Event Photographer #8 - My First Quinceañera!

8C00C743-A1B2-4FA2-9DE3-F2A5E0E35419.jpeg

At the end of last year I mentioned we had a lot to catch up on dealing with my photography life.

Today is that day I get to fill you in and share with you where I’m at business wise and the last photo gig I did in 2021…

𝒶 𝒬𝓊𝒾𝓃𝒸𝑒𝒶ñ𝑒𝓇𝒶!


Since first starting out here I’ve been sharing my event photography journey from an amateur prospective. I knew I wanted to work my way to a professional level so I did each job as any professional would.

I took it seriously, listened to my clients, used the equipment I had to the best of my ability, took notes, studied and researched different shooting and editing techniques, shared my work with trusted people to receive adequate critique and practiced, practiced, practiced.

I used to think the first start to becoming a photographer on a professional level was based on the equipment I had. I have been using an entry level Cannon for the past 4 years to take all of my photos. I’ve learned it’s abilities and how to use the tools that came with the kit.

I learned that although some of the shots I take may not come out as clear or vibrant as I want that wasn’t the end of it. I had to increase my knowledge on how to properly edit and get a photo to look the way I envisioned. Using the same camera for so long I have learned it’s weaknesses and how to boost a photo to get it to next level.

I think the most important thing I have learned so far is your equipment doesn’t determine your skill level. You can make the best of what you have and work to get your photos where you want them to be.

I don’t have the tools I desire yet, which includes an upgraded camera, but I am now receiving work on a professional level based off my previous work seen by my clients. All the work from my portfolio was done with my entry level camera. No one can tell me you can’t advance in your work without advancing your tools because this has just happened for me.

Don’t get me wrong that is a goal of mine. I do plan to acquire supplies that will help enrich and heighten what I offer. I think it should be any professional’s goal to try to level up when possible.

I am just aware now that my equipment doesn’t make me the photographer that I am. It’s my mindset, attitude towards my profession, how I handle and carry my business and the amount of work I decide to put into what I do. That’s how you become great at anything.

I’ve seen people use their cell phones to capture great shots as if they were using a DSLR. They use what they have to reach a desired result. They don’t let the fact that they don’t have something greater stop them from moving along with their passion.

𝒯𝒽𝑒 𝒩𝑒𝓌𝓈

I just about screamed when my husband told me his boss (also a good friend) wanted us to photograph his daughter’s Quinceañera. I was both excited and terrified at the same time. I have never done anything that massive and fancy.

I started this journey out taking photos of nature, objects and event decor for my cousin. The first gig I did photographing actual people was last year for my niece’s sweet sixteen. This would be next level for me because not only would I be photographing the birthday girl but also her family, her guests as well as the food and decor. 😳🤯😰

My first response was no because I felt so intimidated by the task and didn’t think I would be able to please the family.

  1. I don’t have any outside tools to help with sun glare (you’ll see what I mean from the photos).
  2. I’m afraid to miss the important traditions…what if it goes too fast and I miss something they really wanted? 😱😭
  3. I’m still learning about photographing people and not quite all the way comfortable with my skills yet.

These were the main three reasons I didn’t want the job. Then of course my husband encouraged me and gave me the boost of confidence and motivation I needed and we decided to accept.

𝒫𝓇𝑒𝓅𝒶𝓇𝒶𝓉𝒾𝑜𝓃

Our clients began giving us information about the ceremony and reception and the important parts we needed to capture. It was very helpful knowing what to expect ahead of time.

Fortunately my husband was able to attend the rehearsal ceremony to get a better idea of the setting and spacing. He was also able to relay to me the order of the ceremony and what to expect. I wanted to be there but I had to stay home with the kiddos.

I began researching a variety of poses from other Quinceañeras for photo ideas. I knew I needed to make an effort to capture her dress in full and get close up for details. I also wanted to have a few options for the outside shoot as well.

I familiarized myself with all of the traditions of this event to really get a feel of what was expected of me as their photographer. Not only was this my first time photographing an event like this but it was also my first time ever attending one.

