You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I witnessed a shooting.

Tangential thinking!! That's awesome. Of course, my one track mind instantly read tangenital thinking. Which also sounds rad and is probably a good way to keep from getting any bugs.

14 million. Damn. Internet says Portland has about 645k. San Diego had about 1.2 million when I left nine years ago forever. Now wonder I feel like a small town girl. I am! Cool that our little tiny city did such a great job of pissing off the world's worst president ever.

So I suppose you're a Leafs fan...

Sort:  

I love the way your one track mind read that. LOL! Can't fault your sense of humour! 😂

Internet says Portland has about 645k.

A little part of me cries at seeing such a low number. It's a constructed zoo here, probably why there's all these iron bars 😉. Small places are preferable. I've become convinced over the last several years that any big city like this is not a healthy living environment for anyone.

So I suppose you're a Leafs fan...

I'm ambivalent (worse than being a fan/not fan). Maybe it's my mindset from how I grew up, but a sport isn't a sport unless I'm actually doing said sport. So, anything that involves watching and not doing bores the crap out of me, hence the ambivalence.

I've become convinced over the last several years that any big city like this is not a healthy living environment for anyone.

I'm not sure I've even been to a city that big in my life. Maybe Paris..? But I was seven years old. Los Angeles was just north of where I grew up but it's sprawling, plus I never hung out there, just booked it through on the 110mph highway current. Since the pandemic hit and I've been traveling to only naturey spots, I've come to realize that I care very little about cities and visiting them. Although I do appreciate the concept of keeping the human mess in a concentrated area so that the nature spaces can be themselves.

I like your mindset about sports. Hockey is the only sport I watch, and when I do watch it, I tend to be actively invested. It's good cardio. But I'm a Canucks fan, almost as hard as being a Leafs fan, so I have to limit my game time so I don't die of a broken heart...

just booked it through on the 110mph highway current.

That's the best way to do a large city.

Although I do appreciate the concept of keeping the human mess in a concentrated area so that the nature spaces can be themselves.

I think that's the plan. For years, I wondered why the population of Canada is concentrated in a handful of large cities. Now I see that's been by design.

I tend to be actively invested. It's good cardio.

I'm getting visions of hockey stick aerobics here. 😂 Limiting is a good thing in my mind, keeps it balanced.

For years, I wondered why the population of Canada is concentrated in a handful of large cities. Now I see that's been by design.

I thought they were just huddling together for warmth. Vancouver's population is like Portland's, but the seasons aren't very extreme, either. Well, except for this year.

The hockey is more like lurching and hair pulling and yelling and congratulating Pilot every time we get a goal. One year we made it to the second round of the playoffs and by that time Pilot knew what it meant when the sportscaster said "scores." But he got confused when they talked about a guy on the other team named "Schwartz."

I still want to listen to your show. I got behind because, well, that ⬆️ happened. But I do intend to listen. Every week is it?

Maybe that's why the snow doesn't stay here anymore, too many people huddling warmly melts it away fast.

Have you booked it by Vancouver? Not sure if you've been to Canada, so that's my roundabout way of asking. They are not equipped to handle snow. When I lived there in the winter, everything closed up and shut down at a dusting of snow. This year they had more than snow dust, while my garden was still growing on my balcony.

Your description of hockey watching is so very Canadian, lol!

Thanks for taking an interest in L&P. I can appreciate how hockey happened to lag listening. Are you sure you're not part Canadian? It's every week, yes. Are you on discord?

I have been to Canada! Vancouver and Victoria/Vancouver Island. I went to the city for a hockey game and to explore, and a couple years later to Vancouver Island to get laid and also explore.
Portland shuts down in the snow, too. Well, it used to. We're getting better at it, now, even plowing some of the main roads! But we're inland. I would have expected that we would get the huge polar vortex over our salty Canadian sister city. But what do I know. All meteorological bets seem to be off these days anyway.

The listening delay was sadly, not because of hockey, but coping with the VERY BAD THING that happened, as well as some other stuff pertaining to mental health and triggers that happen over seemingly silly things that should be positive...

I think I may have been Canadian in a past life.
And yes, discord. corvidae#6189
Aaaaaand, sorry about my delayed response. I spent probably ten hours yesterday writing my blog. I had every intention to read and respond to your comments but then it was 430am and I died. Then three hours later came back to life probably thanks to Pilot working the cherub. Then went to work.
I feel like I gave birth or something.

Loading...