We went to the Tulip Festival today

in Photography Lovers3 years ago


wwest210413_0539.jpg

Photo by me

Still a bit early

break.png

Today, I brought my wife and daughter to the annual Tulip Festival. Last year it was cancelled due to the COVID restrictions, but they were able to have it this year. They have tens of thousands of tulips and other flowers on display during the month that it runs.


wwest210413_0496.jpg

Photo by me

The festival just opened up a few days ago, and I think we came a bit early because so many of the flowers were still budding and haven't started blooming. It is hard to gauge when to go this year because we have to reserve times and they fill up quickly because they can only let a small fraction of visitors that they used to be able to.


wwest210413_0493.jpg

Photo by me

They have been promoting some LEGO displays at the festival, but when we got there, it looked like there was only one display. It was still a pretty impressive display that was made up of about 50k LEGOS and took 265 hours to complete.


wwest210413_0505.jpg

Photo by me

We did not go through the whole area of the festival because the further we got in, there were less and less blooms. So there may be more LEGO displays somewhere in the area because it is pretty massive. A lot of people rent golf carts to ride around on to see everything.


wwest210413_0514.jpg

Photo by me

There are a few little man made waterfalls on the festival grounds and I wanted to try out some long exposure on them.


wwest210413_0521.jpg

Photo by me

I have never done long exposures using my 100mm lens before, but they turned out decent. I only had my 100mm and my 50mm lenses with me and I wanted to go a bit wider of a shot for the waterfalls, but the 50mm lens only closed down to f/16, which did not allow me to slow down the shutter enough.


wwest210413_0509.jpg

Photo by me

The flowers that they did have in bloom were pretty colorful. It is really cool to see all the flowers blooming together and see the different color arrangements.


wwest210413_0511.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210413_0524.jpg

Photo by me

There are so many weird types of flowers there. Like these ones that grow like peppers.


wwest210413_0525.jpg

Photo by me

They look pretty cool when they open up. I wonder why these flowers have begun to grow like this. It probably has something to do with the things that are able to pollinate them in the area they originated from.


wwest210413_0529.jpg

Photo by me

These fuzzy dangly balls are always funny to see. I call these ones scrotum flowers.


wwest210413_0530.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210413_0531.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210413_0540.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210413_0542.jpg

Photo by me

This one here looks like a weird artichoke or something.


wwest210413_0546.jpg

Photo by me

Then there are these weird cabbage flowers that come in a few different colors.


wwest210413_0547.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210413_0544.jpg

Photo by me

I thought this tree was pretty cool looking from this angle. When I was walking past it, it looked like a one eyed frog head.

Well that was it for the photos that I took today. I am thinking that my wife and I will go back in a couple weeks before it ends and hope that most of the flowers have bloomed. It is a lot more colorful. I just hope that since it was colder longer that the flowers will have bloomed before they close it down next month.

Sort:  

Great pictures! The only tulips I'm enjoying this year are the ones in my own garden. Although driving past a tulip field a little while ago was quite a colorful sight aswell.
Love the long exposure waterfall pictures. The long exposure makes them dreamy :-)
Oh and gosh I wish I had those weird cabbage flowers in my garden... they look so pretty! I like the not-so-regular-not-so-green leaves.

Thank you. Ya, those cabbage flowers are pretty cool and I wouldnt mind growing some of them in my flower beds at my house.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

The Tulip festival is pretty cool. Especially with a significant other. Makes for a romantic walk. Also for someone with your camera skills, you can obviously get great shots haha.

Thanks man, it was a bit disappointing this year just because so many of them had not opened yet. Hopefully as it continues to warm up, the flowers open up.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow, that is amazing Festival, even though I am not a flower lover.
Not to speak of the photos...
You did a great job with macro photography and artichoke flower is really cool.
But I am water guy and my vote would go to B&W waterfall long exposure. I know, that many beautiful flowers and I would still go with a waterfall...

Great job Wes!

Thanks man. Doing a long exposure with a 100mm lens was quite the challenge. Especially with no tripod, lol

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Nice work, well done

Thank you. I appreciate the compliment.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hey, nice pics man, my internet only loaded the first 4 after 40 minutes, but I guess the rest are just as awesome :)

LOL, I wonder if you have even been able to see the rest of them yet.

Oh, yes, they were all able to load. Honestly the photo of the LEGOS sculpture was too epic.

I forgot this post, thanks for reminding me

Amezing pitchers beautiful photography 🤩🤩

tank yu

Beautiful pictures! I like looking at nature photos, they are always touching a nice spot in my heart

Thank you. I appreciate it.

Beatiful photgraphy . i love it

Wow! Thanks for sharing these photos...they are eye opening. I got a good laugh on your description of the fuzzy dangling balls.

Thanks. I always laugh when I see those ones.

Beautiful pictures, without a doubt my favourite is the work done with the lego pieces, it is good to appreciate those works even from so far away, the time and dedication contributed was not in vain because you can see the dedication and care that was taken to create it, thank you for taking into account the work of others, as well as many here take into account your magnificent work.