone could carve a Jack 'O' Lantern! I usually just go freehand or do them freestyle. This pumpkin was no exception!

I decided to start by carving my boy's name into the backside.

5.jpg

Åskar is a cool name and the Viking rune style of letters lends itself to carving, considering that is how the letters were derived to be inscribed... via carving!

However, since i didn't plan my letters, i realized a fatal flaw midway through the first letter. You can't have floating pieces of pumpkin to fill in the voids. So, my Å had to adapt mid carve. The S also had some negative space issues due to lack of planning.

In the end, the name turned out ok, but nothing to write home about.

6.jpg

But the face on the other side was a bit more fun to freestyle. I missed recording many of the steps but i think you will get the picture!

7.jpg

I also read that to preserve your carved pumpkin a bleach bath is one of the best ways. So, i gave that a try.


Bleach Bath


Overall, i was pleased with the front and back. Both could have been planned and executed much better. Both could have also been done much worse.

8.jpg

9.jpg

Now that the face was done, i couldn't resist to get a candle and see how this thing would glow once lit up!

10.jpg

So far so good! Looking at it from an aerial view made me think of the ring of fire and lava from volcanoes.

11.jpg

The orange color of the pumpkin, with the glowing carved face really gave off the Halloween vibe. I felt that this one turned out pretty generic but also a bit more on the sinister side than your typical generic carved Halloween pumpkin.

12.jpg

The lighting and settings on my camera made it difficult to capture the true essence and color of the pumkin along with the glow of the pumpkin as it was illuminated from within. I tested out many shots to try and show the range of values to the colors and lightings.

13.jpg

Due to my poor planning and a few cuts that went too deep on the overlaps, i almost lost some flimsy chunks of pumpkin within the lettering. This problem was exacerbated after the bleach bath. So, to create more structural integrity and support, i used some metal wires to 'psuedo' invisibly anchor some pumpkin lettering chunks together.


Creative Solutions!

You can see the remnants of those metal wires by the dark dots in the image below.

14.jpg

So, overall... that pumpkin turned out pretty badass considering it's been probably over a decade since my last carving experience. Next time around, i would probably opt to do two pumpkins... one with the name and another with the face. But, for now... this pumpkin will do.


~ Second Chances ~

Well, 'for now' lasted part of one night. I had so much fun carving that pumpkin i felt compelled to go get another. Second chances more in terms of doing another one rather than correcting what i got wrong on the first one.

I was sad to see that most of the best ones were gone from the store. But, i did find this much smaller pumkin with a deep orange tone and a nice shape and character.

15.jpg

Even the stem had some character to it. I spent a good deal of time thinking about how i would go about this pumpkin applying the lessons learned from the Jack 'O' Lantern before.

16.jpg

I didn't even use paper towels underneath this time. I guess my confidence level had risen and thinking this would have less mess since it was a smaller specimen.

17.jpg

You can see all the seeds collected from the much larger pumpkin in the blue bowl above. After getting all the things ready... i was super excited to get to the guts!


Guts

So, same photo, me pulling the carved top off to reveal the guts.

18.jpg

This smaller pumpkin had much denser guts with more seeds intertwined within the web of wet slimy innards!

19.jpg

This kind of pumpkin cleaning was more of what i had been used to in my previous experiences! These guts reminded me of the good 'ol days of my childhood, when hands were more sized and suited to cleaning out tiny gourds.


More guts...

And now that we are all cleaned out, it's like a blank canvas for a painter!


~ Pumpkin King ~

Now, i just get straight to the point! Carve out a badass face to make a badass Jack 'O' Lantern. The top turned out almost perfect.

20.jpg

Now, lets get some awesome eyes carved. I was inspired by Spawn, Venom, Jack Skellington, and Punisher for the motiff.

21.jpg

For freehand... the symmetery turned out fairly well. I didn't want exact symmetry, just something that wasn't totally off balance.

22.jpg

The dimensionality of the lighting for the carved areas and the shadows were pretty incredible. I carved at steep angles to get more of the meat to show on the edges of the carved areas. I also played with angles and details to get a better feel for how things would carve up and present as a final artwork.

23.jpg

24.jpg

Some of my angles were so intense that the pumpkin didn't have any fallout. There was not giant void at the end. I thought the stringy mouth look might be cool so i lit the candle just to see how it glowed before moving forward.


Carving

25.jpg

It looked pretty cool but i felt it would be a better element and technique to utilize in the future. So, i carved on.

26.jpg

And i carved on....

27.jpg

And i carved on some more!

28.jpg

I did another bleach bath when i was finished. I spent more time on details for this pumkin but i still feel like i could have done a better job. Either way, it was all pretty satisfying.

29.jpg


~ The Glow ~

Now, i lit that little pumpkin up! I tried to capture the glow as best i could. I hope you enjoy the final outcome!

30.jpg

37.jpg

31.jpg

32.jpg

33.jpg

34.jpg

35.jpg

36.jpg

dividers-04.png

Here are a few of the tunes i listened to whilst working on this project. I hope you enjoy this time of year as much as i do. Let me know which photos are your favorite in the comments.


The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack


Halloween Music Mix

And, thanks for stopping by to check out my post! I hope you liked seeing the process of how i carved up a couple pumpkins. Next year will be even better!


Being IN the moment...

Take Care and Don't Party Too Hard Without Me! Cheers

Sort:  

Good evening my friend @castleberry
How is your son ? I'm sorry, I'm only here now, I didn't think I'd see you again for a while. Having also been through the baby box, I know that my little child requires a lot of time. I noticed that in your gifs you often use characters from the Office series. I also loved this series. My favorite character was obviously “Dwight Schrute” hahaha. Could you explain to me what the bleach bath is for? Your pumpkin is superb, it must have scared them. I like the look above the eyes which gives an under-eye effect. The result with the night candle is great, well done. I listened to the play list and it reminded me of some music full of memories. Glad to see you again among us.

very cool. the last one kind of reminded me of spawn
Screenshot 2023-11-01 at 9.15.46 PM.png

Very nice! My wife and I had talked about doing pumpkins this year, but we never got around to it because we were traveling. Maybe next year...

!discovery 30

Wowwww you look great!!!! How cool, I loved the process and the result with the candle inside, super creepy!!!! I love it! I want one!

untitled.gif

They look so cool. I love the glow from the smaller pumpkin but the name carving on the first one is unique just like the name. Welldone...

That turned out so cool. We didn’t carve pumpkins this year. We usually get those kits with the pictures to trace on the pumpkin and carve but they never turn out that cool.

Fantastisk skapelse!

That's really cool

A pity that we don't have Halloween here in South Africa. You are very artistic, and the pumpkins look great. Maybe you should start a pumpkin carving school. !LOL

You're very good. I love how you carve the pumpkin without making a mistake
It is cool that way

@castleberry Wow. Never knew about this art form. In my part of the world Halloween and pumpkins etc are not at all common. I have seen pumpkin decorations only in movies. Now I know how it is done. Yours looks Awesome!

By the way - Askar is a cool name. Does have a viking ring to it and sounds so authoritative.

Cheers

singature small avatar.png


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @castleberry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 17000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 18000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the December edition of the Hive Power Up Month!