The aftermath

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


wwest210327_9829.jpg

Photo by me

In remembrance

break.png

On March 22, 2021, in Boulder, Colorado, a shooter killed 10 people at a local grocery store, and rocked a whole community. Five days after this horrible shooting, I was able to travel to Boulder and witness a community in mourning. One of the signs hung up on the fence outside caught my eye:

Rest in Peace My Friends
For over thirty years
I've come to this store
To get some groceries
and "Oh so much more"
Got to know the workers
and the customers though
some would come - some would go
We would say Hi, wave and smile.
Sometimes we would talk a while.
At 2:30 pm on 3/22/21
It all came undone
When evil brought a gun
Some had survived
But ten have died
Evil can't wait away memories of this store
I'm just glad I had seen them one more time
Just two hours before
LOVE > Evil

Times like this are a chilling reminder of the evil in this world and how fragile life is. I have read a few different stories of the survivors and how just prior to the shooting, they were hanging out with their coworkers and enjoying life. Then in a blink of an eye, evil came and took that all away and has left a country asking "WHY?"


wwest210327_9830.jpg

Photo by me

Candles were lit in remembrance of those that lost their lives that day. It is hard to put into words the emotions that were felt in this place. People from all over the country had come to pay their respects.


wwest210327_9831.jpg

Photo by me

So many lives were turned upside down on that day and the community is trying to find solace and to heal from this tragedy.


wwest210327_9833.jpg

Photo by me

Every time something like this happens, it quickly turns into a political stunt here in the US. I am sick of how quickly both sides forget the lives that were lost and focus on the instrument that caused this destruction. As a gun owner, it makes me sick that we as a nation do not focus on the people affected by these tragedies, but instead fight a gun control battle that really has no way to win for either side.


wwest210327_9834.jpg

Photo by me

I prefer to focus on what matters. The families that lost loved ones. The community that is mourning. The country that is broken and torn apart.


wwest210327_9836.jpg

Photo by me

I have seen too much death and destruction in my life and I wish it would stop, but I know that there is true evil out there that no matter what policies are put in place, it will continue to ruin lives.


wwest210327_9837.jpg

Photo by me

I love seeing a community come together after something like this and I wish that it didn't take tragedy to bring people together.


wwest210327_9838.jpg

Photo by me

It is always hard to see signs like this one above, where I am pretty certain that the person that created it is a combat veteran that has been to war and seen some horrible things. This is not the type of stuff that we as combat veterans ever want to see in our community. Our job was to protect this type of stuff from ever coming to our communities.


wwest210327_9841.jpg

Photo by me

The biggest thing this community can do is to never forget those that lost their lives that day.


wwest210327_9853.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210327_9856.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210327_9857.jpg

Photo by me

WHY SING?
In honor of friends we lost here and others who experienced this.
To Remember
To Heal
I have 2 young adult children who have worked here since the beginning of the pandemic. Sophie should have been here but got the day off at the last minute. I am grateful she wasn't there. - Patty


wwest210327_9848.jpg

Photo by me

So many lives cut short. Denny Stong was going to be a pilot. He was just 20 years old and is the youngest victim in this shooting. He was known as a bright and cheerful kid that was always trying to make those around him happy.


wwest210327_9861.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210327_9863.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210327_9858.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210327_9860.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210327_9840.jpg

Photo by me

So where do we go from here?

The answer is forward. We continue moving forward. We never let evil win. We come together as a community and as a nation. We remember all of those that lost their lives that day.

Rest in Peace Boulder Police Officer Eric Talley, 51; store manager Rikki Olds, 25; store employee Denny Stong, 20; store employee Teri Leiker, 51; Neven Stanisic, 23; Tralona "Lonna" Bartkowiak, 49; Suzanne Fountain, 59; Kevin Mahoney, 61; Lynn Murray, 62; and Jody Waters, 65.source

Choose love

Sort:  

This is very sad, so many lives ended, by violent people, who only seek to do harm. 😔

So many lives gone for no reason.

The way you write this post manages to convey the feelings in an overly professional way and giving it a much more personal/sentimental touch. Thank you so much for sharing this story and also for making us remember that every moment of life should be seized and be grateful for it.

I appreciate you stopping by and checking it out. Moments like this just remind me how fragile life is.

Dude you are so awesome with this art form! beautiful pictures!

I appreciate that. I such at landscape photos because it is hard to get any emotions in them. That is why I like documentary photography.

I think your landscape photos are great too! I need to learn how to edit photos better too

Beautiful photos. From an outsiders perspective in Australia, we watch and weep and look at America with a large degree of incredulity. It's easy to say, well, if you didn't have guns, this wouldn't happen. But I recognise it's a much more complex problem than that, and kneejerk reactions to tragedy never really get far. A sobering piece - thanks for sharing.

Thank you. Ya it is always easy for other countries or even people within the US to say we should get rid of all guns, but there is no way that will ever happen here. We have more guns than we do citizens here.

this is really painful, it has to do with lives of the innocent

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post.

I will check your next post, I hope it will be joy

That is an awesome video that I can relate a lot too.

The answer is forward. We continue moving forward. We never let evil win.

Very well said my man... very well. I like the passion and the emotion I can feel behind all of this you wrote here. I'm sharing thoughts with you, hate how the politics turn the things in their advantage and manage to forget things "like it never happened".
Be well. 💚

Thank you for taking the time to check this post out. I wasn't sure if I was going to make a post like this, but I am glad I did.

I really appreciate you putting this together man. Thank you, one of my favorites of yours yet.

Thank you. I appreciate that.

This is really horrible. I just wish there would be peace in the world even though it's impossible. RIP for the lives lost. And yes, we will not let evil win!

You captured the emotions very well with your photos.

RIP for alls. :/

You are really cool when it comes to photography. You catch me with the photos alone it tells a sad story about tragic stories that happened on that place.
Thanks for sharing.

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment