Gettin my backyard Bokeh on!

Hi there everyone, I hope that you're all doing well and having a brilliant time with family and friends as much as possible this xmas!

So as some of you know, I bought myself a xmas present just before xmas, as the $400 discount was just too good to miss.

I bought myself a Nikon Coolpix P950 bridge camera- the first ‘proper’ camera in over 20 years and although I have a long history with photography in the analogue era, I have had zero experience with still cameras in the digital era (though I have a few digital prosumer video cameras), so I have a bit of a learning curve and since I bought it, I haven’t had much of a chance to take it for a run due to wet weather and work in the city.

So here I am in the country for the first time in 9 months out of the city and taking advantage of the good weather (finally) and getting to know the camera better, finding out where all the functions buttons are and how they work to do what I want.

So today I sat in the shade in the backyard (it was still 30c) and got my Bokeh on and here are the results.

I can’t wait to get out there tonight in the clear sky to get some stars happening and more moon shots away from the city lights.

So I hope that you enjoy the results of my experiments.

This is my model, Lilly.
LILLY.png

And here's some more of my models, wildflowers down in the back paddock

FLOWERS1.png

B1.png

And some spiderweb covered barbed wire separating the backyard from the paddock

BARBED WIRE2png.png

BARBED WIRE1png.png

B2.png

Zooming about halfway through the valley up to the hill. And bearing in mind, when I say zooming in halfway, the P950 has a 24- 2000mm zoom lens....

LANDSCAPE.png

Testing out the different DOFs in the tree to see the results

LEAVES_TREE1.png

LEAVES_TREE3.png

LEAVES_TREE2.png

And just a cool monochrome shot of the sun behind the tree

MONOCHROME TREE.png

Thank you so much for reading my post, I really hope that you enjoyed it and look forward to your comments and thoughts and if you're interested, here are some more photos of this gorgeous paddock that I took yesterday on my iphone so you can see it in it's full, flamboyant beauty. https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@chocolatescorpi/a-wednesday-walk-transition-into-a-new-state-and-a-new-year

🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

And unless otherwise stated- ALL photographs, all media, material and writings, are all my originals taken by me sometime in the past few decades or so somewhere in my travels and as such, ofcourse they are subject to all international IP and copyright laws and I may have already used them for my own commercial purposes here https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop And here https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi, So please ask first if you want to use any of them as we wouldn't want you getting into trouble. Thank you 😊

🐠🐃🐌🕷🐍🐓🦆🐸🐁🐿🦋🐢🐞🦍🐈🦆🐥🐜🦑🐛🐄🦇🐪🦏🐳🐊🦀🦌🐖🐢🐏🐋🐝

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one....https://peakd.com/hive-124452/@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-63

Screen Shot 2021-09-28 at 7.36.06 pm.png

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now!
(cause we're all such damn cool cats...😁

Please feel free to checkout my other work on
https://chocolatescorpionc.wixsite.com/chocolatescorpi

https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop

https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi

https://deepdreamgenerator.com/u/chocolatescorpi

https://www.instagram.com/rawscorpi/

https://www.instagram.com/chocolates.scorpion.creations/

https://www.behance.net/chocolates0386/projects

https://www.pinterest.com.au/chocolatescorpioncreations/

https://twitter.com/CHOCSCORPI

Sort:  

congratulations on getting a new camera. the 2000 lens should be enough i guess😁 unless of course you want photos of all the aliens occupying the moon
you'll be the first person i know that will be celebrating the arrival of 2022 so i hope you make the best of it. it's gonna be a great year cuz we are gonna make it so.
happy new year

Thank you! After 20odd years without a proper camera, I'm sooooo happy to have it and have the opportunity to do so much with it, including watching aliens too..😄 (especially watching the aliens watching us (and shaking their heads and rolling their eyes in disbelief....🙄.))

You know, I was supposed to be going to a party to watch a 350 strong drone swarm light up the sky https://www.melbourne.vic.gov.au/news-and-media/Pages/Spectacular-drone-swarm-coming-to-Melbourne.aspx aswell as the fireworks from Marvel Stadium in Docklands in my friends apt on the 16th floor literally right next door, but then opted to stay in my small home town in NSW for a few more days to stay with my 86yr old dad- who will fall asleep in the arm chair, then wake up about 9.30 and take himself off to bed....(I couldn't bear the thought of him sitting by himself on NYE while I was partying back in Melbourne..)

But it could be the last time and family is more important than fireworks, plus it gives me more time on Hive for the night too, so I will be making the best of it- just not in the way that I had originally planned....

But you're absolutely right, how ever we do it, we are all going to make it so much better!

s\So a HUGE HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU @eolianpariah and I say goodnight to you as it is now the start of NYE 2021 and bed time at 12.15am for me!

XXX

Lilly is beautiful, what a great shot!

Yes she is so totally gorgeous, funny, happy, sooky and so talkative too!
Glad you liked the shot thanks so much! 😊

Yes, she's gorgeous! A beautiful animal...
You're welcome😊

Thank you my friend!
untitled.gif

😊 Happy New Year!

Congratulations @chocolatescorpi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner

Enjoy the new camera and those are great shots, especially the wildflower and barbed wire ones.

Thank you Hon, I am! (well I will be more when we are better friends...🤣 and it does what its told on command...🤣)

And how have you been?
Are you guys having a fantastic xmas or what???

If I don't speak to you before next year, I hope that you, your family and friends have a wonderful, warm, safe and amazing new year filled with an abundance of love, peace, harmony, good health, much happiness and success!

With Love from Australia
XXX

And how have you been?
Are you guys having a fantastic xmas or what???

Had a busy December, which is why I'm backed up on comments 🙈.

If I haven't wished you a Happy New Year yet, here's to the New Year! May yours be filled with success, good health and more progress on Hive!

Lots of hugs from the Tropical Suriname! 💙

These photos are very good! The dog is very beautiful, imposing. I congratulate you for this gift you have given yourself. I hope you have happy holidays and a good new year. Best regards.

Thank you @sirenahippie I am so glad that you like them as they are my very first bokeh style shots on this camera!

Lilly is an intense looking dog, but more than that, she is the funniest, most talkative, happy and intelligent dog who always runs around like a bull at a gate with a big smile on her face- until she gets to my 86yr old dad, and then she becomes so placid and gentle with him.

She just knows that he's fragile and absolutely loves him and loves to sit with him to keep him company.

I also hope that you have a wonderful xmas and New Year period with all of your family and friends and I imagine that you are heading into your New Years Eve right now, ( as I come to you form the future and it's now 1:30pm on new years day..lol..) and so hope that it is safe, fun and happy.

Best wishes for 2022 and I'm sure that it's going to get better for everyone!