Oh Deer! They're Filming A Movie!

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

Hey All! I got a couple of surprises on my last very short visit to Loch Raven Reservoir in Baltimore County, Maryland. This was a stop that my husband and I made last week. I'm glad we stopped, however brief it was, because my first surprise was capturing this beautiful male deer that was right by the larger of the two dams there. My husband spotted it from across the parking lot. Let me tell you, he has got a keen eye for spotting things like deer, birds, mushrooms and more! That is lucky for me too since he usually points them out for me!

photographylovers7-3-2022-1ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-2ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-3ok.jpg

I definitely would have missed him too! This was my view across from the dam and towards the upper left hand corner I circled the deer.

photographylovers7-3-2022-4ok1.gif

Even after zooming in a bit he was hard to see and only shows up in this next photo as a small orange-ish spot.

photographylovers7-3-2022-5ok.jpg

There are still a few branches hanging on at the top of the dam. They've been there a while now and even with some heavy rain we've gotten they don't seem to want to go over the dam. I don't mind though because I do like to photograph them. Sometimes birds will be up there as well but none were there on this visit.

photographylovers7-3-2022-6ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-7ok.jpg

I also thought these wildflowers by the dam looked very pretty!

photographylovers7-3-2022-8ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-9ok.jpg

These look like some of the same flowers on the upper side of the dam along with what I believe are some wineberries growing behind them. Wineberries are all over this area. I think they may be considered invasive but I'm sure all of the wildlife love them as do people that stop to pick them sometimes.

photographylovers7-3-2022-10ok.jpg

Anyway, seeing that deer was my first surprise!

photographylovers7-3-2022-11ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-12ok.jpg

The second surprise was when we drove over the bridge there to the other side of Loch Raven Reservoir. We were going to photograph the ducks, geese and other birds and possibly take a short walk but we couldn't because they weren't allowing parking at the time although there were quite a few trucks parked there anyway. We wondered what was going on when my husband said that it looked like a pretty big camera crew was setting up to film and he was right! It did look like a pretty big set up but I had started putting my cameras up so I wasn't able to get more photos than what I'm showing here of the vehicles and such. I'm happy I got what photos I did though!

photographylovers7-3-2022-13ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-14ok.jpg

Once I got home I was curious to see what they were going to be filming there so I went online and found out they are filming a series based on a true story called "Lady In The Lake" and starring Natalie Portman. HERE is the story I found online.
Source

photographylovers7-3-2022-15ok.jpg

photographylovers7-3-2022-16ok.jpg

A few things that I want to say about this article is that it mentions the jewelry store Lakein's which they renamed Weinstein's for the series. It is a store that my family and I have shopped in many times. My father bought my mother many gifts from that store which is located in an area of Baltimore City known as Hamilton. My siblings and I used to walk to Hamilton frequently when we were young and I have many fond memories of those times. It also mentions Lauraville which is an area just after Hamilton going closer into the city and that is where I grew up. Yep! Lauraville! I grew up there and continued living in that area, after leaving my parents home, up until approximately 21 years ago. It is where three of my siblings still currently live.

It will be very interesting to see this series when it releases but, to be honest, I'm as cheap as the day is long .. lol. So, I'll probably be waiting till I can see it for free and we don't have Apple TV+. Hmm, I can't think of anyone I know offhand who has that service either so it could be a while.

I also got to wondering if the "shooting" at Loch Raven Reservoir would be during the day or night! It is a beautiful area but at night it can be beautifully eerie. I took this next photo when I asked my husband to stop for just a minute so I could take a photo and he did just that except I think it was less than a minute and more of a rolling stop. My photo came out very grainy so (yeah) I did quite a bit of editing on it!

photographylovers7-3-2022-17ok1.jpg

Oh well! I did get this last photo as we were driving through the same area that the film crew were parked at last week and with that I'm .. outta' here ..

photographylovers7-3-2022-18ok1.jpg

All photos and text by me @deerjay. All rights reserved.

TEAMUSA-hive_footer_blue_deerjay.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple!! 💖

Nice shots @deerjay, we are lousy with deer here, they will start umping the fence into the backyard soon to eat the fallen fruit from the trees in the yard.
Ran into one when I was one an Island.... last week and the only way to that island is to swim or use the bridge....
I was there looking for Night Herrons but no joy, then I turn around and see....

IMG_4432.jpg
About 25' away from me as I try and remember when rutting season is... <,<

What a wonderful nature walk!

Thanks so much @ratel!! 💖

What a great capture Dee. We don’t have any wild deer here on the Island. Probably did at one time.

Certainly an interesting movie with names you are familiar.

Have a wonderful rest of the week. 😊 💕

Thanks Jo!! It was such a nice surprise to see and capture the deer. I would've totally missed him and I am surprised my husband spotted him from so far away but happy he did. I've seen deer here while driving by but never any place that we could stop at. Still lovely just seeing them. 😊💕

Beautiful shots here, at first I was surprised you can get that close to a deer until I saw it was zoomed. If not for zooming. I'm sure the deer would have zoomed off if you tried getting half that close.

Thank you so much @nevies!! Lol..I have no doubt on that! 😉

Fantastic photostory, thanks for sharing with us!

Thanks @richardslater!! I'm happy I was able to see and get a few photos of the deer and share them here! 😊💖

a deer, living deer?!!! oh my, you definitely live closer to the nature than me. never seen one in the wild, never-ever.
but I see a !PIZZA on a weekly basis, ehehe 😜

Thanks so much @qwerrie!! There are wooded areas throughout the state. I've even seen deer in the city and once had a deer run up our driveway. They are pretty animals and I'm happy I got to see and photograph this one. Wishing you a wonderful rest of the week and beyond!! 💖

cannot but share a !PIZZA with you 🍕 ☘️ 🍕

btw -- maybe you will be intrested to check @cathgothard's blog
she has amazing deer and mist's photos! 🤩

Wow! You weren't kidding! I just checked out her latest blog and the deer photos were amazing! Thanks for letting me know about her blog! 😉💖

😍😍 my greatest pleasure!!!

Thank you @qwerrie! You are too kind. Looks like you had a lovely day out @deerjay!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@qwerrie(3/5) tipped @deerjay (x2)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!