Testing Out My New Light Box with Ring Light

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

A4A32BE58FB94B9B9C7DED892ED1ECCC.jpeg

Isn’t it exciting when you get a new toy that makes your hobby even better?

In this case it’s not just a hobby but photography will be a big part of my online business.

The first thing potential customers look at is how well you have displayed your item; how clear it is and true to color you’ve captured it. It’s important to me to make a really good first impression when I get started.

When it comes to photography my first preference is using natural indirect sunlight. It doesn’t distort the original colors of the subject and it’s easier to edit.

However, there are times when I can’t depend on natural light that the sun brings because it may be too cloudy, rainy or a gloomy day. I sometimes race the clock and end up getting set up too late when the sun starts to go down and my pictures come out way too dark.

These are the reasons why I decided to purchase this Photo Studio Light Box with Ring Light. No, I don’t get credit or any discounts if you click the link and purchase one. I’m just simply sharing this info in case you’re interested to know where I obtained mine ;)

Of course I’m going to share some details about it with you and give you some close ups so you can see it better.

I will also test it out right here with you by taking some photos of items we have around the house. I will also share my opinion on its functionality and value.


404035F4D3E247799B2BB287F30AC36C.jpeg

First off I love that it came packed in this carrying bag which will be helpful for on the go photoshoots.

C997B0DF14A640148AB0AAEA17CCE76D.jpeg

It comes folded down like this where you can see the peep hole cut out on top.

25919588126A4007ADF075B8B834AAA4.jpeg

You’ll see the assembly instructions which were fairly easy to follow. I also watched a video with a similar light box to make sure I was inserting the tabs right.

These are the tabs on each side of the box that you have to insert into each fold. You have to do it pretty firmly in order for the box to stay nice and firm...

D375C9111C29471B913754D5C04CB82E.jpeg

With this being hard plastic, I am afraid that overtime these will wear pretty bad and get bent out of shape and make it difficult for the box to stand strong and tall.

I guess that’s why even in the description they added this was a nice temporary option for photographers. It wasn’t built to be long term.

E62ECEE6524A4CA0862733928DBA3E7B.jpeg

You’ll also receive six different color backgrounds to choose from. I will mainly be using white.

There are two tabs you hook your backgrounds onto and it hangs all the way to the end of the light box for full coverage. I like how easy it is to add and remove them...

63D4194267324A4FA46159553926487F.jpeg

Now for the fun part! The lights!

341AF39AC6A7461889CDB2BA10F54EA0.jpeg

This is what the ring light looks like before being illuminated.

I like that it expands around the whole top of the box for full and even lighting.

C2E33A7A04314291BEB830029D06D011.jpeg

The remote which you can see is a usb cable, gives you three different light modes to choose from. With every mode you can hit the + to make it brighter and the - to dim it up.

The mode options are:


(1) White Light





(2) Soft Light





(3) Warm Light




It’s nice having multiple options for lighting moods.

You ready to test this baby out? Let’s do it!

61D1C042BE454767A06C4E722D2DE81F.jpeg

Oh yea! It’s pretty sweet! This shot was taken with the white light almost at the fullest brightness. Yes, it can get even brighter than this!

Side note: The colored backgrounds do come folded and leave a fold line in the photos. It doesn’t bother me much because I still think they come out pretty decent. You can always fix that with editing or even try to carefully iron them out which I might do later on. You’ll definitely want to put something over them like a sheet or towel when ironing.

9602508C3A0A4B67A4176AC090511D98.jpeg

I borrowed my daughter’s bakugan toy for this one. I took this using the soft light on medium brightness.

So here you get a better picture of the peep hole you can use if wanting to take a shot from above the item. I really like this feature...

9144D51E08A2443BA1E02002C6BFE89D.jpeg

Here’s what it looks like from a photographers’ stance...

BFFC13BDE1DB434CA9D4A7683218BE86.jpeg

and here is the actually shot...

B8559DC0192F4C8490BFB853C6539888.jpeg

I’ll give one final test shot with the green background. Not sure how often I would actually use any of these colors but it’s nice to have them.

