Playing with my vintage lens

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


wwest210525_1242.jpg

Photo by me

Such a fun lens

break.png

The Helios 44-2 is such a cool lens. It is known for a swirly bokeh effect when you are able to get the subject at just the right distance.


wwest210525_1258.jpg

Photo by me

You can see the swirly bokeh a bit in this image. But trying to get a clear shot with this lens can be a bit tricky. It is a fully manual lens, so focusing can be hard when trying to take pictures of animals that do not like to sit in one place for very long. I was actually surprised that this photo of Titus came out as clear as it did because he can be tricky to get in focus even with automatic lenses.


wwest210525_1243.jpg

Photo by me

One of the things that I like about this lens is the colors that it can get. It is weird to think that a lens can change how colors are interpreted within a camera, but some of the higher quality glass can really change how your images look in terms of color.


wwest210525_1259.jpg

Photo by me

Dusty was near impossible to get a photo of with this lens because he does not like to stand still and is always trying to play. The Helios 44-2 is a 58mm equivalent with an aperture that can open up to f/2, which makes it a pretty fast lens for a very cheap price.


wwest210525_1251.jpg

Photo by me

You can find them on Ebay for about $60 or so and then the adapter for your lens mount is usually an additional $10 or so. It is way sharper than the "nifty 50" 50mm 1.8 from Canon and a lot better quality. It does take some time getting used to though, but once you get used to it, you can take some pretty awesome photos with it and get some cool effects.


wwest210525_1263.jpg

Photo by me

I haven't put this lens on my camera in at least a year, but I am going to have to use it a lot more. It is fun experimenting with these older lenses.

Sort:  

These type of posts are another favorite of mine! I love to see the animals. Great shots btw!

Thanks homie.

I never get bored looking at your pets, they are so witty.
Nice lens, I'm not very knowledgeable but I think it's one of the best.

Thank you. They are a bunch of weirdos and I like taking pictures of them.

The Helios 44-2 is amazing. Have you shot with the Super Takumar? Probably my favorite vintage lens. Even more than the Helios. Similar pricing.

Nice. I have never heard of it before. I will have to check it out.

As it happens, I created a video about the lens.

Lenses Lensed by Lenses - The Super Takumar

Beautiful collection of pet photos, @derangedvisions.