After I took several days going over all of this material I felt more comfortable and confident about taking on this job. I was ready to get there and do my thing. 😁

𝒯𝒽𝑒 𝐸𝓋𝑒𝓃𝓉

This was an all day event! We arrived at the ceremony at 9:30am and left the reception at 9:15pm. We took a 2 hour break in between to eat lunch and take a nap. 😂

My husband ended up filling in as the videographer because the one they wanted to hire was stuck out of town. So you can imagine how that looked with me going around snapping and my husband rolling around this camera on wheels.

It was really cool teaming up with him though. He did a good job considering he’s NEVER done anything like that before and he made it clear he doesn’t EVER want to do it again. 😄 The pressure was too real and it’s just not his thing. Oh and let me add that we had our 3 year old daughter with us too so that made it even more interesting.

Here’s a couple more shots from the ceremony…

735FCA3D-7160-49BF-A1D1-C78A1FBEB23A.jpeg

As I was walking around trying to find some good angles I noticed this shot where she is almost back to back with the statue and in the same position. I wanted to get it to where she was out of focus and the emphasis was more on the statue.

3C2AF66D-3B46-45AB-A01E-2C5447508A11.jpeg

When doing a job there seems to always be a photo or two, or three that would look great as a b&w. If I see it and feel it I go for it. The family asked if they could still have the b&w’s in color as well just in case they wanted to enlarge them into canvas prints.

Immediately after we went to an outside location where I was able to take a variety of shots as I imagined. The birthday model made my job very easy. She did such a good job on following my posing instructions and where to look.

Her family along with my husband suggested some really good shot ideas that worked out well too…

BAD27D06-16C4-4FBF-A5D2-DEB80FB7F6D4.jpeg

This is one of my favorite outside shots of her. I love how natural it looks and the way the colors turned out as I didn’t want to do vivid colors on this one.

9F167ADF-C922-46B1-9A5E-134314B54868.jpeg

This is a pose I envisioned where she is surrounded by nature and glowing like a princess. 😆

I wanted it to look fairytale like making sure the entirety of her dress was visible. This is where an upgraded camera would come into play for better focus. I had to get farther away in order to get the shot I wanted and that did cause a sacrifice in the clarity.

I made the leaves and the greenery around her more vivid to exaggerate the beauty of nature. I then found a filter that slightly changed the color of her dress and crown.

84F7FF6F-A63E-4060-A855-2D41A321424F.jpeg

I wanted to have fun with an added bling filter and this is how it turned out. I love that one of the bling sparkles landed on her earring. 😃

18C50C3E-D47D-45D1-9402-0F6862FEBEB5.jpeg

This peek a boo shot was my husband’s idea. We wanted to do some playful shots of her and not just all serious. This is where the sun glare prevention tools would come in handy. I didn’t like that it was on her neck and ear but I still think the photo turned out nice.

B8389F43-450C-4082-85E4-3087F8DD91CF.jpeg

Her dad really loved these photos of her standing in between this frame. The park they took us too was perfect.

She did such an amazing job holding her positions. Her dress was so absolutely beautiful! I couldn’t believe that I was there taking these photos…it was an honor. ☺️

4A8FBA8A-0540-4DFE-B808-27F3969014EE.jpeg

I had to get these shots pretty quickly because it was chilly outside and I didn’t want her in the cold grass for too long. I’m glad her dad suggested this one. It was also one I had my eye on during my pose research.

Finally I will show you a photo from the reception…

64F1A82D-2B8F-47C7-A12B-EB3D633F6479.jpeg

It was such a beautiful set up there. What you see is the dessert table, her chair and a table with the champagne and toasting glasses along with her flower bouquet and a doll that represents the one she received from her sister. If you’ve never looked into what takes place at a Quinceañera it’s a pretty neat and interesting event.

We really enjoyed this gig. They made sure we took breaks to participate in some of the activities, enjoy the food and I even took home some beautiful party favors. I learned some things from this experience that I will take forward with me as I continue to develop my skill.