FD49CB3BCF2C464083E31C7B2BB18781.jpeg

Haha I had fun with this one! I can see my kids wanting to make scenes or short videos using these colored ones.

2A56B3BC5613415C90469E377AF58BB3.jpeg

Well it’s been fun! Thank you for testing out my new box with me!

I hope I was a little help to you if you’ve been thinking about getting one for yourself ;)

I definitely recommend these for smaller objects as an alternative to using natural light. You can take your photos any time of day.

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Thanks for Reading! ❤️

Sort:  

Oh finally I got to see what this actually looks like and how it works. You know I bumped into a photography lover last week and she was telling me about ring light and how it gives extra brighten and sharpness to he photos.
She was recommending it and here you are testing it out already.
I think I like the white light mostly. It's clearly and nicer in my opinion.
Enjoy your photography better from now since you've got a new toy 😉

So glad you bumped into my post to see what it looks like for yourself ;)

I agree! I prefer the white light over them all because of the crisp clarity.

Thank you so much for commenting. I am looking forward to having fun with it ~ ☺️

Yes, sure!
Glad I did.
Have fun and I guess I will see more and read more of the updates about it from you.

Thank you! Yes stay tuned because I plan on updating after using it for awhile ;)

Yes I will do just that

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Enjoy your new toy, I hope it gives you satisfaction to get the result you want at any time of the day, I think that is the main reason to buy continuous lights or flash lights, because it gives the ability to have better control over the scene, natural light is very nice but unpredictable, and sometimes plays against us, congratulations on your new tool / toy.

natural light is very nice but unpredictable, and sometimes plays against us

This right here is fact!

I’m glad I have this option now :)

Thanks so much for stopping by and for your nice comment.

In the past, I wanted to buy products like yours. But then I prefer to buy photo backgrounds like the images below:

image.png

image.png

I also prefer natural lighting for my food photo session.

image.png

image.png

Ah yes I love those backgrounds you have! I actually prefer the way you do it as well. I only purchased this box as a back up plan for when natural light is not in my favor.

I like the big backgrounds because it gives you more room for photographing. The only thing is when you need more light you have to buy additional ones in order to light up your item properly. I do have additional lights for that though.

Also this photo box is only great for smaller items which wouldn't work with the type of photography you do...you made a great choice in choosing those big posters ;)

Your food photography looks so beautiful wow! 😍

Yes, the box is suitable for your products. And that's great because many of color of the background:)

Enjoy your new tools :)

Thanks so much!! It's going to be fun :D

I always thinking to buy one for my photography but thinking to make one now!

Good one 👍!

Yea the thought crossed my mind about making my own too. With being so busy with other projects and not having the energy to create one it was easy for me to decide to go with this.

I think it’s great to make one on your own if you’re able to! I say Go for it ;D

Thank you so much for taking time to read and comment :)

They do make the images look good. I guess in time when it wears out you can possibly make one with things from the craft shop/home depot stores. It makes sense though, chasing the light isn't always fun when you really wanna get stuff done:)

Yes I really like the way they came out. They highlight items pretty well.

I thought about making my own at first but with lack of time and energy I don't ever see that happening lol. I'd most likely just buy a new one when this one wears out ;D

Yes if we wait on natural light we may never see any photos.

Thanks so much for the support and feedback :)

wow looking too good, thanks for sharing

Thank you! I appreciate the visit and feedback ;)

You are most welcome

Nice! Very good job, flower broach and dinosaur was my favorite!!!

Thank you so much sis! Thanks for taking the time to check out my work ~ 💗

Wow! That really makes a world of difference. I've tried to set up shots like that using stuff laying around the house like flashlights and white sheets, but the results wasn't as intended. These shots look very professional, and like you said, a little editing can fix the crease lines.

Thank you so much for such wonderful feedback! Yes, it really does make a big difference, the brightness and clarity especially. My goal is to make my photos look professional as possible so your input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for the visit and support :)