Tractor Barn

tractor_barn_1_color_copy.jpg

Who knows how to drive a tractor? Got to play around with a wide angle lens in an old tobacco barn a couple week ago and stumbled upon this old Farmall tractor. Don't see one of them everyday.

tractor_barn_4_color_copy.jpg

International Harvester produced the Farmall tractors, at least until IH met its demise in the 80s. Growing up I learned to drive a tractor before I ever learned how to drive a car, albeit on a Ford tractor instead of a Farmall. Good practice for driving a stick shift.

tractor_barn_3_color_copy.jpg

I can still remember the distinctive smell of tractor exhaust although I can't say that I miss it. Can't imagine farming before tractors came along, even with a tractor it wasn't exactly what I'd call fun.

tractor_barn_2_color_copy.jpg

Now if only I can get it started...

Sort:  

Cool tractor, never driven one myself but my father said that is how he and his brothers learned how to drive.

It does make the process a lot easier. Probably safer for all involved too. What sort of farming did they do?