I edited a total of 305 photos for this client. I know right?! 😳 That’s a lot of photos. I won’t always do that many. This family got that special privilege because they are our friends and we wanted to help make this special time a very nice memorable one.

𝒲𝒽𝒶𝓉’𝓈 𝒩𝑒𝓍𝓉?

We have been asked how much we charge for birthday parties and other occasions by family and friends who were in attendance at the Quinceañera. We had to make sure they knew up front that we don’t normally do video.

Right now we are working on developing a pricing and package guide for potential clients. I’m excited to see what’s to come of this photography adventure and how far we’ll be able to go with it.

We are wanting this to be a small family business where we start involving our kids and helping them develop some early skills in multiple ways. I think this will be a fun venture for all of us! 😊

Thank you so much for following along on my adventures! For those of you just getting acquainted with me I have included the links below to all of my event posts since the beginning.

Event Links:

Event 1 - Diva Birthday Party

Event 2 - Elegant Evening Birthday Celebration

Event 3 - Classy Vowel Renewal Ceremony

Event 4 - A Young Gentleman Party

Event 5 - A Pastor’s Anniversary Celebration

Event 6 - L.O.L. Surprise! Birthday Party

Event 7 - Sweet 16!

Thanks for Visiting ~


99C8997C-D630-44ED-AC26-586B46CBA9C2.jpeg

Sort:  

You've done a great job with the tree shade. That dappled light can be really hard to get looking right. Amazing when it goes well, but terrible when it doesn't. For me it's usually "doesn't" 😅

I so appreciate you for saying that. It was really bothering me that it was there but I just did my best to still make it look presentable.

These are some fantastic shots. I once had to stand with the girl of honor at a quinceanera here in Texas when i was young. I think i was the only white guy there! hahaha It was still a great time and a fond memory. Thanks for taking me back with this post. Glad y'all had a fabulous time conquering your fear and blazing a path into the professional realm.

Yay thanks so much @castleberry! I really appreciate feedback like this coming from your expertise. I still can’t believe I photographed something like this but it did boost my confidence.

Oh wow that’s so cool. Haha that’s so funny. What a cool memory I bet that is. So glad I could help bring that back up for you. 😄

Thanks always for your encouragement and support. 😊

You are most welcome! Your skills have developed quite a lot in a short period of time. Keep up the great work and be confident. You have earned it! Thanks for your kind words and all that you do all over the place for Hive and OCD. Take Care and see you around! =) Cheers

Thanks so much for taking notice on my growth and developments! ☺️

Aww thanks! The same goes for you too, you’re a wonderful asset to this platform! 😉

Take care ~

These are beautiful shots! The one with the 'back to back with the statue' gives me shivers down my back! Gorgeous! All the very best for your future ventures... :)

Thank you @ackhoo! I really appreciate your feedback on the statue shot. Turns out it was one of her favorites! 😃

Thanks so much for your visit and support ~

Omg!!!! You did phenomenal friend. You are on your way. Photography is so special as you capture the memories forever. You understood your assignment. Very well done. I will be in touch for a few upcoming events and special shots.

Thank you sweet friend! I think that's why it was so nerve wrecking taking on this job because of how special these memories are. I don't want to be the one messin up people's memories. 😬😅

Okay awesome! You know we’ll be ready! Just let me know ~

Greetings @crosheille what beautiful photos, my favorite the girl in the grass, she looks great in her dress which contrasts perfectly with the landscape.
Blessings!

Hi @belkyscabrera! Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm glad you thought the photos were beautiful. 😊

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much!

how to take pictures I like, very inspirational for me, thanks @crosheille for the help

I'm glad I could inspire you @petrion. Thank you for the visit :)

Que hermosa princesa y el vestido espectacular, felicitaciones.

Thanks for your nice comment! 😃

What a beautiful dress wow. You look like a real princess

It was a very beautiful dress and I agree my client looked just like a princess :)

Thanks for visiting ~

But did they feed you?

lol

Great pictures. I am having fun on your blog today <3