It has been one year already

in Photography Lovers4 years ago

wwest191105_2386.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Time flies

pageBreak.png

One year ago today, I took this picture from our hotel room in Bangkok. My wife and I had just gotten to Thailand for Steemfest. It was a very exciting time for us because my wife had never been out of the United States before and I was looking forward to experiencing the Thai culture with her.

wwest191105_2390.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

For a few months before this beautiful woman and I got to Thailand, she started to learn as much about Thailand as possible. On our walks, we would practice different phrases.

wwest191105_2398.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

We have loved Thai food for years prior to going to Thailand, and we were looking forward to experiencing all the different tastes that Thailand had to offer.

wwest191105_2400.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Everything we ate there was amazing. We loved all the different fruits that they have there and don't have here in the US.

wwest191112_4241.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Well WE didn't like all the fruits. Faith could not stand durian at all and almost puked when we were near it. I couldn't smell it at all and I really like it. If it were a bit colder, I think I would have bought more of it and ate it.

wwest191108_3390.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I loved the durian ice cream and the durian milk as well. I was so excited when Faith and I finally found the fresh durian fruit.

wwest191106_2706.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

One of the best parts about Thailand was Faith being able to meet all of the awesome people from the blockchain. It was so good to see everyone again from the last time we were all in Poland. I am glad that people like @roelandp are on our team because he outdid himself with Steemfest 4. It was everything that was awesome about Steemfest 3, but he managed to improve on everything and make it a truly memorable experience. One that I will treasure for the rest of my life.

wwest191106_2721.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

It was awesome to see @arcange again and have him improve on his app to make us all get to know each other even more. The proof of hug was such a cool addition to it. During the week of Steemfest, all of us became closer and like a family.

wwest191107_3270.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Steemfest was where I was able to meet @anomadsoul and that was where I really started to get more involved with @ocd and everything that OCD was trying to do for the whole community.

wwest191108_3370.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

We collected all of the top submissions for Inktober 2019 and had an awesome art show in an art studio and people were coming in and seeing all the talented people we have on the blockchain.

wwest191107_3213.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

It was so cool seeing all the great sites of Bangkok and experience the culture.

wwest191107_3120.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

My wife and I went all over the city during the week or so we were in Bangkok.

wwest191109_3546.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

We went to so many different temples.

wwest191105_2472.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

The Buddhist Temples were so amazing to see in person. I really love the history of Thailand and the culture.

wwest191105_2606.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I really hope that once Covid is under control, we can begin planning the very first Hivefest or whatever it is going to be called. @acidyo, you and @hiddenblade better come to it because it would be awesome to finally meet in person. Acid, hopefully your Onlyfans page takes off soon, so you can sponsor everyone's tickets.

wwest191106_2647.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

This blockchain means a lot to me, not only as an investor and a content creator here, but it also gives me a doorway to meet some of the coolest people in the world. I have met so many awesome people here and had some really great times hanging out with everyone on the chain or on discord. I can't wait to see everyone again in the future and to meet some of you for the first time.

wwest191110_3680.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I have so many awesome memories that would never have been possible without the people here on the chain.

wwest191110_3703.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

There are so many amazing experiences that my wife and I cherish because of this place. I just want to take the time to thank all of you that have been here for my journey. You all are the reason that I am still here on the chain. Hive is about community, and we have an amazing community. Keep being awesome.

Sort:  

Great shots!
That temple with monkeys is epic! I really like it a lot.
That ice cream dish also looks cool and very sharp.
Never been to Steemfest, but hopefully I will be able to attend Hivefest if (when) it happens...
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks man. I am hoping that you are able to go to the next meetup when we can eventually have one.

Sadly, I never got to go to a Steemfest... and now I have my doubts that there will ever be such a thing again.

Looks like you guys had an amazing time in Thailand, though... thanks for sharing the memories!

I think that we will next year. @roelandp just posted a virtual HiveFest for this year. That looks like it could be fun as well.

And so many things can happen in just one year - who would have ever guessed!

Ya, it sucks the way it all went down. So much has happened with the blockchain over the past year. I am hoping we can put it all behind us and move forward from here.

I absolutely loved Thailand. Bangkok is special, it's hard to explain but I guess we all felt it. No SteemFest was the same as the previous but SF4 was very unique and that was because Bangkok is so... unique.
The old town, the chinatown, the modern places, the traditions, the sky train, the tuk tuks, the markets, the food, the people, the beautiful temples...

One year has passed and what a strange year. I hope we can put all this behind our backs and gather somewhere sooner rather than later.

Thank you for bringing such good memories.
Cheers.

Ya, I had a much better time in Bangkok than I did in Krakow, even though Krakow was amazing as well. There was something special about SF4 and knowing that we were able to attend the last one for that chain is pretty cool.

Makes me sad reflecting on Bangkok knowing that there will never be another SteemFest. It's all gone, in the past and dead. Something could grow out of the ashes but the old times with a committed single community are over. We are now divided..and I no longer look on Steemit or Steempeak.

I am hoping that we can continue this in person tradition next year. It is a great way to get to know everyone and see all of our friends from around the world. Did you see Roelandp's post about a virtual HiveFest for this year? It sounds like it could be a bit of fun.

I did see it, about 2 hours later after replying to this message.

Nice memories yes. But next fest, Hive Fest will be virtual 😎

Ya, it should be cool too

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wao pictures are incredible, never been to asia, looks like a lot of fun on such big city

Thank you. It was a ton of fun.

Excellent story dear thanks for sharing

Thank you

So many lovely images, so many memories .. thank you for sharing them with us!
I would love to join a (---)fest but did not have the opportunity so far
Maybe in the future?
Who knows?
Be safe, till the next time I wish you health and prosperity

This year it is going to be virtual, so it will be easily accessible to everyone. It will be pretty interesting.

Sweet memories. I would like to hire a time travel machine and get back there with you all.
Hopefully HF5 will be as memorable!

I am hoping that it will be cool. I dont know how much of it I will be able to attend. I can't do VR for too long. It gives me a headache. Hopefully next year we can all get together in person again. And hopefully you dont lose all your photos again.

I made some tests with Altspace in 2D mode.
Although the feeling of immersion is not the same, it already gives a good impression. This should allow people who can't afford or support a VR device to participate.
And yes, the loss of my photos made me sad, but the images and the feelings remain etched in my memory, and for me that is the most important.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1022.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Great capture

Thank you

Awesome photos!

Thanks

Judging by the text and photos, you spent unforgettable hours there.

I hope that this year everything will be held at the highest level!

Thank you for the amazing moments from your life, it was interesting to look at this!

Thanks for stopping by. This year it is going to be virtual, so we can all hang out in a VR world and get the latest info for the blockchain. It should be fun, but nothing can compare to how amazing it is to visit other countries and meet in person.

Great photos! Thailand must be beautiful, I would love to travel there someday.
I haven't been on steem, just heard and read about what was going on and why Hive was founded. There are so many awesome people around here, who do awesome things, I would love to meet some of them in person, so a Hivefest would be great! :-)

Awesome photos. They make me want to travel again. Haven´t been to Bangkok since years. I guess we focus on europe the coming months/years.

A Hivefest would be great, maybe I can make it this time. Missed the other festivals twice already.