Random shots with the helios

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


wwest210528_1275.jpg

Photo by me

Fun with the helios lens

break.png

I brought the Helios 44-2 lens out to get some random shots today. I want to get more comfortable with shooting at around 50mm and using the manual focus. So I went out looking for some interesting things to get pictures of.


wwest210528_1274.jpg

Photo by me

This is such a cool lens and I really like the smooth bokeh that it can produce when wide open.


wwest210528_1279.jpg

Photo by me

It isn't too bad as a landscape lens either. At nearly 50mm, you won't be getting any wide shots with it, but it does a good job at capturing details from far away. I am not sure what aperture this photo was taken at though because my aperture ring doesn't make much sense to me. I think it might be backwards cause when it is stopped down all the way, it shows that it is lined up with f/2.


wwest210528_1278.jpg

Photo by me

I really like the effects that this lens can create. It does an amazing job at blurring everything so that your subject can be the main focus. I think next time I will have to do a side by side comparison with this lens and my Canon 50mm f/1.2. The price difference between the two lenses is massive with the Canon lens being $1400 and the Helios only costing me $60.

Overall, I am having fun messing around with this lens again. It has been too long since I went out and just messed around with it.

Sort:  

Oh these are radiant. I’ll have to look into that lens once my camera arrives.

Thank you. The lens is perfect because it is so cheap and it is a great quality lens. I highly recommend it.

Love the Helios too. I turned my front element around and it creates some really wild bokeh when you get sunlight coming into it.

I have heard of a lot of people doing that to the lens and it has some cool effects. I will probably break the lens if I try it though.

hello they look pretty and delicate and the main thing to play is to have fun and leave problems behind
happy Saturday

Thanks. It is a lot of fun to just take random photos every now and then.

Wonderful macro shot! Super crisp. I'm curious what kind of plant is that?

Hi, sorry for me, but it's a thistle or so we call it in my land
happy Saturday @breelikeatree

hahaha of course! my brain must have farted there for a sec, because no light bulbs were going off until you mentioned the name. doh!

Happy Saturday!

😂😊

Thanks. And ya, like what @txatxy said, it is just a thistle weed that was growing near my house.